Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2019, 12:36 PM
senghor senghor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Europe
Posts: 244
Default CLA MixDown - 2 bus comp flavors?

Hi.

The Waves' CLA MixDown that has two compressor "flavors". As CLA describes the plugin - he says: "If you know CLA, you know what those two flavors are."

I think the 1st flavor is a SSL bus comp.

Do you know what is the second flavor? Want are usually the 2nd flavor setting?

CLA MixDown Plugin | Waves


Thanks for your answer!
__________________
Win10 Home Premium, SP1
Intel i7-4770K @3,5GHz, RAM 16GB
GA-Z87N-WIFI (rev. 1 and 2)
Scarlett 6i6 and pre-amps, Pro Tools 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2019, 12:41 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,327
Default Re: CLA MixDown - 2 bus comp flavors?

Focusrite Red 3?
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2019, 01:28 PM
senghor senghor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Europe
Posts: 244
Default Re: CLA MixDown - 2 bus comp flavors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Focusrite Red 3?

Do you know the usual settings for the RED 3?
__________________
Win10 Home Premium, SP1
Intel i7-4770K @3,5GHz, RAM 16GB
GA-Z87N-WIFI (rev. 1 and 2)
Scarlett 6i6 and pre-amps, Pro Tools 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2019, 01:46 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,327
Default Re: CLA MixDown - 2 bus comp flavors?

I suppose it the usual, slow attack, fast release, 2:1-4:1, not much GR...
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2019, 03:11 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: CLA MixDown - 2 bus comp flavors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by senghor View Post
Hi.

The Waves' CLA MixDown that has two compressor "flavors". As CLA describes the plugin - he says: "If you know CLA, you know what those two flavors are."

I think the 1st flavor is a SSL bus comp.

Do you know what is the second flavor? Want are usually the 2nd flavor setting?

CLA MixDown Plugin | Waves


Thanks for your answer!

I thought he was referring to the 2 comps included on the plugin. The SSL and the "Bluey". No?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2019, 03:41 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,327
Default Re: CLA MixDown - 2 bus comp flavors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
I thought he was referring to the 2 comps included on the plugin. The SSL and the "Bluey". No?
That's MixHub, OP is about MixDown
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2019, 02:30 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: CLA MixDown - 2 bus comp flavors?

So is the plugin Worth it ? Sonically ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2019, 07:56 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: CLA MixDown - 2 bus comp flavors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
That's MixHub, OP is about MixDown

oops...my bad!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-31-2019, 08:02 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: CLA MixDown - 2 bus comp flavors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Becharax View Post
So is the plugin Worth it ? Sonically ?

As with any plugin, "worth it" is a relative concept. To my ears, it does indeed sound nice, and seems to add a certain analog warmth to a track or mix. I love the bucket concept and being able to literally tweak and mix up to 8 tracks at once on the fly.



On the downside, as many here have mentioned, it is a resource hog, so how much you can do with it on your system will depend on how much CPU power you've got. My system being older makes it difficult to have even 2 full buckets of 8 tracks each. Others here have fared better with newer, more powerful systems than I've got.



Download the demo and try it.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-31-2019, 09:00 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,327
Default Re: CLA MixDown - 2 bus comp flavors?

It's on my wish list. I have a master chain that I'm happy with but for the price it's worth having a second option, especially for pop rock songs. I get pretty good results with the CLA Signature Series so why not? Talking about that, why is this plugin not included in the Signature Series, I don't know.

@DonaldM you are still talking about the other plugin
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BUG mixdown print track records too early with delay comp Jaim Pro Tools 10 6 02-28-2012 11:16 AM
Mixdown - mixdown pitch shift problem kakeneeditoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-03-2007 04:38 PM
PSP Master comp, nearest plugin comp to Manley Vari MU? crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-22-2007 06:21 PM
Digi001 in 5 yummy flavors? zavijah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-28-2007 02:32 PM
pros and cons of comp-eq or eq-comp dw Tips & Tricks 4 01-28-2001 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com