Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-22-2015, 02:16 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Delay Compensation Red

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Funny he shouldn't be in the red with 2000

Did I miss something?

Maybe he needs to take his delay comp to the max?
The shortest delay compensation engine setting is 1023 samples, he should definitely increase it if he's using AT
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2015, 07:52 PM
soul's Avatar
soul soul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 218
Default Re: Delay Compensation Red

thanks for chiming in. I use the short delay comp engine because I often track parts and mix in the same session. I could switch it back and forth if I need the AT plug.
Otherwise I prefer the short delay comp so there's no latency when tracking.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-24-2015, 10:49 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Delay Compensation Red

ixnay on that line of thinking.
the latency comes from the plugs used (for ex., AT) ;
there's no latency diff in picking an Delay Compensation Engine,
only the computer resources devoted to it.

OTOH, the H/W Buffer Size,
that can make a difference in tracking latency...
e
__________________
ihatetyping

Last edited by elicious; 03-25-2015 at 12:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-27-2015, 02:23 PM
Lionzeye Lionzeye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Delay Compensation Red

elicious,


Quote:
if still red you could always print the vox (although here, AT audio suite is broken with pt10hd)
I have been mixing more in PT vs Logic Pro, and also with updated techniques (i.e. parralell processing, mix bus of instruments etc.) requiring more track loads (50 plus in native PT10, 8 core 2.64 Ghz, 16 GB, Macpro)

Is this something you can do to all your plug in laden audio tracks to reduce CPU/RTAS usage?

Please see my new post regarding this topic if not here. Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help fixing plugin delay and delay compensation disaster prestonhavill macOS 14 12-24-2014 04:35 PM
Delay compensation with backline delay chuck goodwin VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 08-09-2013 08:54 AM
Pro Tools 9 Delay and Delay Compensation on Aux Tracks and Bussing CNSound macOS 1 01-27-2012 12:10 PM
Delay compensation- choice of 'Medium delay'? dtmprod Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-06-2010 12:00 AM
Delay Compensation - Delay Monitoring when REC Howardk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-18-2006 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com