Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2010, 07:24 AM
VIStudios VIStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Palos Park, USA
Posts: 5
Default C|24 firmware update issue and misc. routing ?'s

just finished setting up a brand new HD2 system and i just finished installing PT9 and i'm having the hardest time updating the firmware. it keeps saying that it's unsuccessful and to check the connections. everything is brand new including the computer, so it's not my cables or ports. i can't really figure out what to do.. another thing is i have two HD I/O's and my second one which is slaved to the first has a click every few seconds....
and last but not least, i'm having a HUGE problem getting my main monitors hooked up.. all my CUE headphones are working fine, even my ALT monitors, but I can't get the mains to get a signal. i'm following everything in the C|24 manual and i can't find the right combo.... and to top things off, i have a band coming in to record in an hour. so if anyone could help out with in that time frame i'd forever be in your debt. thanks a bunch!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2010, 07:39 AM
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: C|24 firmware update issue and misc. routing ?'s

Don't wanna be a smartass, but it's highly recommended not to change your system significantly, while you're in the middle of a job or planing to start one in an hour.
I don't have a C24, so I can't give you any advise, sorry. Hope you get it fixed in time - and next time just don't.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2010, 07:47 AM
VIStudios VIStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Palos Park, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: C|24 firmware update issue and misc. routing ?'s

this isn't an "official" session. this is my practice band.. and i honestly didn't think all of THIS could go wrong.. everything was working the way i hoped it would for like the 20 minutes i had PT8.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2010, 07:51 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,919
Default Re: C|24 firmware update issue and misc. routing ?'s

Some suggestions; Disconnect the C24 and just work on getting audio to pass in both directions. Once that works, add the C24 back as a controller(leave off the audio connections for the moment). Once it works as a controller, then dig into the IO to and from the interfaces. Keep in mind that the C24 uses 1 and 3 for left&right(2=center of a surround system).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2010, 02:39 AM
VIStudios VIStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Palos Park, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: C|24 firmware update issue and misc. routing ?'s

alright so i ended up getting it to work. but for some reason the second HD I/O that i have connected as an expansion to my first one creates a popping sound every 12 seconds. any idea what it could be?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2010, 07:47 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,919
Default Re: C|24 firmware update issue and misc. routing ?'s

Quote:
Originally Posted by VIStudios View Post
alright so i ended up getting it to work. but for some reason the second HD I/O that i have connected as an expansion to my first one creates a popping sound every 12 seconds. any idea what it could be?
Sounds like a clocking issue. Maybe add a wordclock cable between the units?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-21-2010, 12:52 PM
VIStudios VIStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Palos Park, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: C|24 firmware update issue and misc. routing ?'s

yea that's what i was thinking too, but i tried the word clock signal chain that's in the manual along with two other combos that i though might work and i still get the clicking... could it maybe be fixed through the settings in pro tools?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-21-2010, 01:56 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,919
Default Re: C|24 firmware update issue and misc. routing ?'s

What happens if you disconnect the second IO? Just wondering where the clicks are coming from
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox Pro 3 constant firmware update issue (w/ a twist...) leftalive macOS 3 04-10-2013 02:56 PM
PT8 SYNC HD firmware update issue JThelin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-03-2009 10:05 AM
Digi002 Firmware update issue _ron 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-03-2005 04:51 PM
Play button issue after firmware/6.4 update BELA D MEDIA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-26-2004 02:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com