Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2019, 05:36 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,778
Default Falcon 2

No - not a typo. Got an email from UVI this afternoon announcing Falcon 2. Free upgrade for those who own the original and $244 for new buyers. And you get to pick two expansions priced at $39 each. Not the top of the line expansions but interesting.

Couple of questions:
Being those of us that have PT 2019.6 have the original Falcon will we get Falcon 2 for free (subject to the terms of one's licensing for PT)?

If not and I decide to pop for Falcon 2 what happens to the Falcon license asset I have that came with my reinstatement to PT 2019.6 and is valid for a year from the reinstatement purchase? Will I then have two separate Falcon license assets on my iLok?

How do those that have purchased Falcon from UVI after getting the one that came with PT deal with the installation? Does the purchased one overwrite the 'freebie' from Avid? And will I still have access to the Avid/Falcon sounds/patches? I don't know if two versions of Falcon can exist on the same boot partition/computer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2019, 06:29 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,703
Default Re: Falcon 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
..... Free upgrade for those who own the original ..... those of us that have PT 2019.6 have the original Falcon will we get Falcon 2 for free (subject to the terms of one's licensing for PT)?
Pure conjecture:
hopefully Avid will work this out with UVI - I'm sure nobody would mind if we didn't get the 2 free expansions offered to purchasers!

UVI posted this video:
https://youtu.be/OHlQm7tFUPc
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2019, 06:29 AM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 52
Default Re: Falcon 2

According to UVI we should get the upgrade install through our Avid accounts within a few days
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2019, 08:35 AM
LightWing's Avatar
LightWing LightWing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 531
Default Re: Falcon 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubxf View Post
According to UVI we should get the upgrade install through our Avid accounts within a few days
Excellent!
__________________
Patrick

www.LightWingStudios.com

Musical Instrument Protection Accessories...Made In America.

AxeShield HD, AmpShield HD, KeyShield HD, AxeSak, AxeGlove & AxeCap

Win 10 Pro, PT 2019.6 Native, Presonus Studio One 4.5, Dell Precision T5500, Dual Processors (12 Cores), 72GB RAM, 4@500GB SSD, 2@4TB HD, Nvidia 2GB HDMI Card, Vizio 39" TV as Monitor, Presonus AudioBox USB Interface, Mackie HR-828 Monitors, Katana Head, Fishman Triple Play, AIR Music & East West Plugins, 9 Guitars...& an AMAZING wife. :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2019, 11:08 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,778
Default Re: Falcon 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubxf View Post
According to UVI we should get the upgrade install through our Avid accounts within a few days
Thanks for that bit of info. I still need to know what will happen if I buy Falcon 2 outright from UVI - will there be any conflict with the one we get from Avid as I outlined in my initial post.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2019, 01:33 PM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 811
Default Re: Falcon 2

Then just don’t install the”free” one that comes with the update plan.
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2019, 02:20 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: Falcon 2

Do we know what will be new with Falcon 2? (hey, that rhymes!)
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2019, 07:30 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: Falcon 2

Thanks Jack. I was not overly excited about Avenger after trying the demo. Nice features, but pricey and the expansions are way too much imho. F2 has some really great features from what I’ve seen so far from the vids. Looking forward to getting it. For now I’ll take the Avid version because I don’t need a stand alone and don’t plan on not keeping my subscription to PT.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2019, 05:43 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,778
Default Re: Falcon 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Thanks Jack. I was not overly excited about Avenger after trying the demo. Nice features, but pricey and the expansions are way too much imho. F2 has some really great features from what I’ve seen so far from the vids. Looking forward to getting it. For now I’ll take the Avid version because I don’t need a stand alone and don’t plan on not keeping my subscription to PT.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Actually Avenger isn't all that expensive compared to other synths - it's the expansion packs which average around $75 IIRC. And with the upcoming 1.5 update they're changing their authorization scheme from a software key to a dongle; I believe they're going with the Ignition key which would mean a third dongle on my system. That and the more I do with Avenger the more I find it a one trick pony which I thought I could bend to my will but that's a pain in the rump.

I'm not on a PT subscription but the yearly renewal permanent license and I don't plan on paying the Avid tax next year. That meant getting F2.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2019, 09:49 PM
Joseph Magee's Avatar
Joseph Magee Joseph Magee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1
Default Re: Falcon 2

Still no Avid Falcon 2 , contacted UVI, in Paris....they had the same exact wording as Avid...."available in a few days."


Been a few weeks now, any news as to when? UVI had Falcon 2 up around 10/10/19
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get Falcon to work? orvillej Virtual Instruments 12 04-16-2019 02:46 PM
UVI Falcon - stand alone? strangeLoop Virtual Instruments 1 03-07-2019 02:03 AM
Falcon Problem notr2d2 Virtual Instruments 5 01-05-2019 07:19 AM
Falcon UVI vs NI Komplete Ray Lyon Virtual Instruments 4 12-16-2018 04:08 AM
Falcon - New VI from UVI DonaldM Virtual Instruments 3 11-09-2015 07:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com