Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2014, 01:13 PM
Cartoonguy Cartoonguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 64
Default Pitch II does not work properly!

I have used the Pitch Shift plug in that comes with Pro Tools for years to pitch voices up maybe one semitone. It always sounded great, but now I have Pro Tools 11 and when I use Pitch Shift II to pitch, say, one semitone, it comes out with very noticeable distortions and kind of bubbly sounds here and there, like it's underwater. Not really useable for anything serious.

This surprised me because I had been using this feature on older versions for broadcast work. Never a problem. So I got an old copy of Pro Tools 8 and tried pitching the same sample up one semitone. Lo and behold, it sounded perfect. Same thing in PT 11 and it sounds terrible. Totally unusable due to the noticeable distortions, or whatever it can be called.

Why is Pitch Shift II in PT11 proving to do such a terrible job compared to the old Pitch Shift in PT8? I am using a brand new iMac, by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2014, 03:16 PM
Sparky1 Sparky1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 678
Default Re: Pitch Shift II does not work properly!

Is there a way for you to reload the plug-in? Maybe it's just not happy...

Sparky
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2014, 05:41 PM
Cartoonguy Cartoonguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 64
Default Re: Pitch Shift II does not work properly!

The plug in just came with Pro Tools, so I don't know how to do that, but I will call Avid on Monday to ask.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2014, 09:29 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Pitch Shift II does not work properly!

I tried the plug-in with a slight distorted guitar and it didn't seem to impart anything that wasn't already there…. I moved it up a 5th and 7th.

What settings are you using and I'll try those?
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2014, 09:36 PM
Cartoonguy Cartoonguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 64
Default Re: Pitch Shift II does not work properly!

I'm doing this with voices, not singing, but actors doing voice for animation, so very different than a distorted guitar. You could try pitching some voice up 1 semitone and see how it sounds for you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2014, 10:59 PM
mrtomcat mrtomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Studio City
Posts: 225
Default Re: Pitch Shift II does not work properly!

Other than it needing a tremendous amount of resources it's working really well on my end.
I am not experiencing any distortion
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2014, 02:20 PM
tanjerinepost2 tanjerinepost2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 33
Default Re: Pitch Shift II does not work properly!

I have the same problem and on an animation project, also you used to be able change duration with the old version of Pitch . I know that Time Shift will do that but the pitch shift in Time shift isn't nearly as good as the old Pitch. The quality on Pitch II even dropping a semitones is just rubbish... Can we have the old one back please avid .
__________________
Mac Pro TrashCan 3.7 Ghz Quad Core
AJA Video Op
PT 11.3.1 2xHDX
S6 32 Fader
32 Gb Ram
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2014, 02:30 PM
Cartoonguy Cartoonguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 64
Default Re: Pitch Shift II does not work properly!

I have heard that Avid recognises that this is an issue with Pitch 2 and are looking into it. Shocking to me that this was not noticed before it was released. I don't get that at all, but hopefully they will fix it. For now, using Pro Tools 10 just for pitching does the job.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-11-2014, 10:10 PM
brummy17 brummy17 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Pitch Shift II does not work properly!

has anyone heard whether Avid are close to resolving this problem? The results of Pitch 2, and even Waves pitch plugs, are terrible in PT 11!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2014, 08:04 PM
steved5514 steved5514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: boston ma
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pitch Shift II does not work properly!

i just stumbled across the same issue dropping an octave on a clean guitar clip...I really do not want to install PT10 are there any other options? or do i need to try to buy a new plug in?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't get my Mic to work properly Djgman925 macOS 8 08-22-2013 02:53 PM
does protools ever work properly? pinnacle macOS 9 10-24-2011 05:37 PM
AudioSuite does not work properly. ali3 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 04-15-2009 06:13 PM
882 will not work properly with 888 dwall Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 08-30-2007 01:20 PM
Command 8 not work properly webby ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 07-21-2005 10:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com