Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:59 AM
bigmarkus bigmarkus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default effects and aux sends

just wondering what the preferred choice of routing is for adding effects to a track. i used to insert reverbs, comps, eqs etc on every track, but now im getting into sending numerous tracks to an aux track with an effect inserted on it (i hear that using the same reverb on multiple tracks can help "bring them together").

question is; does one hardwire the dry tracks to the aux track (i.e. select the aux track as the dry tracks' output) or simply choose the aux track as a send on the dry track? i imagine the second option may allow for greater control of dry/wet balance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2005, 07:09 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: effects and aux sends

you pretty much answered all of your own questions there, lol

But i use compressors on each individual track that is being compressed rather than bussing to aux tracks and compressing all of them at once.
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2005, 07:16 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: effects and aux sends

Ditto. I use aux sends to aux tracks for all reverb and most delays. The delay exception is when I want to create a stereo widening effect on a mono track for a guitar part. That is the one time I will insert a mono in-stereo out delay plugin. Now a good use of setting an audio track output directly to an aux track would be for overall compression of a mix of several drum tracks or if you just had to have more than 5 plugins on a particular track(by routing it to an aux input, you could insert 5 more plugins in the chain).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2006, 07:45 PM
bassbuddy bassbuddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 804
Default Re: effects and aux sends

Quote:
Ditto. I use aux sends to aux tracks for all reverb and most delays. The delay exception is when I want to create a stereo widening effect on a mono track for a guitar part. That is the one time I will insert a mono in-stereo out delay plugin. Now a good use of setting an audio track output directly to an aux track would be for overall compression of a mix of several drum tracks or if you just had to have more than 5 plugins on a particular track(by routing it to an aux input, you could insert 5 more plugins in the chain).
Hi albee1952,

I wanted to bump this because I have a question on how you actually configure the aux/send relationship to get more than 5 plug-ins on a track using sends and an aux. track.Even though you explained it, I still can't grasp it. I was slightly confused on the last statement of your post on how exactly you can pull this off, but it is exactly what I have been trying to figure out. If you can help me, I will be very thankful.

Best,

Kenny
__________________
my webpage
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2006, 01:44 AM
Naagzh Naagzh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: effects and aux sends

Set up an audio track and two aux tracks.

Audio track's output = 1st aux track's input. 1st aux track's output = 2nd aux track's input. 2nd aux track's output = Analog 1-2. The signal flows directly from the audio track to the 1st aux track to the 2nd aux track and on to the mix buss.

Et voila, enough inserts for 15 plugs: 5 on audio track, 5 on 1st aux track, 5 on 2nd aux track.
__________________
002R PT7.3.1
MacBook Pro 2.33
OS 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:42 AM
bassbuddy bassbuddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 804
Default Re: effects and aux sends

Thanks bro...you da man.

Best,

Kenny
__________________
my webpage
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sends default to -inf preference...resetting all sends to 0 Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 3 07-15-2011 01:10 PM
Effects Sends Help!!! Kubba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-15-2005 05:45 PM
Aux and Sends question- Effects rightsidefalls 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-27-2004 09:24 PM
outboard reverb and effects using the aux sends and inputs A Chadwick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-22-2002 02:42 PM
Sends, Aux and Effects pmh3r 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-16-2001 12:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com