Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2004, 02:49 PM
bluesboyiv bluesboyiv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 43
Default Dual VGA Monitor Question

Hi everyone,
I have been seraching the past posts for help on my question, but to no avail. Here's my problem.
I am interested in setting up a dual VGA monitor setup for my Protools LE 002Rack home studio. I am not looking at a very high expensive card, just one that I know will be compatable with protools. The current model I am looking at is an ATI RADEON 7000(VE). My question stems from the fact that it only supports DirectX 7. I know it's an outdated model, so I'm hoping it's not going to cause problems with Protools. Is there a known issue with older models such as this?
Also, I currently am using Nvidia Bloody GeForce4 MX440. Would it be beneficial to me to buy the PCI version of this and just run dual video monitoring that way? I'm not wondering about quality of graphics in terms of gaming, just something that would allow me the highest possible stability in the recording environment.

Thank you for your time,
Ian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2004, 04:00 PM
joetracker joetracker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Prior Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 63
Default Re: Dual VGA Monitor Question

I use a ATI radeon 9200se video card for dual monitors. It works great! You can pick up one of these for less then 80 bucks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2004, 04:11 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Dual VGA Monitor Question

Ditto on the 9200se. Works great.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2004, 05:29 PM
Riad Riad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 1,149
Default Re: Dual VGA Monitor Question

Double ditto... I have the same card.
__________________
www.carvelstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:23 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: Dual VGA Monitor Question

I got a PNY Technologies Verto GeForce FX 5500 AGP 8x card. It is an AGP card using the Nvidia chip with two VGA and one S-video outs. I can run two monitors from one card which keeps my PCI slots free and the system cooler. It has drivers for Direct X 8.x and 9.x. So far it works great.

Just a note, I recommend using two different computers (provided budget allows) for audio and gaming. The two are quite processor/memory, and resource intensive. I configure each machine differently to get the best performance for each function. For audio, I limit the resources such as video and even the standard sound card. For gaming, I limit the resources for multitrack recording interfaces, etc. I think you get the idea. I tried for a long time (due to budget reasons) to try to have one computer to do all the above. It turned out to be that I was getting poor performance for everything. Now I don't even load Microsoft Office in these machines if I don't need to. I also don't surf the Internet except to get the upgrades/updates. That way I can avoid performance robbing utilities like anti-virus, firewall, and spam/adware blockers. I have one machine that I do my net surfing and that has all these unilities installed. My audio and gaming machines are clean of any of these utilities. I even have one machine that I use for testing upgrades before risking my real audio or gaming machines. This may be overkill on the process but the point is to separate your audio and gaming machines.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:28 AM
er1c er1c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 234
Default Re: Dual VGA Monitor Question

i use matrox p650 wthout any problems. i used to have matrox g450 and g550 without any problems too
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:58 AM
bigbubbaj bigbubbaj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: Dual VGA Monitor Question

Quote:
i use matrox p650 wthout any problems.
Ditto.
__________________
5198 Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Monitor Question Andy Webb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-26-2008 12:50 AM
Dual Monitor Question Keniko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-17-2006 09:37 AM
And yet another dual monitor question Lunker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-16-2004 05:18 PM
question about dual monitor metaltim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-09-2004 10:44 AM
dual monitor question Eddie K. wannabe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 05-02-2003 10:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com