Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2020, 12:31 AM
Kayonardo Kayonardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Vienna
Posts: 3
Default Permanently sync projects on 2 computers

Hello!

I plan to use Pro Tools on 2 computers and would like to have access to all my projects all the time without thinking of backups and transfers all the time.

But I do no yet plan to collaborate with other Pro Tools users.
I Avid Cloud the way to go anyway?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2020, 04:47 AM
peterle peterle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin , Germany
Posts: 469
Default Re: Permanently sync projects on 2 computers

avid cloud seems not optimal , regarding transferrates etc,
btw you need always internet connection and its limited,
better solution could be a small network with a NAS
for example and attached volumes (HDD or SMM) which
you could use as a central storage and/or backup solution.
__________________
foley artist , soundeditor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2020, 08:25 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Default Re: Permanently sync projects on 2 computers

Used Google drive. Poor performance. Too bad sometimes. That led to a mess of almost-duplicates with different content in the PT .bak files.

Now after tidying up, I use a simple 64 GB USB memory stick. Not as a recording drive but storage and transfer.

No proper backup regimen for it yet.

Works fine so far. Maybe you need more GB.

/Fzz

Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2020, 02:54 AM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 329
Default Re: Permanently sync projects on 2 computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterle View Post
you need always internet connection and its limited,
better solution could be a small network with a NAS
for example and attached volumes (HDD or SMM) which
you could use as a central storage and/or backup solution.
yes... A Network Attached Server is likely the best solution. I've used that here for some time. 100BaseT is pretty fast.
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 64 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2020.9.1, Slate Raven MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2020, 07:28 AM
Lynn Gräber Lynn Gräber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 141
Default Re: Permanently sync projects on 2 computers

I work directly out of a Dropbox local folder on a dedicated drive. My assistants also have access to this folder for prepping and delivery from their own studios. Everything syncs quietly to and from our computers, to the cloud and to my backup server over in the corner.

Last edited by Lynn Gräber; 02-19-2020 at 10:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2020, 08:45 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 862
Default Re: Permanently sync projects on 2 computers

Backblaze, or setup a consistent backup using Carbon Copy Cloner would be my suggestion.
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.5|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.15.6 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2020, 01:38 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,686
Default Re: Permanently sync projects on 2 computers

If the computers are at the same location, a network server with all devices attached at 10 GB or better.

If the computers are not normally at the same location, and you have fast internet access at both locations, Dropbox works. It has served me well for that purpose. Just work directly in a Dropbox folder. If you don't have fast internet at one or both locations, a large USB flash or SSD drive is just about your only decent option.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.5 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Mojave
PT 2020.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2020, 11:22 PM
Kayonardo Kayonardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Vienna
Posts: 3
Default Re: Permanently sync projects on 2 computers

Many thanks for all your suggestions!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-21-2020, 10:42 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 238
Default Re: Permanently sync projects on 2 computers

I can recommend Resilio Sync. In combination with a NAS (it runs on Synology) no need for any Cloud service. Your hard drive is your storage limit.
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2020, 11:24 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 622
Default Re: Permanently sync projects on 2 computers

We use chronosync from econtechnoligies to sync to other computers or external devices. It runs in background and you can also sync to cloud services or incombination with chronoagent to a remote Mac via internet
Ale
__________________
3x PT HD Ultimate 2020.03 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2019.6 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002


www.tonstudio-gress.de

www.facebook.com/TonstudioGress
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting Sync to default new projects to a specific setting Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-20-2014 11:00 AM
How do I sync two pro tools computers together? iAmLegion3614 macOS 4 12-29-2011 06:22 PM
Sync two computers Hamdi General Discussion 0 05-19-2011 12:02 AM
Can not sync two PT 9 computers..Help dcdiscs Pro Tools 9 7 04-21-2011 11:19 AM
Sync two computers with one interface(Digi002) fortycentface 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 06-21-2008 09:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com