Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #111  
Old 01-21-2020, 02:19 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,656
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by jchan View Post
So hows the performance 2019.12 + Catalina?

Anyone on it?
We have one person on it with a new MacBook Pro that Apple says cannot be downgraded. It's in use by talent who records himself remotely via Cloud Collaboration. Total nightmare. His performance, FWIW, has been fine - he only records VO on a single track, though. But he simply cannot stay properly connected to the Cloud long enough to get something recorded and uploaded. It fails every time, no matter how many times he signs out and back in. We have enabled the appropriate permissions as directed by the tech docs.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.10 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.12 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 03-20-2020, 12:54 PM
indieric indieric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: indianapolis
Posts: 24
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina

We have a new Apple Mac Pro 2019 + macOS Catalina 10.15.3 + Pro Tools HDX Ultimate 2019.12 + SSL AWS 924 Delta console.

It is a little buggy; however, (candidly) I am surprised it works as well as it does. Here is the bummer: the machine takes forever to boot and Pro Tools never launches stating "Pro Tools Not Responding" in the Force Quit window when an Ethernet cable is plugged into the machine. The SSL AWS console connects via an Ethernet cable (ipMidi) to the MacPro. Once the Ethernet cable is unplugged, Pro Tools launches perfectly. Some plug-ins took some workarounds to get going on Catalina (SSL Remote is still not 64-bit; Slate (accessing sound libraries); and iZotope Ozone) but all in all - easy breezy. For those that mix in the box (sans Ethernet control surface) - you're pretty much golden.

At our studio we do not connect the Mac Pro to WiFi when running the SSL console (the SSL AWS gets grumpy when there are things on the WiFi network with it). Hopefully a new Pro Tools update and patch will fix this. We HDX customers have been waiting for the Mac Pro Cheese Grater (with PCI E slots) only to find that a PT Native system is now just as powerful when running on a new Mac Pro Cheese Grater!
__________________
Eric Klee Johnson
Producer & Mix Engineer
The Pop Machine
eric@thepopmachine.com
www.facebook.com/erickleejohnson
www.twitter.com/erickleejohnson

www.thepopmachine.com

Last edited by indieric; 03-20-2020 at 12:58 PM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 03-20-2020, 03:23 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,213
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina

Have you heard from SSL or iPMidi regarding the controller issues?
ipMIDI 1.7.1 for 10.15.x Posted good.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both
(HFS+)
Pro Tools U-2020.5 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
New builds:
12 core nMP HDX 1 Slot 5 stock HDX Mac mini 6pin to 4 pin HDX power like 5,1 mp's used)
16 core nMP rack
28
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 03-20-2020, 11:25 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,111
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
We have one person on it with a new MacBook Pro that Apple says cannot be downgraded.
Go to everymac.com to find specs of the model you have. For every mac ever sold they tell you the OS version it originally shipped. Even if it came from factory with a different version, that original release is the earliest you can downgrade.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 03-31-2020, 12:51 AM
zsarbomba zsarbomba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeam25 View Post
Merry Christmas you all Catalina support is here ! As always DO your backup first !!

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=407652
I downloaded the 2019 Demo version (2019.10.0). It will not load under Catalina. The current release (Not Demo) Appears to be 2019.12.

I was running Mojave & PT11 without issue. I then stupidly, with-out research, up dated to Catalina..

Which means I have lost my "No Contract" PT11 Forever I fear.. Bugger it..
a very big subscription mouse trap slammed shut on my wallet..
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 03-31-2020, 12:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,111
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina

Avid stopped selling (support and update plan) reinstatements last year, but you might still get lucky with your favourite reseller. If so, you can keep using perpetual license and not forced to crossgrade to subscription model
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:58 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,275
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsarbomba View Post
I downloaded the 2019 Demo version (2019.10.0). It will not load under Catalina. The current release (Not Demo) Appears to be 2019.12.

I was running Mojave & PT11 without issue. I then stupidly, with-out research, up dated to Catalina..

Which means I have lost my "No Contract" PT11 Forever I fear.. Bugger it..
a very big subscription mouse trap slammed shut on my wallet..
You do have a backup right? Never run without one.
How were you running PT11 under Mojave? The last compatible according to the chart here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart is OSX 10.10.5 although I did have PT 11.3.2 running under Sierra. Had to import audio via drag and drop from Finder though.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 03-31-2020, 05:14 PM
zsarbomba zsarbomba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina

^ You are correct my mistake.. Mavericks.. But now its gone so I can't double check.. Hahaha..
Also I am just re-setting up my Studio after 7 years of only the odd tinker.. All PT projects are backed up.. Keen to get back up and running..
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 04-01-2020, 04:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,275
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsarbomba View Post
^ You are correct my mistake.. Mavericks.. But now its gone so I can't double check.. Hahaha..
Also I am just re-setting up my Studio after 7 years of only the odd tinker.. All PT projects are backed up.. Keen to get back up and running..
You DON'T have a backup of your previously working system? Carbon Copy Cloner and an external drive make it a breeze to have one.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 04-01-2020, 03:40 PM
zsarbomba zsarbomba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina

No I do not.. But I will do this before I get going again...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System 5 with OS X Catalina japple System 5 3 05-13-2020 09:39 AM
Catalina cqd Pro Tools 2019 10 10-09-2019 01:37 PM
Catalina update for Pro-Tools? garnoil Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 17 10-01-2019 01:37 PM
Catalina Ryan Young Pro Tools 2019 6 06-06-2019 10:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com