Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2006, 07:04 PM
RokVox RokVox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: .
Posts: 719
Default Strike Installation Questions???

Hey Guys,

I just installed Strike and wanted to check on a couple of things. I followed the install instructions that are in the installer itself and I wanted to make sure I did correctly. I chose the default install and it didn't take long but is it me or is that one funky installer!
Anyway, I ended up with a file in my HD folder named "strike.tmp", the size of the file is 12kb and it says it's a Unix Executable File (Icon). What is this??? As far as the other Strike components, the Strike Plug-In was installed into the DIGI Plug-In folder and the Strike Folder, which contains the Kits folder, Mix Folder, Styles Folder (all are empty), Strike Data 1-6 big files and the Set Strike Content Location Application was installed in the Digidesign folder in my Application folder. Is this all good or what? The manual is pretty lacking as far as install instructions!

I would really like to know what this "strike.tmp" file is, do I need it or was it something to do with the installer that was left behind and can know be trashed?

I wanted to get some opinions first before I start up Pro Tools and check out the Plug-In.

Here or my Specs for what it's worth:

PowerMac G5 DualCore 2.3 with 4.5 GB of Ram, running
Tiger 10.4.7 (PPC). I'm using it with a DIGI 002 with ProTools LE
7.1cs10 with the Music Production Toolkit installed.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2006, 03:30 AM
Wolfram K's Avatar
Wolfram K Wolfram K is offline
AIR Music Technology
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: AIR Group, Germany
Posts: 111
Default Re: Strike Installation Questions???

Hi izzi63,
sounds good, why don't you just start up Pro Tools and take a chance...

Have fun,

Wolfram K
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2006, 12:08 PM
RokVox RokVox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: .
Posts: 719
Default Re: Strike Installation Questions???

Thanks, Wolfram K

I did, and it seems like everything is good.

Still, I would really like to know what this "strike.tmp" file is, do I need it or was it something to do with the installer that was left behind and can know be trashed?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2006, 12:26 PM
vf124 vf124 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Inside Puter
Posts: 1,124
Default Re: Strike Installation Questions???

Quote:
I chose the default install and it didn't take long but is it me or is that one funky installer!
On a mac, it's a very strange & troubling installer ... as for the temp file, puzzling, I just left it alone Now I keep finding it on all my backups ... maybe someone will chime in ...
__________________
A Blues Harp and PowerBook is all I need ... along with Analog Signature Pack & BlueTubes 3.0 !!

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2006, 01:44 PM
RokVox RokVox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: .
Posts: 719
Default Re: Strike Installation Questions???

vf124,

I'm sorry, what do you mean by all your backups? And does your "strike tmp" show up as a Unix Executable Icon?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2006, 01:50 PM
vf124 vf124 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Inside Puter
Posts: 1,124
Default Re: Strike Installation Questions???

Quote:
vf124,

I'm sorry, what do you mean by all your backups? And does your "strike tmp" show up as a Unix Executable Icon?


I sync up three different machines every evening, including two "smart" backups to external HDs. And yes, the temp is a Unix ƒ ...
__________________
A Blues Harp and PowerBook is all I need ... along with Analog Signature Pack & BlueTubes 3.0 !!

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2006, 02:50 PM
RokVox RokVox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: .
Posts: 719
Default Re: Strike Installation Questions???

Thanks vf124,

That's what I thought you meant. Other than your confirming you have the same "strike.tmp" file, I have not had one single question answered by either Tech Support or The Tech People in charge of this Forum.

I'm on the phone with Tech Support as we speak. This guy from Tech Support (Jordan) told me that I should of installed the Strike Sample Library on an external HD. He told me I should uninstall the program and install it on the Ext HD (WTF)!!! And he couldn't tell me what the "strike.tmp" was nor could he tell me how to stop the playback of a Preset Setting after loading it from the Browser.

He was rude and I don't even think he is familar with the Strike program!!! The people that design the AIR programs are of course unreachable!!! So there is no form of Tech Support what so ever. The manual itself is a piece of crap (these simple things should be in it)!!! I paid $340.00 for this!!! To say I am furious with the lack of support and rudeness would be the understatement of the year!!!

Thanks for nothing DIGI!!!

Last time I support this Company!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2006, 04:31 AM
Wolfram K's Avatar
Wolfram K Wolfram K is offline
AIR Music Technology
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: AIR Group, Germany
Posts: 111
Default Re: Strike Installation Questions???

izzi63,

please let me try to help you with your questions.

1)
The Strike.tmp file is an auxillary temporary file. Deleting it won't negatively affect Strike's performance or your system, but keeping it doesn't either.

2)
It doesn't make a difference, if you install Strike on an Internal or external harddrive because Strike doesn't use disk-streaming, this just depends to your taste.

3)
Could you please explain in more detail what you mean by:
"how to stop the playback of a Preset Setting after loading it from the Browser"
When you hit a key, does Strike keep playing after releasing it? Then maybe Latch mode is activated - you can disable Latch mode by clicking the Latch button below the keyboard section, or you click the red Stop key (C1), if you want to use Strike in Latch mode. The Plug-in guide explains this on page 16 under "Play Zone".
If it's something else please explain your problem more detailed.

Best regards,

Wolfram K
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2006, 02:29 PM
RokVox RokVox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: .
Posts: 719
Default Re: Strike Installation Questions???

Thanks Wolfram K for the reply,


"1)
The Strike.tmp file is an auxillary temporary file. Deleting it won't negatively affect Strike's performance or your system, but keeping it doesn't either."


Can you be more specific in "lamens terms" on what (auxillary temporary file) means exactly?
By the way, I spoke to another tech at DIGI and asked them what this file was. He said he did not know and he trashed the file. Then when he opened the Strike Plug-In he told we all of the Sample Content was missing from his Strike Browser. I think he said he was using an Intel based Mac. So I'm going to leave the file right were it is (on the root level of my System Drive)


"2)
It doesn't make a difference, if you install Strike on an Internal or external harddrive because Strike doesn't use disk-streaming, this just depends to your taste."


That's what I thought so I installed it on my System drive (the default location in the Strike Installer) just like SampleTank XL and Atmosphere, etc...


"3)
Could you please explain in more detail what you mean by:
"how to stop the playback of a Preset Setting after loading it from the Browser"
When you hit a key, does Strike keep playing after releasing it? Then maybe Latch mode is activated - you can disable Latch mode by clicking the Latch button below the keyboard section, or you click the red Stop key (C1), if you want to use Strike in Latch mode. The Plug-in guide explains this on page 16 under "Play Zone".
If it's something else please explain your problem more detailed."


Thanks, I figured this one out for myself.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-31-2006, 07:46 AM
Wolfram K's Avatar
Wolfram K Wolfram K is offline
AIR Music Technology
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: AIR Group, Germany
Posts: 111
Default Re: Strike Installation Questions???

From the Strike FAQ on digidesign.com :

After installing the Strike plug-in, a "strike.tmp" file is left at the root level of the Mac's hard drive.
The "strike.tmp" file is a temporary file used by the installer, and occasionally is not deleted after installation is completed.

This file is not used by the Strike plug-in, and can be manually deleted after Strike is installed.

Check out the Support page:

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...&categoryid=34
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strike installation markinson Virtual Instruments 1 12-19-2010 01:18 AM
Strike installation on mac srslab Virtual Instruments 3 10-12-2009 02:19 PM
Mac PT8 strike installation srslab General Discussion 2 04-10-2009 03:00 PM
Strike Installation nozombieno Virtual Instruments 1 04-02-2007 05:44 PM
I need Strike Installation Help!!! claudemorrow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-05-2006 07:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com