Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2016, 03:59 PM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 237
Default Adat clock/pitch issues

I'm trying to archive a old Adat project into Pro Tools 10. It's a Live recording using one Adat. In Pro Tools I have all 8 inputs as Adat 1, Adat2 …etc. In session set up the Sample rate 48k at 16 bit (standard Adat spec) Clock source set to Adat. I have the fiber cable from the Adat optical out to my 002 optical in. I'm getting a signal on all 8 tracks but it's transfering at a faster/higher pitch then the actual recording. When I switch the clock source to internal.(which is wrong but trying anything) I get the usual clicks and pops and it still transfers at the faster/pitch. What's happening? What am I missing?
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2016, 04:10 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,635
Default Re: Adat clock/pitch issues

You have a sample rate wrong somewhere. Simple as that.

What is the session sample rate?

What was the ADAT data actually at? We cannot guess exactly what ADAT hardware you have and/or if it might support say 96KHz.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2016, 04:25 PM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 237
Default Re: Adat clock/pitch issues

Sorry. I have a Black Face Adat. As far as I know these recorded at 48k at 16 bit only. That's what the manual spec is and what I have my session at.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2016, 04:43 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,635
Default Re: Adat clock/pitch issues

If the Alexis box is outputting at 48kHz, and the blackface should, and it's transferring at a higher pitch then your session sample rate is by definition too low. No other witchcraft will cause that. Nothing to do with any clocking at all.

Trash prefs and db. Create a new empty session (not from a template, not a copy) and make sure it is at 48kHz and try again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2016, 05:32 PM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 237
Default Re: Adat clock/pitch issues

Thanks for the info. I trashed the prefs and database and created a new 48k session and still transferring at a higher pitch. I even created a session at 44.1k and the session wouldn't even transfer right. Garbled sound but could make out in was transferring as well at higher pitch. This is driving me nutzzzzz.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2016, 05:51 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,616
Default Re: Adat clock/pitch issues

ADATs would also do 44.1k. Triple check your sample rates!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2016, 05:57 PM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 237
Default Re: Adat clock/pitch issues

I played a couple of sessions from other Adat tapes. They played back fine at 48k 16 bit. I understand it's a sample rate issue. I thought the same thing. There's no way to change the sample bit rate for a Black Face Adat. So why is the one tape transfering at a higher pitch? What would cause this to happen if the Adat only records at the session settings I have set in Pro Tools?
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2016, 07:38 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,635
Default Re: Adat clock/pitch issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
ADATs would also do 44.1k. Triple check your sample rates!
Yep. The only thing that will cause this is a sample rate mismatch. If you have checked/troubleshooted Pro Tools then it is the other side that is wrong.

What/where was this tape recorded at? It could be a 44.1 kHz tape playing back at 48kHz.

IIRC later ADAT units but not the original blackface could do 44.1 kHz native. So find a later ADAT or try slowing down it's playback rate (tune the pitch down -147cents... Read the ADAT blackface manual). And I presume changing your session to 44.1 kHz, just play and see.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2016, 09:20 PM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 237
Default Re: Adat clock/pitch issues

Thanks for all your help. I'm using the same Adat I recoreded the tracks with. I tried slowing the pitch down and lost connection with the 002. I have a Alesis Ai 1 sample rate converter. It detects the sample rate at the source and can convert the output sample to either 44.1 or 48k. I'll know the sample rate of the Adat tape and set PT session accordingly. I'll hook this up tomorrow and let you know what happens.Thanks again for your help.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-31-2016, 03:32 PM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 237
Default Re: Adat clock/pitch issues

Great News. Transferring at the right pitch. I hooked up the AI-1 and to make a long story short this didn't work. I couldn't change the destination sample rate. Destination sample rate Locked on 48k. I loaded the PT session at 44.1k lowered the Adat pitch to -147 and the Adat window read 44.1. AI-1 destination sample rate changed to 44.1k. Armed the PT tracks hit play and transferred in pitch. It's obvious the recording was at 44.1k and the Adat was transferring at 48k. It's been a while since I worked with the Adats and never knew about lowering the pitch to -147 changes to 44.1k. It's in the manual…. Geeezzz….pealing the egg off my face as I write this…lol… This recording means a lot to me and is 13 yrs old. I have it archived in PT 10 now. Thanks you so much. I can't thank you enough.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital Noise Issues - Clock Source Issues? Gorbies 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-07-2010 01:55 PM
Help with transferring ADAT tapes to PT - clock issues? gleiter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-25-2008 03:17 PM
002R ADAT clock issues... cwhite771 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-19-2007 03:38 PM
clock problem relating to pitch of tracks skylab001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-13-2006 05:57 PM
ADI-8 PRO - transfer to Digi001 over ADAT and Clock issues Sofine General Discussion 4 06-24-2001 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com