Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2013, 03:29 PM
Some_of_My_Buses Some_of_My_Buses is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Default Keep getting blue screen of death

Almost every time I use Pro Tools (I have 9), I eventually get the BSOD. I can always tell when it's going to happen when this weird crackling sound appears while recording or during playback. Is this a driver issue? Should I reinstall Pro Tools? How do I resolve this?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2013, 06:30 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Keep getting blue screen of death

Take a pic of the terminal stop screen AKA BSOD. All those numbers on the bottom? They are not gibberish but hexadecimal code that when punched into Google in many cases will take you to a MS KnowlageBase article and point out the specific causes of the issue. Also typing in the message such as IRQ_IS_LESS_THAN_EQUAL. Or BAD_POOL_CALLER.

My guess is bad memory or a driver issue.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2013, 11:49 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: Keep getting blue screen of death

To further sunburst's comment, try using a memory tester to verify your ram is good:http://www.memtest.org/

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2019.12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro / Pro Tools 2019.12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2013, 02:46 PM
Some_of_My_Buses Some_of_My_Buses is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Default Re: Keep getting blue screen of death

I use an MSI GE60 (laptop) with i7 core processor and 8gb of ram. I haven't been storing them to an external hard drive. I'll try and take a picture next time it happens.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2013, 08:28 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Keep getting blue screen of death

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
To further sunburst's comment, try using a memory tester to verify your ram is good:http://www.memtest.org/

Joel
I meant to post a link to Memtest86+ in my original post and forgot. Thanks for covering that
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2013, 08:40 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,787
Default Re: Keep getting blue screen of death

Quote:
Originally Posted by Some_of_My_Buses View Post
I use an MSI GE60 (laptop) with i7 core processor and 8gb of ram. I haven't been storing them to an external hard drive. I'll try and take a picture next time it happens.
Post a Sandra Report for a bit more detail. If you get a pic of the bsod when it happens, we can take number scheme from the crash and get a good idea what the problem is. The meaning of the code can vary a bit depending on your chipset ie. sandy bridge, ivy bridge etc. But as they are hinting, memory issues or bad overclocks are the typical cause.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2013, 03:25 PM
Some_of_My_Buses Some_of_My_Buses is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Default Re: Keep getting blue screen of death

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Banner-MSI
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : MSI GE60 0NC/GE60 0ND
Serial Number : FFFF****
Chassis : MSI Notebook
Mainboard : MSI MS-16GA
Serial Number : BSS-012*******
BIOS : AMI (OEM) E16GAIMS.10F 12/18/2012
Intel vPro : 8.00.02.1410
Total Memory : 7.9GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz (4C 8T 3.2GHz/3.4GHz, 3.2GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 6MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC PGA988

Chipset
Memory Controller : MSI Core (Ivy Bridge) Mobile DRAM Controller 100MHz, 8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM 1.6GHz 64-bit, Integrated Graphics

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Nanya NT8GC64B8HB0NS-DI 8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-12800S DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : LGD Generic PnP Monitor (1920x1080, LP156WF1-TLF3, 22.3")
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 (16 SM5.0 350MHz/1.15GHz, 2GB DDR3 1.6GHz 64-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 (16SP 16C 350MHz, 1.6GB DDR3 1.6GHz 64-bit, Integrated Graphics)
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M (384SP 2C 1.67GHz, 2GB 5GHz 128-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M (384SP 1.67GHz, 2GB 5GHz 128-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M (384SP 1.67GHz, 2GB 5GHz 128-bit)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M (384SP 2C 1.67GHz, 2GB 5GHz 128-bit)

Storage Devices
WDC WD7500BPVX-22JC3T0 (750.2GB, SATA600, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache) : 699GB (C:) (D:)
TSSTcorp CDDVDW SN-208DB (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
OS_Install (C:) : 412GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD7500BPVX-22JC3T0 (750.2GB, SATA600, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Data (D:) : 275GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD7500BPVX-22JC3T0 (750.2GB, SATA600, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
BIOS_RVY : 12GB (NTFS)
System : 100MB (NTFS)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ TSSTcorp CDDVDW SN-208DB (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : MSI Panther Point LPC Controller
Audio Device : MSI Panther Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Disk Controller : MSI Panther Point Mobile 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : MSI PCIE CardReader
USB Controller 1 : MSI Panther Point USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : MSI Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : MSI Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Killer e2200 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20) #5 (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 135 (802.11g (ERP), AES-CCMP, 48Mbps)

Power Management
Battery No 1 : NEC PC-VP-BP77 48.84Wh/3.95Ah

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.1


Not sure which link to download for the Memtest. Thanks for all your replies/help so far, by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-2013, 03:32 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,586
Default Re: Keep getting blue screen of death

First off I see that you are using a 5400 rpm harddrive. That right there is not gonna work well as it needs to be 7200 rpm or more. Also you really need a separate recording drive for the audio from Pro Tools as recording to a 5400 rpm spinner aswell as using that drive for system OS will deffinately give you errors and issues and the more you record the worse it will get.

That drive is also a "blue" drive and considered a no no for use in recording especially Pro Tools.

I don't know what others will say but this is a real problem.

Chris
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-06-2013, 04:18 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,720
Default Re: Keep getting blue screen of death

Quote:
Originally Posted by Some_of_My_Buses View Post
Storage Devices
WDC WD7500BPVX-22JC3T0 (750.2GB, SATA600, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Problem !!! Problematik ! nicht gut
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-06-2013, 04:51 PM
Some_of_My_Buses Some_of_My_Buses is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Default Re: Keep getting blue screen of death

So if I buy an external 7200rpm hard drive and save all my Pro Tools sessions on that, the BSOD will stop appearing? I wish Avid had listed that in the system requirements. Anyone have any recommendations on Pro Tools-compatible external hard drives?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 7 blue screen of death scubapig Pro Tools 9 2 11-25-2010 08:00 AM
Blue Screen of Death PT LE 8 MotifMan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-21-2008 07:07 PM
Blue screen of death *S!@p&***!! dumdrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-23-2007 11:16 AM
Blue Screen of Death ctsrar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-20-2002 11:50 PM
Blue screen of death... Alex TCH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-06-2000 03:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com