Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2014, 10:46 AM
dogmusic dogmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Philadelphia USA
Posts: 2
Default New Licensing

There seems to be a new licensing policy starting in November for Pro Tools 11.

http://www.avid.com/us/products/pro-...tcmp=AV-HP-S1a

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...2014-Offer-FAQ
  #2  
Old 10-10-2014, 11:34 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: New Licensing

I read through the material, but I'm still unclear whether users have access to incremental updates ("dot releases" such as 11.2.1 to 11.3, etc) without purchasing a subscription.

Also:

Quote:
Pro Tools | HD 11 works with Pro Tools | HDX and Pro Tools | HD Native systems only.
Not true. Pro Tools HD 11 works with any CoreAudio or ASIO interface.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
  #3  
Old 10-10-2014, 11:40 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: New Licensing

So, it's like WUP...but for Avid....AUP...


Those of us already using Protools 11 have to buy into the new model to get new features. Which I guess is ok. As long as Avid releases something worthwhile every year. If they only release new features every three or four years while still charging for the upgrade subscription, then it because less worthy. Still lame IMO.
Quote:
Q. I’m already using Pro Tools 11. Do I get the new support plan and one year of upgrades?
A. The one-year Standard Avid Support plan for Pro Tools, which includes updates and upgrades, is only included with new Pro Tools | Software with support plan purchases and Pro Tools upgrades/crossgrades. If you already own Pro Tools 11, you can still take advantage of getting support and all upgrades/updates—including the cloud collaboration features—for a full year by purchasing the $199 (Pro Tools) or $599 (Pro Tools | HD) upgrade package. And if you upgrade by December 20, 2014 and activate your software by December 31, 2014, we’ll extend your support/upgrade benefits through March 31, 2016.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
  #4  
Old 10-10-2014, 11:42 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: New Licensing

Also, does his now mean that we have to keep our Protools systems connected to the Internet? How is this verification going to work if we have already paid for one set of upgrades and then let it lapse?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
  #5  
Old 10-10-2014, 11:57 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: New Licensing

So it looks like bug fixes for 11 as it is will continue but as soon as the next dot comes those not on the subscription plan might be left behind. All they need to do is call the next dot PT12 and all PT11 users are now at the final release until buying into the new plan.

Mixed feelings...
For HD users $600 a year is the price - not great not awful
To get into the system all the "early" 11 users who paid $599 are now just lumped with all the ones who did not upgrade and now it is $599 for any of these to get to the new system. A discount for the already paid AVID $599 for 11 crowd would have been a better answer to this.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
  #6  
Old 10-10-2014, 11:59 AM
Righty27 Righty27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,025
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Also, does his now mean that we have to keep our Protools systems connected to the Internet? How is this verification going to work if we have already paid for one set of upgrades and then let it lapse?
Unlike the full subscription approach (which so many dread here and which doesn't seem popular in Adobe-land), I suspect that any major versions of Pro Tools released during the period of cover would be deposited in your Avid account so that you may transfer that licence to your iLok.

Others will surely still be able to buy that version outright. The question is then, can current PT11 users who do not want the cloud or support aspects just sign up (possibly just for one year) when PT12 gets released i.e. is $199 the new upgrade cost?
  #7  
Old 10-10-2014, 12:10 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Righty27 View Post
i.e. is $199 the new upgrade cost?
I didn't get that impression.

They way I understood it, the $199 is a LIMITED TIME ONLY upgrade for all previous owners until December 20, 2014. After that if you want to upgrade you will have to buy into a whole new version at $899.

Surely those of us already using Protools 11 should either get a reduced upgrade fee like $99, or some other loyalty incentive like a free plugin or something.

It's also not clear on what happens if you are covered by AUP and they deposit a new asset into you iLok account when a new major version gets released. Are those new assets going to be bundled with the previous version so you can continue to work while you test the new version and make sure it is stable enough to use everyday? Or is it a complete change over and then you might be screwed if something isn't compatible with your system.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
  #8  
Old 10-10-2014, 12:11 PM
Tony Cariddi's Avatar
Tony Cariddi Tony Cariddi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 95
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
I read through the material, but I'm still unclear whether users have access to incremental updates ("dot releases" such as 11.2.1 to 11.3, etc) without purchasing a subscription.
Yes, dot releases are included without a support plan.
__________________
Tony Cariddi
Avid
Marketing Director
  #9  
Old 10-10-2014, 12:17 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: New Licensing

Thanks Tony, that's good news.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
  #10  
Old 10-10-2014, 12:34 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: New Licensing

Hey Tony:

Just to be crystal clear ---

- If you own PT9HD or PT10HD (or CPTK + regular PT9, PT10) you can upgrade to PT11HD new plan for $599
- If you already own PT11HD it is still $599 to get on the new plan
- Also appears if you buy a new HD system you also have to pay $599 to get on the new plan
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Licensing? chip88 Pro Tools 9 1 11-08-2012 09:40 AM
SFX licensing MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 2 08-14-2011 04:51 PM
m-powered licensing pixeltarian Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-22-2011 08:44 PM
Licensing question pappatoad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-28-2010 05:09 PM
Licensing Plugins help? nemisis63 General Discussion 1 10-25-2002 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com