Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2013, 11:42 AM
Anibal Anibal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A. CA. USA
Posts: 545
Default with PT 11... no more Vienna Ensemble Pro?

do you think we can run VIs much better with the new PT?
is that possible?
__________________
PT 2018 HDX 1
Mac Pro Westmere 12 core 3.46 OSX 10.12.5
64 gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2013, 11:52 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,536
Default Re: with PT 11... no more Vienna Ensemble Pro?

PT11 will bring with it about a 25-30% improvement on the same CPU. Is that enough to not need VEPro? No idea.

http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...-up-video.html

Here's a good overview and it talks about how it can ease the transition to AAX64.

I'm not a user, but my understanding is that there are lots of benefits to using VEPro other than efficiency. (keeping libraries loaded while switching sessions etc)
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2013, 11:58 AM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Re: with PT 11... no more Vienna Ensemble Pro?

And it's not just pro tool 11's improved efficiency. It's also a 64-bit app. So the 4gb ram limit will be no more. That should make a huge difference for vi users. However VE Pro could still have a place. I'm not a vi or ve pro user.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2013, 12:35 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: with PT 11... no more Vienna Ensemble Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CME View Post
And it's not just pro tool 11's improved efficiency. It's also a 64-bit app. So the 4gb ram limit will be no more. That should make a huge difference for vi users. However VE Pro could still have a place. I'm not a vi or ve pro user.
I use Cubase for my VI work, and yet I still rely on VE Pro for the big orchestral stuff. VE Pro is so efficient at memory management and it's terrific to keep it loaded in RAM while you switch projects.

PT has historically been the worst at memory management which has meant VE Pro has been a necessasity for even moderate VI use. That will probably shift to heavy users only now - but for those with 300 channel templates, VE Pro will still reign supreme and rightly so.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2013, 06:26 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Re: with PT 11... no more Vienna Ensemble Pro?

As I said I'm not a user. And I figure VE Pro will still be viable for a lot of people. However by all accounts Pro Tools 11 should be a dramatic improvement over previous versions of pro tools when it comes to VI's. Again should be. I've not used it. Guess we'll know sometime this quarter. :)
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2013, 07:03 PM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 372
Default Re: with PT 11... no more Vienna Ensemble Pro?

I'm gonna keep VE Pro for several reasons. One is to host AU plugins and VIs that's not available in AAX format.
__________________

PT HDX 2018 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock
OS X Sierra 10.12.2 | Nehalem Mac Pro (FW 5,1), 2 x 3,33GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2013, 08:58 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: with PT 11... no more Vienna Ensemble Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stargazer View Post
I'm gonna keep VE Pro for several reasons. One is to host AU plugins and VIs that's not available in AAX format.
I was just gonna say that. For the VI's that are not a yet available, and some may never be, as AAX we will continue to have to use VE Pro or something similar in order to use those VI's.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-12-2013, 09:37 PM
AxeDye AxeDye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Riverside, CA USA
Posts: 281
Default Re: with PT 11... no more Vienna Ensemble Pro?

Another thing is VE Pro can bring several PCs together to make a server while mixing. Will avid allow a 64 bit aax version since it allows the use of VST and AU??? Who knows. Unless Avid included a feature to create a server of multiple systems it would be stupid to block VE Pro from having an AAX 64 bit version.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2013, 02:13 AM
TimR TimR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Nook,
Posts: 25
Default Re: with PT 11... no more Vienna Ensemble Pro?

This seems to confirm its still has benefit in PT11 if nothing else than to host non AAX plugins.

http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...-up-video.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2013, 02:14 AM
TimR TimR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Nook,
Posts: 25
Default Re: with PT 11... no more Vienna Ensemble Pro?

Whoops sorry drew, missed your entry of the same link!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vienna Ensemble Pro Belegur Virtual Instruments 23 03-31-2015 01:07 PM
PT and Vienna Ensemble Pro wolfhound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-19-2013 09:03 PM
Vienna Ensemble PRO 5 filosofem Pro Tools 10 103 07-31-2012 07:11 AM
Vienna Ensemble Pro d.f. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 154 06-11-2012 11:04 AM
Vienna Ensemble Pro d.f. Virtual Instruments 0 03-09-2010 08:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com