Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1791  
Old 11-12-2014, 01:27 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,392
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarabozo View Post
Can anyone that has bought PT11HD from CPTK please confirm it works with non HD hardware? (e.g. with an MBox Pro).
This has already been flogged to death here, it is just a poorly written footnote.

There is only one Pro Tools binary, that binary with HD or standard iLok licenses fully support CoreAudio and ASIO interfaces (well fully up to the 32 x 32 IO limits that Avid imposes on those non-HD/Digilink interfaces).
  #1792  
Old 11-12-2014, 01:31 PM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 513
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarabozo View Post
I'm seeing this at the bottom in the Avid Store for the PT10+CPTK to PT11HD upgrade:



Can anyone that has bought PT11HD from CPTK please confirm it works with non HD hardware? (e.g. with an MBox Pro).

Thanks in advance!
I've used PT10HD and PT11HD with RME UFX, Mbox pro, Mbox2, Mbox micro, Digi 003R, Digi 003 console.
  #1793  
Old 11-12-2014, 01:32 PM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 495
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
This has already been flogged to death here, it is just a poorly written footnote.

There is only one Pro Tools binary, that binary with HD or standard iLok licenses fully support CoreAudio and ASIO interfaces (well fully up to the 32 x 32 IO limits that Avid imposes on those non-HD/Digilink interfaces).
Thanks Darryl. And sorry for asking about it again - that's kind of the problem with threads that grow to more than a thousand posts. I just noticed that and felt compelled to ask.
__________________
The audio world is full of (mainly very expensive) placebos.

Latest (subscription) Pro Tools Ultimate on Windows 10 Pro x64
Mbox 3 Pro + Eleven Rack (ERXP)
Asus Prime 299X Deluxe
Intel Core i9-7940X 4.3 Ghz (14 cores / 28 threads)
Ram 8 x 16GB each (128 GB total) Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 3400 MHz
Dual Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB (OS and WIP)
2 x Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB mirrored for archive and backup
Asus/Nvidia GTX 1080 TI with a single 4K monitor Dell P2715Q
  #1794  
Old 11-12-2014, 01:52 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarabozo View Post
Thanks Darryl. And sorry for asking about it again - that's kind of the problem with threads that grow to more than a thousand posts. I just noticed that and felt compelled to ask.
Even works fine with a £79 Asus PCIe 7.1 ASIO interface.

In fact it works better with that than an 002R...
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
  #1795  
Old 11-12-2014, 02:04 PM
NipL NipL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 163
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by spenner View Post
There may also be a great number of Vanilla users, myself included, who would not mind the annual subscription. However, clarity on the subscription details are needed, mainly this:





I will add that 200 USD is about $17 a month. Even the most novice Vanilla enthusiast spends that on junk food in a week.

This subscription is potentially great for the entire PT customer base.
That is clarified - there are no re-entering of perpetual licenses support plan subscription that lapses - which your $200 amount suggests.

Let it lapse for a couple of years if you want.
Continue by subscription/rental or buy new full price license are your options.

But subscription/rental - how that works is not clear....which might be the alternative then compared to buying a new perpetual license. You can guess through looking at MC FAQ - but the amounts are not set yet.

Some estimates were made by Nigel recalculating MC prices to "vanilla" and said about $37 a month pure rental. And that would be a new license compared to your possibly lapsed perpetual you already have - since you can start off MC without any bought license at all - just go rental from start.

It's really unfair to any customer base to hold back on this info like Avid is doing right now. Not the style of a publicly listed company at all. One would expect professionalism all the way - and that is yet to be seen. Seems like shots in the dark what is noticed so far and really desperate measures.

And for HD hardware userbase you cannot let these people pay over and over again for buying this overpriced hardware just getting software updates. It should really include replacement units if breaking and stuff like that to let the $599 price model run. On site replacement and that kind of service contract should be included in that price - then it would start to make sense.

Did anybody even test if PT HD need the HD hardware with modern computers at all. It could be all obsolete with the new solutions that exist - and Vienna Ensemble Pro network solutions running on separate computer making PT just run audio basically - no plugins at all. You could run hundreds of tracks with no sweat. And you just add standard computers and can run it with any daw as well. Seems like more sain investments than digging deeper into dependence of Avid.
  #1796  
Old 11-12-2014, 02:48 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by spenner View Post
I will add that 200 USD is about $17 a month. Even the most novice Vanilla enthusiast spends that on junk food in a week.
Hey! Don't be cuttin' in to mah junk food budget. I require a base minimum level of cheetoes and mountain dew and beef jerky to fuel me through those late night mixing sessions.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
  #1797  
Old 11-12-2014, 02:50 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by NipL View Post
Did anybody even test if PT HD need the HD hardware with modern computers at all.
Protools HD has been able to run without the HD hardware since Protools 9 when Avid released Protools (vanilla and HD) from the bonds of being tied to Avid hardware to run. Protools HD will run with any ASIO or Core Audio device as the interface, even using just the computer's internal sound card as long as it has an ASIO or Core Audio driver.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
  #1798  
Old 11-12-2014, 03:07 PM
ghostwriter's Avatar
ghostwriter ghostwriter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 746
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
I suspect they benefit a great deal more from no longer having many people on 10 and earlier because it's not the same program as 11.
I would certainly agree with that.

When I said "the same" it wasn't meant to mean "literally identical". But, I assume most are smart enough to understand that.
__________________
A few of of my favorite toys: Retro Instruments 176 (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM 70, SPX90, Roland SDE 3000...
  #1799  
Old 11-12-2014, 03:12 PM
ghostwriter's Avatar
ghostwriter ghostwriter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 746
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
If you want to go past PT 11, you will buy a service contract.
Yes, and people who want to go past 10 will purchase 11.

Except that they will pay less today because they held off.

Let's agree to disagree and time will tell.
__________________
A few of of my favorite toys: Retro Instruments 176 (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM 70, SPX90, Roland SDE 3000...
  #1800  
Old 11-12-2014, 08:47 PM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by NipL View Post
That is clarified - there are no re-entering of perpetual licenses support plan subscription that lapses - which your $200 amount suggests.

Thank you. I will wait to see what the actually numbers are. Hopefully we will know before Black Friday when all my money magically disappears until after the New Year.



Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Hey! Don't be cuttin' in to mah junk food budget. I require a base minimum level of cheetoes and mountain dew and beef jerky to fuel me through those late night mixing sessions.
: Add a few snack cakes and our diets are identical. Cutting back on the cheetoes alone would get me a HD license.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Licensing? chip88 Pro Tools 9 1 11-08-2012 09:40 AM
SFX licensing MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 2 08-14-2011 04:51 PM
m-powered licensing pixeltarian Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-22-2011 08:44 PM
Licensing question pappatoad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-28-2010 05:09 PM
Licensing Plugins help? nemisis63 General Discussion 1 10-25-2002 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com