Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2019, 03:41 PM
Peter A Peter A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13
Default AVID Sync HD Not Recognized

Hi, I have an AVID Sync HD that's not being recognized by Pro Tools or DigiTest. It's connected to an HDX Core card via the Serial port. I've tried trashing prefs, restarting the system, etc.

I'm running PT Ultimate 2019.5 on a 2019 MBP running OS X 10.14.5. Both HDX cards are in a Sonnet Thunderbolt 2 PCIe chassis. The system runs without a hiccup.

I'm out of ideas. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2019, 04:11 PM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: AVID Sync HD Not Recognized

It requires the serial cable to be wired a specific way. Are you sure you got a right one?
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2019, 04:41 PM
Peter A Peter A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13
Default Re: AVID Sync HD Not Recognized

Hi Meads, thanks for the reply!!! Good question. It's an 8-pin to 8-pin serial cable. But, it's not the one that shipped with the Sync HD and I can't confirm it's the correct wiring. So, I have to assume it's not the correct cable.

I just did a quick browse on where/how to get the correct cable. I'll contact AVID. But, in the meantime, if you happen to know where to get one, please let me know.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2019, 04:46 PM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: AVID Sync HD Not Recognized

It has to be a crossover cable, that's the distinction. Just google it or search on eBay. There's tons out there.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2019, 05:26 PM
Peter A Peter A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13
Default Re: AVID Sync HD Not Recognized

Great. Thanks again, Meads. Appreciated!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2019, 09:50 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 634
Default Re: AVID Sync HD Not Recognized

I ordered this one a few weeks ago, and it works great with my HDX card and Sync HD. The company is Australia based, but the description might give you some insight into what cable you are chasing...

https://www.wagneronline.com.au/keyb...2962/58893/pd/
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2019, 10:11 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,117
Default Re: AVID Sync HD Not Recognized

Since you're in LA contact Westlake Pro.
(323) 845-1145
They have the cables in stock.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2019, 01:04 PM
Peter A Peter A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13
Default Re: AVID Sync HD Not Recognized

Thanks everyone!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid HDX card not being recognized Itsquietloud Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 26 07-23-2019 05:20 AM
avid asio driver (pts 10.0.1) not recognized by third parties ThijsDeMelker Windows 2 03-16-2012 01:07 PM
Avid Mojo recognized by Mac, not Pro Tools?? mooge Post - Surround - Video 8 02-05-2011 01:54 AM
Sync I/O not recognized on Windows Pro Tools HD 7.4 moneyp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 01-03-2009 06:53 AM
Project Mix recognized but not sync with ProTools MusicalWonder Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 08-01-2008 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com