Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1011  
Old 11-30-2002, 11:24 AM
jeffreyr jeffreyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 146
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Hello,
I think it was the XP 2000+ that people were able to get working well. Some people tried the XP 2100+ and it was unstable. I think for some it worked.

You may want to get a second opinion though.
Reply With Quote
  #1012  
Old 11-30-2002, 12:19 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Jeffro is correct.

There are Athlon boards available that accept SDRAM.

I recently got a deal on a board for an office workstation that provided slots for both DDR and SDRAM... your choice. However, you can't mix them.

Still, I would advise going with DDR.
Reply With Quote
  #1013  
Old 11-30-2002, 05:59 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Quote:
Originally posted by chucknkd:
question for all you guys w the ASUS A7M266(single proc). what is the fastest processor i can put in this mobo. i want to upgrade from my 1.33 but cant find any info on the asus website about where the processor speed maxxes out. any help would be appreciated.
thanks!
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Chuck go to the Asus website and get the tech support number on this one. They can direct you to the newest bios release that is supposed to support XP2400+ processors. It is version 1008. I don't have the link right now as I'm on a friends computer. You may be able to find it back a few pages on this thread.
Good luck,
Allen [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #1014  
Old 11-30-2002, 06:09 PM
jjhuntfox jjhuntfox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Portland,OR,USA
Posts: 969
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Allen,

I was wondering if you would re-post the "best System" specs once in a while. (As things change or whenever you feel like it.) I know it's in the 26 pages but it might be good if you refreshed it once in a while. It has gotten a little buried.

This thread was a great idea on your part and it might help those building new systems if they could find it easy.

You the man. We are not worthy! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #1015  
Old 11-30-2002, 08:40 PM
jeffreyr jeffreyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 146
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

He does it on the front page every so often.

Germany's Asus website has a 1008B BIOS for the A7M266 that I've flashed my board to.

I haven't had any problems with it. Running an XP 1600+.

If you find a non-beta 8 BIOS post back the link.
Reply With Quote
  #1016  
Old 11-30-2002, 09:06 PM
jeffreyr jeffreyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 146
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

There is no link listed. The information is on page 16. Someone ruined their BIOS so they bought a chip from Asus for $30 and soldiered it in.

To find the A7M266 1008 Beta Bios,

Search in Support for File Type BIOS and A7M266

Here is a link to some utilities

http://www.asus.com.tw/support/download/d ownload.aspx

Pick up the Probe to measure your CPU and Motherboard temperature and the Update Utility for flashing your BIOS.
Reply With Quote
  #1017  
Old 11-30-2002, 09:17 PM
jeffreyr jeffreyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 146
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

I have a few questions.

Is there an Asus Boot Logo that works with the A7M266?

Is there a way to power on the computer from the keyboard?

I think this has been asked before but what drivers are required, if any, for the A7M266 and Windows XP?

I see 3-in-1s, Miniport, IRQ and USB although none for XP and only some for NT.

I haven't installed any and Windows XP seems to handle everything fine.

Can the motherboard fan be replaced with a heatsink?
Reply With Quote
  #1018  
Old 12-09-2002, 02:10 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Bump for the new guys.
[img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #1019  
Old 12-09-2002, 02:13 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Quote:
Originally posted by Jeffro:
I have a few questions.

Is there an Asus Boot Logo that works with the A7M266?

Is there a way to power on the computer from the keyboard?

I think this has been asked before but what drivers are required, if any, for the A7M266 and Windows XP?

I see 3-in-1s, Miniport, IRQ and USB although none for XP and only some for NT.

I haven't installed any and Windows XP seems to handle everything fine.

Can the motherboard fan be replaced with a heatsink?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Yea I'd stay away from installing anything you don't need. Not sure about your other questions.
Allen [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #1020  
Old 12-09-2002, 02:20 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

I just added the Volcano 9 CoolMod heatsink/fan cooler to the list. I really like this thing with manual fan control. Same noise level as my old watercooled system on low setting. I didn't update the prices as they haven't changed that much since last month.
Allen [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools-qualified desktops outdated??? robotboy Windows 4 05-28-2013 06:02 PM
HP Desktops? whatwhat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-29-2009 10:33 AM
HP Desktops in LE?? finman29 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-06-2008 12:06 PM
Pro-Tools and RAM Drives. Laptops/Desktops - Possible? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-13-2008 10:34 PM
HP Desktops my cardboard box 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-05-2004 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com