Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2008, 11:23 AM
guy.fi guy.fi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 395
Default Can I convert s/pdif to BNC word clock?

I'm getting my 002 modded by Black Lion. I do alot of sessions where I'm using my Octopre (via ADAT in) for tracks 9-16. The Octopre has wordclock in, the 002 has no wordclock. However, if there was something which would convert the s/pdif out of the the 002 to WC, then I could clock the Octopre off the 002.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe
Pentium Q9550 @ 3.4 ghz
Corsair 1066 RAM


www.guyfi.com
www.flystudiosmilwaukee.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2008, 12:54 PM
Spyda KB Spyda KB is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LA 2 JA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Can I convert s/pdif to BNC word clock?

Unless the Octopre has SPDIF that can accept WC in (of which I doubt), I would believe your only solution would be to use an external master clock other than the 002R. The Lucid GENX192 would be a good option.

- KB.
__________________
Citizen K Productions
http://www.citizenkpro.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2008, 02:39 PM
guy.fi guy.fi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 395
Default Re: Can I convert s/pdif to BNC word clock?

No, I'm looking for something that could generate WC from the outoing s/pdif of the 002.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe
Pentium Q9550 @ 3.4 ghz
Corsair 1066 RAM


www.guyfi.com
www.flystudiosmilwaukee.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2008, 02:45 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,636
Default Re: Can I convert s/pdif to BNC word clock?

Great question. Since the SPDIF carries a clock, it would be cool if it could be extracted and converted to a WC type clock. Anybody know a way to do this? Bump it.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.10 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy rig (works): PT 5&6 / MAC G4 OS9&OSX / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2008, 03:51 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,636
Default Re: Can I convert s/pdif to BNC word clock?

Hey guyfi, send an email to the guys at Black Lion. I'll bet they'd know if it's even possible. Post back. Thanx.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.10 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy rig (works): PT 5&6 / MAC G4 OS9&OSX / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2008, 05:55 PM
guy.fi guy.fi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 395
Default Re: Can I convert s/pdif to BNC word clock?

I just emailed them, though I emailed and called with different inquiries over the past 2 days with no responses yet. I got to believe that they are swamped right now.

The simple fact of the 002 having no WC out makes this BLA mod questionable to those of us who routinely track more than 8 at a time. Obviously, why go for this mod (specifically the clock) if we can't use it while recording, which is probably when it would provide the biggest advantage. If there is no way to do this I this that I will look for an 8 channel converter that will slave to the 002's clock via s/pdif. Any thoughts? I think that an AD8000 with the right card can do it. Also, the RME Fireface 800 seems like it could do it, though some have reported problems making it work with the 002.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe
Pentium Q9550 @ 3.4 ghz
Corsair 1066 RAM


www.guyfi.com
www.flystudiosmilwaukee.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2008, 11:44 AM
Spyda KB Spyda KB is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LA 2 JA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Can I convert s/pdif to BNC word clock?

Quote:
No, I'm looking for something that could generate WC from the outoing s/pdif of the 002.
And as I said....the 002 does generate WC via SPDIF but unless the Octopre has SPDIF that accepts word clock (and it doesn't) - it typically can't be done without an external word clock. For instance I use a DM-24 and it can accept WC via BNC, AES, SPDIF or TDIF, but I chose to use an external clock for these devices because the 002R doesn't have a BNC WC and mixes simply sounds better with an external clock. So, if you want to use the 002 as your master sync device and send out WC via SPDIF, the slave device better have a SPDIF that accepts WC....

Now with that said, I did see one other option a SPDIF to BNC cable.....

http://eventhorizon-srv.com/ecommerc...oducts_id=1666

...don't know if this is any good though.

- KB
__________________
Citizen K Productions
http://www.citizenkpro.com/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2008, 12:17 PM
guy.fi guy.fi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 395
Default Re: Can I convert s/pdif to BNC word clock?

If I wanted an external WC I wouldn't be spending the $ on this mod. And since the 002 has no dedicated WC i/o, using an external clock your still sending it to the 002 via s/pdif or ADAT. The system is only going to sound "better" if the external clock is better. Dan Lavry has explained that just by running the additional length of cable needed for external clocking you are introducing latency into the equation.

Thanks for the idea on the cable, my friend has an adapter so I'm going to give it a try. Not expecting it to work, but who knows?
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe
Pentium Q9550 @ 3.4 ghz
Corsair 1066 RAM


www.guyfi.com
www.flystudiosmilwaukee.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2008, 12:55 PM
Spyda KB Spyda KB is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LA 2 JA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Can I convert s/pdif to BNC word clock?

Quote:
If I wanted an external WC I wouldn't be spending the $ on this mod. And since the 002 has no dedicated WC i/o, using an external clock your still sending it to the 002 via s/pdif or ADAT. The system is only going to sound "better" if the external clock is better. Dan Lavry has explained that just by running the additional length of cable needed for external clocking you are introducing latency into the equation.

Thanks for the idea on the cable, my friend has an adapter so I'm going to give it a try. Not expecting it to work, but who knows?
If your cable lengths are under 6ft there is practically little to no latency (it is usually recommended to limit runs under 15 ft for WC use)...also if you are using an external clock as the master latency shouldn't be a factor...if it was...why would major studios buy the things? I personally haven't encounterd ANY latency issues while using the DM-24 or an external clock as the master.

Maybe I'm slow but I don't see the problem you are having...it is common knowledge WC can be sent via SPDIF but as I mentioned in another post, I personally wouldn't spend that kind of cash on a mod just to change the clock in the 002 because there are better options (at the same or less cost) and I personally would never use the 002 as an external master clock source.

Question: Why are you doing a mod and plan to use the Octopre (which is very much inferior pre to the mod from my understanding)...??

As a test I wound up going to the link and bought a 3 ft BNC to SPDIF cable to use with my GENX192 and the 002R....maybe it might make a difference.

- KB
__________________
Citizen K Productions
http://www.citizenkpro.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-15-2008, 01:41 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,636
Default Re: Can I convert s/pdif to BNC word clock?

Quote:
...Maybe I'm slow but I don't see the problem you are having...it is common knowledge WC can be sent via SPDIF but as I mentioned in another post, I personally wouldn't spend that kind of cash on a mod just to change the clock in the 002 because there are better options (at the same or less cost) and I personally would never use the 002 as an external master clock source. Question: Why are you doing a mod and plan to use the Octopre (which is very much inferior pre to the mod from my understanding)...??
Cuz he wants to record 16 inputs at once, all clocked from the BLA modded int clock. The BLA modded internal clock would indeed make a fine master clock. The question is: whether using a Spdif/WC cord will actually work as a method of clocking the ext Octopre (WC input) from the modded 002's int clock (Spdif output). Anybody? On a somewhat related topic, BLA also makes an ext clock.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.10 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy rig (works): PT 5&6 / MAC G4 OS9&OSX / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS UK: LA Audio Word Clock / Super Clock Generator DigitalMetal Buy & Sell 0 12-05-2012 04:22 PM
S/PDIF, ADAT, Word Clock - Recording At Optical IN (003R). epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-13-2010 08:39 PM
Dbx386 s/pdif clock VS. Digi002 internal clock Detuned6 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-02-2006 10:32 AM
Can I clock my 888's off of regulat word clock? Seeee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-22-2005 01:50 PM
Convert word clock to spdif clock - cheap solution? molokoplus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-20-2003 01:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com