Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2013, 06:21 AM
chris.d chris.d is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 67
Default trim/extend multiple regions

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2n View Post
Is there a way which will enable me to extend/trim the start of a group of selected regions simultaneously, instead of extending manually one region at a time?
this is a quote from 2002

is this now possible without the dreaded batch-fade workaround which doesn't work when regions need to be shortened to less than half of their original length....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2013, 06:35 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,212
Default Re: trim/extend multiple regions

Select multiple regions by pressing and holding the command button, and keep holding the button while trimming the start position. I think it was the command button, but might remember it wrong though.

However, this only works if you want to set the start position to same time for all regions. If your regions have different timings then this won't help you.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2013, 06:32 AM
chris.d chris.d is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 67
Default Re: trim/extend multiple regions

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Select multiple regions by pressing and holding the command button, and keep holding the button while trimming the start position. I think it was the command button, but might remember it wrong though.

However, this only works if you want to set the start position to same time for all regions. If your regions have different timings then this won't help you.
in my case this does not work. regions are all on the same track
i'd like to fine-tune kick and snare hits that are strip-silenced. i know all the functions of strip-silence, but e.g. in a dynamic performance i need to work section by section. i don't want to redo the strip silence just to experiment with region-length late in a mix.
sometimes i need to shorten kick samples, sometimes i mult a stripped kick-track to send into distortion, somtimes i need to 'design' a kicktrack for sidechain only... many situations where the batch-region-length-change would come in handy...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2013, 10:33 AM
Vovique Vovique is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 145
Default Re: trim/extend multiple regions

Simply drag-select all the clips you need with the object grabber tool (the last one in grabber drop down menu), and then use Option+Shift+“+/–” to trim clips' start, or Command+Shift+“+/–” to trim the ends. Trimming follows the nudge value you have set in the nudge counter. Hope you find thus helpful!
__________________
PT 11.2 Mac
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2013, 03:53 PM
chris.d chris.d is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 67
Default Re: trim/extend multiple regions

i don't know what i'm doing wrong but the modifiers don't do anything... the clips are only nudged in time (as if only +/- are used), but no combination does anything to the boundaries... (i tried transport & classic mode) PT 10.3.2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2014, 06:13 AM
ehausler ehausler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 28
Default Re: trim/extend multiple regions

Hi,
just skip the [shift] key and I think you'll be fine. Works like a charm on PT11!
Recap:
To edit length on multiple clips:
Select the clips with the OBJECT GRABBER tool , then use
[Option] +/– to trim clips' start, or
[Command] +/– to trim the ends.
Trimming follows your nudge value.

Thanks
/E
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2014, 07:46 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: trim/extend multiple regions

Thanks E for sharing !
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:59 AM
chris.d chris.d is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 67
Default Re: trim/extend multiple regions

works also in PT10

thanks for sharing! still very useful after one year
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-23-2016, 11:26 AM
Triode71 Triode71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 17
Default Re: trim/extend multiple regions

THANK YOU! You just saved me an entire hour. I applaud your kind sharing of this vital information.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2017, 11:49 PM
mgmartino mgmartino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13
Default Re: trim/extend multiple regions

The option +/- did not work for me??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trim regions across multiple tracks? Dave Labrecque Windows 16 08-15-2011 05:28 PM
Possible to trim or extend multiple regions at once? Mike Greene Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-05-2008 02:57 AM
can you trim many regions at once? se.audio Tips & Tricks 10 07-24-2006 07:52 PM
can you trim many regions at once? se.audio Tips & Tricks 0 07-19-2006 04:28 AM
Move/Trim Regions vs. Logic Zep Dude Tips & Tricks 0 02-24-2000 10:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com