Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2008, 08:41 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 932
Default Pro-Tools and RAM Drives. Laptops/Desktops - Possible?

Well, I'm tired of lugging around an external hard disk with my ultraportable laptop (My fault, as I know the larger laptops let you house two drives internally [One in place of the CDROM].

Then I come across a product like this:

http://www.farstone.com/software/virtual-hard-drive.htm

I'm still using XP SP2 and PTLE 7.4. The max of course is 4GB of RAM. Being that Pro-Tools uses about 2 GB anyway, could a product like this be used to run a session? Considering maybe I could use one out of the 4 gigs as a virtual drive and run Pro-Tools off the fly. I could then maybe carry around a small USB external to save my files after I finish mixing them on my laptop using the virtual RAM drive.

Sorry if this topic came up before, but I want to explore my possibilities.

I'm using an IBM (Lenovo) X61 Ultraportable, which runs PTLE without a hitch!
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2008, 10:34 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Pro-Tools and RAM Drives. Laptops/Desktops - Possible?

read in a thread recently that the virtual drive was a no-go w/PTLE. do a search on 'virtual' within the last 2 months...should turn up the thread for ya.
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools-qualified desktops outdated??? robotboy Windows 4 05-28-2013 06:02 PM
Laptops vs. Desktops - Mbox2 FINKSTONE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-22-2007 06:22 PM
mbox for PC system. desktops and laptops. mouthdrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-24-2002 10:54 AM
mbox for PC system. desktops and laptops. mouthdrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-23-2002 07:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com