Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-23-2017, 12:57 AM

Default Saving pro tools 11 sessions on to USB flash drive

is it possible to save a few pro tools 11 sessions on to a USB flash drive to take back to the same studio at a later time ?

Like if I wanted to go to the studio , work on some tracks without mixing them and then return to the same exact studio at a later date to mix my songs.

It's a Mac laptop that runs everything if that helps .

I was hoping to have something where I can just plug it back into the laptop and my files will just load onto pro tools and I can mix and master quickly .

One more thing , it's my first time going to the studio. I was wondering if I'm allowed to save files onto the studio owners laptop .Do people regularly save their pro tools sessions to the studios main computer ? I would prefer that but I don't want to risk anything happening to my files .

Please help , i would greatly appreciate it

Sent from my Moto E (4) using Tapatalk
Old 10-23-2017, 04:38 AM

Default Re: Saving pro tools 11 sessions on to USB flash drive

The safest thing would be to ask the studio owner for what you can do as not everyone has the same policy. I know I would be nervous about someone bringing in a hard drive or thumb drive that I didn't know what was on it. Especially if a Windows computer is involved in this somewheres. The only thing in general a studio owner would allow from outside is if someone brought in their own iLok.

Really this should have been posted in the PT11 section which is in the legacy products section. Maybe one of the mods can move it?

QAPLA!
Old 10-23-2017, 01:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post