Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2016, 02:30 PM
lgarrigus lgarrigus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 2
Default X-Form offsetting audio after rendering

Hello everyone,
I have been combating this issue for a couple months now, searched the depths of the internet for similar cases, and exhausted every potential solution I can think of.

Basically, I am quantizing audio with elastic audio's polyphonic mode, then switching over to x-form for a better sound. Once x-form finishes processing, the audio has been gradually shifted back throughout the session, and off the grid. This problem seems to only occur when I am tracking multiple songs in one session. It's dead on at the beginning, but by the end of the session, the audio is roughly an 8th note late. It works just fine on bass guitar, but not on DI guitars of the same length.

The attached picture shows the before and after.

I've tried...adjusting/deleting analysis markers, switching the tracks to "ticks" rather than samples, consolidating and separating tracks, Pro Tools 10 and 11, and numerous other little things. I even created new tracks for each song, rather than one continuous clip throughout the session...to no avail.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg X-Form.jpg (80.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2016, 08:03 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,424
Default Re: X-Form offsetting audio after rendering

The most important thing to do is to drop a marker(lock in place) at each side of the area you are working on. As you are discovering(the hard way), if you move any marker, everything past it is going to also move, so you need to place markers to prevent that(much the same way that when you Shift-click on a marker and move it, the markers on either side will lock in place, so ONLY the one you move, actually moves.

I use X-Form almost exclusively. If you have tried it, you probably hate the way it takes time to render, even if you simply click on a marker(without moving it). My solution is to choose just the area that needs work(and usually just what fits on my EDIT screen), separate that clip(region) and drop warp markers at each end(so the ends are locked in place). Then, I can move things around in this defined area, and because its only a few bars in length, it renders in a few seconds.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave

Last edited by albee1952; 05-28-2018 at 04:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2016, 08:58 PM
lgarrigus lgarrigus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 2
Default Re: X-Form offsetting audio after rendering

Albee1952, thank you for your quick response!
That's a great idea, definitely a smart way to work. I just gave it a try, working within X-Form, rather than polyphonic, working in small chunks, and placing markers at the beginning and end of each brief section. Unfortunately, I arrived at the same conclusion as before.

The attached picture shows where the quantized markers should be as it is rendering (top), and the displaced audio after rendering (bottom).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg X-Form 2.jpg (38.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2016, 09:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,424
Default Re: X-Form offsetting audio after rendering

Hmmm, hard for me to tell what's going on without looking over your shoulder while you work it. The only time stuff moves here is when I forget to drop markers before I start moving stuff....
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2016, 01:30 AM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,913
Default Re: X-Form offsetting audio after rendering

Not that it's right, but it's normal. It's something that's bugged me as well. Happens on all algorithms afaik.

Try using the new commit function if you're on 12.3. I'm curious wether it still does it with that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2018, 03:40 PM
jacksbyrne jacksbyrne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 12
Default Re: X-Form offsetting audio after rendering

Apologies, old thread I know, but did this ever get solved? This issue's just turned up for me, first time I've come across it!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2018, 04:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,424
Default Re: X-Form offsetting audio after rendering

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Not that it's right, but it's normal. It's something that's bugged me as well. Happens on all algorithms afaik.

Try using the new commit function if you're on 12.3. I'm curious wether it still does it with that.
I wouldn't call it normal and its never happened here
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-form rendering error kirka.sainio Post - Surround - Video 17 07-06-2015 04:43 PM
X form rendering problem brady_d79 Pro Tools 10 0 10-21-2013 07:33 PM
Offline X-Form Rendering App Logichead Pro Tools 10 2 10-15-2012 11:13 PM
X Form Rendering therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-20-2010 07:09 AM
Rendering with X-Form How? Numi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-21-2008 08:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com