Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2017, 05:02 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 471
Default Volume Readout on Artist Mix

Is there ANYwhere in a preferences section of the Artist Mix, where you can set the Volume readout to STAY ON?

It is ridiculous to have to TOUCH a fader to get a readout WHICH CHANGES the second you touch the fader! Why can't the readout stay on, like it does with the MC Control?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2017, 02:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,424
Default Re: Volume Readout on Artist Mix

You may not want to hear this but, stop mixing with your eyes and use your ears Having said that, the MIX window should show the exact level at all times
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2017, 04:46 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 471
Default Re: Volume Readout on Artist Mix

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
You may not want to hear this but, stop mixing with your eyes and use your ears Having said that, the MIX window should show the exact level at all times
I do mix with my ears. I also like to know what the readings are. I wonder WHY they didn't make the readout work the same as it does on the MC Control. If it was already set up, why wouldn't they just keep that the same across the product line?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2017, 09:42 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,424
Default Re: Volume Readout on Artist Mix

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeyplayerG View Post
I do mix with my ears. I also like to know what the readings are. I wonder WHY they didn't make the readout work the same as it does on the MC Control. If it was already set up, why wouldn't they just keep that the same across the product line?
Now THAT'S a great question There are actually several oddities about the Artist hardware that still have me scratching my head.... like, why does the Artist strip have an ON button, while Pro Tools tracks have a MUTE button?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2017, 12:07 PM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 553
Default Re: Volume Readout on Artist Mix

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Now THAT'S a great question There are actually several oddities about the Artist hardware that still have me scratching my head.... like, why does the Artist strip have an ON button, while Pro Tools tracks have a MUTE button?
It comes from the old Euphonix consoles, before Avid bought them
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2017, 05:41 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 471
Default Re: Volume Readout on Artist Mix

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertg View Post
It comes from the old Euphonix consoles, before Avid bought them
Then why didn't they just change it to Mute AFTER they became the manufacturer? I mean, that's just a new button that says mute in the place where it used to say "On." They took Euphonix off the front. http://www.avid.com/products/artist-mix

I don't understand a lot of these choices. These are little details, from their perspective. But they clearly make a huge difference to the users of these products.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist Control Monitor/Ctrl Room Volume Knob HowlingWolfStudio Artist Series 1 04-15-2014 11:10 PM
Timecode readout missing in LE window refugegirl Post - Surround - Video 10 06-24-2008 04:06 PM
Latency Readout Mcdsp LE Line Adagio12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-23-2008 09:13 PM
Delay Samples Readout bugnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-03-2007 04:39 PM
time-remaining readout John Lansing 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-24-2006 07:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com