Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2014, 11:41 AM
anackman's Avatar
anackman anackman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 191
Default Switching playlists with multiple tracks all at once?

I think this may have been touched on once before, but the fix I read about doesn't seem to work.

I have 10 drum tracks. I have multiple takes (playlists). I want to both create new playlists on each drum track plus be able to flip between already recorded playlists within the drum group in one go, without having to go through each individual drum track separately and select the playlist arrow.

I tried Shft + Opt + Click. Doesn't work. It starts adding random new playlists to my overheads for no reason. Makes no changes on any other track in the group.

Yes, I have the drums grouped.

What am I missing? This should be pretty easy.
__________________
10.11 OSX El Capitan
PT 12.4
Mac Pro Quad Core (Studio) + Mac Mini (Home)
UAD Apollo Duo
UAD Satellite Quad
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2014, 11:49 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,561
Default Re: Switching playlists with multiple tracks all at once?

Quote:
Originally Posted by anackman View Post
Yes, I have the drums grouped.

What am I missing? This should be pretty easy.
But I bet you didn't when you made the initial recording. Tracks need to be grouped beforehand and then they will behave. That has been my experience.

Try it in a new session.

Make tracks, group them, record onto them, then switch playlists til your hearts content. I bet it's solid.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2015, 06:34 PM
boxofgeese boxofgeese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Nyack, NY
Posts: 32
Default Re: Switching playlists with multiple tracks all at once?

I highly recommend you check out this thread for more in-depth analysis. For realz.

duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=374723
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2015, 05:31 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,430
Default Re: Switching playlists with multiple tracks all at once?

Not sure where things are not working for you, but I do this all the time and it works great. I start with all my drum tracks in an active group(the group must be active) and set to show playlists. All my track names have the suffix .01(so its like Kick.01, Snare.01, Hat.01, etc). After the first record pass, I select(on any drum track) for a new playlist and all the drum tracks go to a new playlist and now the names have .02(Kick.02, Snare.02, etc) so I know which pass is which take. Once I have all the passes I need, I can audition all by the action on any single track(IOW, if I playlist-solo the kick PL labeled Kick.04, I will hear all the drums playing that 4th take). And if I want to promote a section of any take to the top, whatever I do on one drum track will happen on all the rest
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change playlists for multiple tracks in one go tomedwardsuk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-17-2013 09:41 PM
Switching between takes with multiple tracks RabidPickle Pro Tools 10 9 08-18-2013 11:46 AM
Importing multiple tracks to 1 audio track for playlists DonaldM Tips & Tricks 6 08-01-2010 08:15 PM
Playlists, Pop- Ups or Multiple tracks? nozza1 Tips & Tricks 2 06-10-2001 06:06 PM
playlist switching on multiple tracks MoreDSP Tips & Tricks 4 04-16-2001 05:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com