Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:13 AM
P Mackey P Mackey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago/Rockford
Posts: 24
Default External Hard Drive Problem

Recently I bought a MacBook to take on the road with me and record using my 500GB MyBook HD. This hard drive works well when I use it at my home studio with my Mac Pro, but when I tried using it with my MacBook I recieve errors telling me that the HD is not an audio drive. Has anyone else ran into this problem, or know how to fix it? I can supply more information if it is needed.
thanks.
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.0GHz Dual 2GB RAM
Pro Tools LE 7.1.1
OSX 10.4.10

MacBook 2.16GHz Dual core
2GB RAM(max)
OSX 10.4.10
Pro Tools LE 7.1.1
Digi002
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:15 AM
blkdog7 blkdog7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Posts: 145
Default Re: External Hard Drive Problem

You need to go to your browser in Pro Tools and set it as being able to record and playback.
__________________
The Kill Screens (indie rocktronica)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:27 AM
P Mackey P Mackey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago/Rockford
Posts: 24
Default Re: External Hard Drive Problem

I'm kind of new to ProTools and OSX, how would I do this? (step by step, please. Feel free to make fun of me also )
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.0GHz Dual 2GB RAM
Pro Tools LE 7.1.1
OSX 10.4.10

MacBook 2.16GHz Dual core
2GB RAM(max)
OSX 10.4.10
Pro Tools LE 7.1.1
Digi002
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:32 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: External Hard Drive Problem

From Digi:

"If you are receiving any errors regarding drives not being suitable for playback or not being an audio record volume, try the following:

In Pro Tools, go to the Windows menu and select 'Show Workspace'. In the Workspace window you will see a list of your drives on the left and to the right of each drive will be an 'A'(for Audio) and a 'V'(for Video) column. Under the 'A' column next to your drive it will probably have a 'T'(for Transfer) or 'P'(for Playback) - click on the 'T' or 'P' and, from the drop down list, choose 'Record'.

You should now be able to open, play and record in your session as normal.

If your drive will not change to a Record volume, you may need to reformat the drive.

On Mac OSX - use the Disk Utility to reformat the drive as Mac OS Extended."
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:32 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: External Hard Drive Problem

Read the first thread on the forum, called "Audio Playback or Volume Error Info"

-whoops, got this in after Park, but if you're still confused check out that thread, that's what it's about.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:33 AM
blkdog7 blkdog7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Posts: 145
Default Re: External Hard Drive Problem

Did I say browser?, I meant workspace.

Go to Window>Workspace

you'll see your drives listed.

You'll see the columns labeled "A" and "V"

Make sure each of those settings for the drive in question is set to "R"
__________________
The Kill Screens (indie rocktronica)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:38 AM
P Mackey P Mackey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago/Rockford
Posts: 24
Default Re: External Hard Drive Problem

Wow, thanks for all the help. I'll check that other thread if I have any more problems.

-PatM
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.0GHz Dual 2GB RAM
Pro Tools LE 7.1.1
OSX 10.4.10

MacBook 2.16GHz Dual core
2GB RAM(max)
OSX 10.4.10
Pro Tools LE 7.1.1
Digi002
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 7.4.2pr external hard drive problem citychalkoutline 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-13-2008 08:08 PM
external hard drive connection problem semicntrldchaos 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-26-2007 11:32 AM
Problem with External Hard Drive Dante13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-11-2006 11:58 PM
External Hard drive problem Fladlien 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 05-11-2005 03:07 PM
External hard drive problem splendidmike 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-29-2005 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com