Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2006, 03:50 PM
CaptainCrash CaptainCrash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default Access Violation Problems

I have just upgraded my PC to a recommended chip set from an older Dell to get pro tools working - and all was going well until I accidentally pressed the wrong button when installing my drivers for the M-Box 2. Now I can get nothing but access violations - I think because my pc is currently listing the actual M-Box 2 as a "Other Device" with no drivers.

I've tried reinstalling pro tools, i've tried downloading and installing pro tools 7, i've tried turning stuff off in Device manager and i've tried everything in recommended troubleshooting that I could. I don't understand why this has to be so difficult - can I not just do something to wipe all knowledge of the hardware from my PC and then make it look again so I can reinstall all the drivers from scratch and have it recognise the m-box properly?

In the safely remove hardware tab their is only "M-box Firmware updater" and "M-Box Midi Driver" as I recall their should also be simply an M-box one shouldn't their? I think this lends weight to my theory. Please help - i've spent lots of money upgrading my system to make this box work and i'm getting very frustrated.

Cheers!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2006, 03:53 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Access Violation Problems

What you're looking for under the Add or Remove list is "Digidesign Pro Tools LE".

Knowing your system details would be helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2006, 04:01 PM
CaptainCrash CaptainCrash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Access Violation Problems

I've done all that - i'm relatively computer literate - I think their is some kind of error brought about with how I installed the first driver though - I pressed next on the install wizard and installed the first one (the m-box) this way as I mis read the instructions - and then did the rest as instructed by the manual. This has lead to the others showing up in device manager and the m-box itself being displayed as an unrecognisable "Other" device which it can't find the drivers for as it doesn't know what drivers it should have.

My system summary is below if that helps - any info is much appreciated

SiSoftware Sandra

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Speed : 3.05GHz
Performance Rating : PR3357 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Internal Data Cache : 16kB Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 1MB ECC Synchronous, ATC, 8-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector

Mainboard
Bus(es) : ISA PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
MP APIC : Yes
System BIOS : Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG
Mainboard : http://www.abit.com.tw/ AW8 (Intel i955-ICH7)
Total Memory : 1GB DDR2-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : Abit Computer Corp 82955x Processor to I/O Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 203MHz (812MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 1GB DDR2-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 4x 135MHz (540MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT

Physical Storage Devices
Removable Drive : Floppy disk drive
Hard Disk : ST3160023AS (149GB)
Hard Disk : ST3300831AS (279GB)
CD-ROM/DVD : _NEC DVD+-RW ND-3450A (CD 48X Rd, 48X Wr) (DVD 6X Rd, 6X Wr)

Logical Storage Devices
1.44MB 3.5" (A:) : N/A
Windows (C:) : 49GB (42GB, 86% Free Space) (NTFS)
Data (D:) : 100GB (47GB, 47% Free Space) (NTFS)
Pro tools (E:) : 279GB (279GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS)
CD-ROM/DVD (F:) : N/A

Peripherals
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801GB USB Universal Host Controller - 27C8
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801GB USB Universal Host Controller - 27C9
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801GB USB Universal Host Controller - 27CA
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801GB USB Universal Host Controller - 27CB
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801GB USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 27CC
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Device
USB Controller/Hub : USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub : Digidesign Mbox 2 Firmware Updater
Keyboard : HID Keyboard Device
Mouse : HID-compliant mouse
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device

Printers and Faxes
Model : EPSON Stylus Photo RX420 Series (Copy 1)
Model : EPSON Stylus Photo RX420 Series

Power Management
AC Line Status : On-Line

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional (Win32 x86) 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

Network Services
Adapter : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
Adapter : Belkin 802.11g Network Adapter

Performance Tips
Tip 2546 : Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2006, 04:18 PM
Captain_Pants Captain_Pants is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,993
Default Re: Access Violation Problems

Who do you protect? Crash Bandicoot?

Me personally, J.C. Penny and Seven brand Jeans.
__________________
Ill suffer winter alone;
ten thousand miles from home...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2006, 05:14 PM
CaptainCrash CaptainCrash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Access Violation Problems

I can get Pro Tools 7 to open - but as soon as it has loaded DAE it gives the Access Violation warning. Then it wont let you do anything (including exit) without giving the Access Violation warning and declining to do as asked.

Anyone got any ideas less drastic than reinstalling window and starting again#~?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2006, 05:21 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Access Violation Problems

Running through the items in the General Troubleshooting thread wouldn't hurt (trash prefs, trash databases, etc)
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access Violation Problems AriffmaticK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-03-2012 08:42 PM
7401, access violation, memory problems jarred Decker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-22-2009 11:54 AM
more "access violation" problems dtrax 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-09-2006 05:12 PM
Access Violation problems with PTLE7 / mBOX Royal Boob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-11-2006 09:12 AM
access violation/access is denied dj_czech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-02-2001 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com