Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2018, 08:24 PM
Analog Kid Analog Kid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 136
Default Used PT license and my Avid account

Hello, I have a bit of an unusual question. I purchased a used copy of Pro Tools 12 from eBay. The seller provided me with the login credentials to the iLok account that the license is activated on (and I immediately changed the password). So far, everything looks fine - the licenses are in the account. However, the seller will not do a transfer of ownership. Because of that, I have a few questions:
  1. What would happen if I revoke Avid's access to this iLok account, sync the iLok account to my Avid account, and then re-grant Avid access to the iLok account?
  2. Have I just purchased a license that can never be updated?
  3. Does this sound like a sale that's not legit (the seller seems to have sold various other PT licenses, as well as other pro audio gear, and has 100% feedback)?
  4. Am I hosed?

Thanks in advance,

The Kid
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2018, 06:54 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,567
Default Re: Used PT license and my Avid account

You should be okay with this, but will reply via case to get more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2018, 04:04 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 162
Default Re: Used PT license and my Avid account

I thought Protools 12 licences are not transferable...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2018, 02:07 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,567
Default Re: Used PT license and my Avid account

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrackerLe View Post
I thought Protools 12 licences are not transferable...
Not transferable in iLok License Manager, but can through a Transfer of Ownership. In this case the original owner included the accounts as part of the sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok license transfer - same Avid account groove.nz Licensing & Accounts 1 04-09-2018 02:17 PM
How do I get my PT license to my AVID account? Gass n Klang Licensing & Accounts 5 05-18-2017 07:16 AM
FS: Pro Tools HD 11/10 Bundle License With iLok Account & Avid Account Jan Pasemann Buy & Sell 0 12-18-2015 06:58 AM
My License Key from Avid Account is invalid?? Zoduati 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 10-29-2009 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com