Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2006, 12:21 AM
scottgreiner scottgreiner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 878
Default Hissy Fades

Why do fade files "hiss", and volume automation fades don't? Is there some dithering, double dithering or noise shaping nonsense going on? Did I make a blunder in my preferences somewhere? Is there still a dithered and undithered mixer? Is there a "white paper" about all this stuff?

I haven't had time to hunt down the exact circumstances - doesn't seem to always happen. It could be a 16 bit session thing. I'll post back with findings.

Thanks

HD2, PT 7.1, 192, OS10.4, Dual G4 1gig.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2006, 04:53 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,536
Default Re: Hissy Fades

Quote:
Is there some dithering, double dithering or noise shaping nonsense going on?
yes. click on a fade and then press command-f. there's a check box in the dialog box.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2006, 07:23 AM
scottgreiner scottgreiner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 878
Default Re: Hissy Fades

Thanks!

Hmm... forgot about that. It doesn't really change the noise much though.

I discovered that it's a 16bit session, which I haven't done in a long time. It was sent to me as a Digital Performer 16bit session, then OMF'd to ProTools. I tried importing one of the offending 16bit tracks into a 24bit session, thus creating a 24bit version of the same file (bottom 8 bits obviously empty) - no noise in the fade!

How 'bout that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2006, 08:08 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,536
Default Re: Hissy Fades

weird, I experienced the same thing today. 16 bit session, hissy fades, convert to 24 bit hiss gone. Digi, why is this? Just curious.
drew
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2006, 09:51 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,392
Default Re: Hissy Fades

Quote:
Thanks!

Hmm... forgot about that. It doesn't really change the noise much though.

I discovered that it's a 16bit session, which I haven't done in a long time. It was sent to me as a Digital Performer 16bit session, then OMF'd to ProTools. I tried importing one of the offending 16bit tracks into a 24bit session, thus creating a 24bit version of the same file (bottom 8 bits obviously empty) - no noise in the fade!

How 'bout that.
Were the 16bit fades rendered by DP and extracted from the OMF or did PT re-create them. That could explain why the import to 24bit sounds differently because PT would make new fades. Or would PT SRC the 16bit fades? That would be pretty crazy.

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2006, 10:17 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,536
Default Re: Hissy Fades

in my case i simply did a save session copy and converted to 24bit and the hiss went away.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2006, 01:23 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,392
Default Re: Hissy Fades

Yes I know but the 16bit ones, did PT create them or did they come straight from the OMF?

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2006, 06:32 PM
Ginger Ginger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A., CA
Posts: 288
Default Re: Hissy Fades

This is interesting because lately I've been thinking the fades don't sound as good as they used to. I figured it was me, but maybe not.....?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2006, 08:06 AM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: Hissy Fades

Adding dither to a 16 bit result is going to add significantly more noise than with 24 bit. So that is why the 16 bit fades are noiser than 24 bit fades.

If you absolutely need to work in 16 bit you can always turn off the fade dither - however, an undithered process at that bit rate can result in some artifacts at low levels that you won't like (hence the dither option in the fade dialog).

I would recommend that you simply convert your session to 24 bit, as others in this thread have.

Danny Caccavo
Product Manager
Digidesign
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very hissy noise floor diondecibels Pro Tools 10 6 02-21-2013 10:23 AM
"fuzzy/hissy" playback mingustoo Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 09-30-2007 10:01 AM
Hissy music....help. lightning ad Post - Surround - Video 5 02-05-2005 11:22 AM
Hissy Pres on the 24 ajazzie ICON & C|24 2 11-23-2004 01:55 PM
Hissy Talkback mtung ICON & C|24 0 01-23-2002 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com