Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2009, 02:38 PM
stereoaction stereoaction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Default possible Bad HD or Corrupt file, any help what to do ?

New to the DUC...I have been googling and looking through here all day. I will try to explain my issue and what I have done to trouble shoot. I should also mention that I have only been using Macs for a few months.

MacBook Pro (5,1) - Core 2 Duo 2.66 GHz - 4 G Ram
OS X 10.5.8 (9L30)
pro tools LE 8.0.1

Digi 002 rack

no addition hardware or plug ins installed yet

external WD my book (studio) 1TB (connect via FW800)

MBP (PT running on system drive) --> (FW800) Ext Drive (audio drive) --> 002r (FW800 to 400 cable)

on 2 sessions I recorded over the past week, I started getting intermittent playback errors "DAE was unable to complete this operation your disk may be too slow or too fragmented. (-9073)". These were sessions with less than 10 tracks no plug ins or VI. The same day I was recording to and mixing a session with 25 track and many Plugs with no issue. The difference was that was a session recorded somewhere else where I over dubbed just a few tracks. the sessions where I am having issues, I tracked drums here (7 tracks simultaneously)

I double checked all the set up optimization steps.
I tried adjusting the DAE and buffer sizes.
CPU was barely budging.


I did find out there may be an issue with the ext. HD (which is FW800) daisy chained to the 002 being that the same bus is running and 800 and 400 device

I tried to back up the files with no luck. It seems some of the WAV files may be the issue. When I tried to move the session to another drive to trouble shoot, I would get a -37 I/O error saying it was unable to copy files.

I messed around with the session again and try to AS process or consolidate the regions that I recently did and some worked fine and others did not. They just hung up and didn't process.

SO I am thinking either some of the WAV files are corrupt or there is something funky with the WD external drive. I have run disc utility on the internal and external drive and it found no issues.

Any idea of how I might be able to salvage (or repair) the WAV since I can't seem to be able to even back them up with out the -37 error. or even get them to another drive to see if the WD External is the problem.

if it is the WAV files, could the FW 400 / 800 issue cause corruption? I was also using a combination of an apogee duet and the rest the 002R converters (which I have never done) to track the drums.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2009, 05:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,430
Default Re: possible Bad HD or Corrupt file, any help what to do ?

You could try using an adapter cable(assuming your drive has 2 FW400 ports). I refer to a cable with FW800 on one end and FW400 on the other. If the drive does not have dual FW400 ports, you could try it with the 002 in between the computer and the drive(I know DIGI recommends the other way, but this way does work). Also, try opening the session by holding the Shift key(which will disable all plugins). If you can open and play the session this way, you can consolidate and export the audio for use in a new session(on any DAW for that matter). If it DOES work with the 002 first in line, make sure you unmount the drive before shutdown.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2009, 10:00 PM
stereoaction stereoaction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: possible Bad HD or Corrupt file, any help what to do ?

thanks for the reply.

I have tries switching the order. thing is, the session WILL play, sometimes. No pluggins are even used yet.

I am trying something right now. will report back.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2009, 06:37 PM
stereoaction stereoaction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: possible Bad HD or Corrupt file, any help what to do ?

problem solved. turns out my external drive was in the initial stages of failing. thank you western digital. shant be buying another of you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.1.2.46 File Is Corrupt? snark macOS 2 04-30-2012 05:36 AM
Corrupt PT8 LE Zip File Enerjex General Discussion 7 01-04-2010 10:04 AM
Corrupt file??? Sounds Suite 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-18-2006 05:32 AM
Corrupt .pts file rusmooth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-10-2004 09:50 PM
5.3.3 zip file is corrupt. jammerbirdi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 12-27-2002 12:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com