Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2020, 08:43 AM
n2one n2one is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Rockwell/USA
Posts: 6
Default Tracks solo randomly

Tracks solo randomly. Without touching or playing anything, and/or during playback, a random track will solo. It may stay soloed until I turn it off, or sometimes it will turn back off by itself. Sometimes it will switch to another track. I have tried restarting the session, pro tools, and my Mac. Sometimes one of these restarts will fix the issue temporarily but not always. This happens so frequently I can't even listen to half of a song playing back.



MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2019)
2.3 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB
Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
2TB SSD Flash Drive
Focusrite 8i6 interface
Pro Tools 2020.11.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2020, 09:15 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: Tracks solo randomly

Did this just start happening after updating to 2020.11?
Are you sure you aren’t triggering a key command somehow?
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2020, 09:21 AM
n2one n2one is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Rockwell/USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Tracks solo randomly

Yes, it started after updating. It happens without me touching anything. As I am posting this reply, I am watching one of my guitar tracks solo on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2020, 04:45 PM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 346
Default Re: Tracks solo randomly

What happens when you turn automation off?
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Catalina, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 64 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2020.11, Slate Raven MTi2, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2020, 05:55 PM
n2one n2one is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Rockwell/USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Tracks solo randomly

Quote:
Originally Posted by climber View Post
What happens when you turn automation off?

I haven’t really done anything with automation in this session. I do have 2 aux channels set to volume. Everything else is waveform. I have not made any changes with automation though as this session only has scratch guitar and vocals so far. I’m not sure how to turn all automation off. Seems to only have different options rather than on/off.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2020, 10:39 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,346
Default Re: Tracks solo randomly

Your deets show the Eleven Rack and an MPK61. Are you using HUI to control Pro Tools from the MPK? The Eleven Rack also has some MIDI functionality I suppose could conflict.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-22-2020, 06:09 AM
n2one n2one is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Rockwell/USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Tracks solo randomly

I do not have the eleven rack connected(no drivers from Avid for Catalina) and I just ordered some S/pidf cables but still waiting on them. I do have the MPK connected but am not using it as a control per se. Although, there is an issue there as every time I open pro tools, it tells me it is unable to communicate with the MPK but it still works with plugins like SDrummer and Addictive Keys. I have removed it and reset it up in my peripherals several times to no avail.

I believe this is where the problem lies. I unplugged the MPK and the soloing stopped. I plug it back in and it starts cycling on/off again. Any ideas on how to address that and still be able to use the keyboard? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-22-2020, 07:38 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,346
Default Re: Tracks solo randomly

If you’re not using the mpk for transport control, there’s no reason to set it up in peripherals. Delete it from the peripherals window. You don’t need it here simply to use the mpk as a midi keyboard.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-22-2020, 07:51 AM
n2one n2one is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Rockwell/USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Tracks solo randomly

That seems to have fixed it. Now hopefully I won't ever need to use it for transport control again lol. I'm guessing that the MPK61 is just not fully compatible with the new pro tools as a controller. Any suggestions on a new controller?

Thanks everyone for all the help. It's really appreciated!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tracks get slowed down randomly during playback BetsyBrink Pro Tools | First Discussion 3 09-11-2020 03:38 PM
Solo 1 Track When Many Solo Tracks Exist... Sparky1 Pro Tools 12 7 03-29-2017 03:43 PM
ECv3.2 still randomly switched solo mode to "latch" Frank Kruse Artist Series 6 04-06-2015 06:28 PM
Can't Solo Tracks When Bussed To Aux Sends / Solo Safe is armed (Greyed Out) adrianrobison macOS 5 11-19-2014 06:09 PM
Protools 10: mute and solo aren't working. (Solo safe is not on any of the tracks.) charlottewrinch macOS 2 04-14-2012 06:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com