Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2014, 06:45 AM
sab123456 sab123456 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: berlin, de
Posts: 1
Default AAF/OMF Export Link to Source Media is Greyed Out

Hello,
I am trying to export an AAF or an OMF (which one does not matter for me) for continuing to work in Nuendo since the studio runs Nuendo. The audio files of my project are quite huge. Therefore, I don't want to export all audio again, but link to the files. Another reason is, that I have reduced disk space. Copying everything would not fit on the disk.
Now, when I select "Export AAF" or OMF the option "link to source media" is greyed out. I can only select to "Consolidate". Any suggestion how I could change that? Help is so much appreciated. Thanks, S
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2014, 08:43 AM
suicune suicune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: AAF/OMF Export Link to Source Media is Greyed Out

Try unchecking 'Quantise edits to frame boundaries' if it is checked. You will need to also uncheck 'Enforce Media Composer Compatibility' to make this possible.

If that doesn't work then possibly the audio files are of a type which are not suitable for AAF/OMF. Tell us:

What version of PT are you running?
What audio file type are you using (wav/aif)?
What bit depth and sample rate?
Are you using interleaved for stereo files or split mono?
__________________
M2 Studios
Wolverhampton, UK
http://www.madhat.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2015, 11:08 AM
kylepyke kylepyke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2
Default Re: AAF/OMF Export Link to Source Media is Greyed Out

I had this same problem. My issue was that I had interleaved files in my session. AAF doesn't support interleaved files.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2015, 11:57 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: AAF/OMF Export Link to Source Media is Greyed Out

Quote:
Originally Posted by kylepyke View Post
I had this same problem. My issue was that I had interleaved files in my session. AAF doesn't support interleaved files.
.. did you get an error telling you that "Interleaved" ?? or did you have to figure it out for yourself ?? i am waiting for the day that Programmers put Logical Messages to Issues .. maybe when hell starting getting a cold spell
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2015, 05:13 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Arrow Re: AAF/OMF Export Link to Source Media is Greyed Out

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
.. did you get an error telling you that "Interleaved" ?? or did you have to figure it out for yourself ?? i am waiting for the day that Programmers put Logical Messages to Issues .. maybe when hell starting getting a cold spell
This is unlikely to happen. I once had this conversation with someone at Avid (name withheld to protect the guilty), and this person said there are only two types of software on this planet that will always give you a useful error message when an error occurs.
  • Software for power plants
  • Software contracted by NASA

Clearly the stakes are much higher in those situations than they ever will be with Pro Tools.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2016, 09:17 AM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Métis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 570
Default Re: AAF/OMF Export Link to Source Media is Greyed Out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief Technician View Post
This is unlikely to happen. I once had this conversation with someone at Avid (name withheld to protect the guilty), and this person said there are only two types of software on this planet that will always give you a useful error message when an error occurs.
  • Software for power plants
  • Software contracted by NASA

Clearly the stakes are much higher in those situations than they ever will be with Pro Tools.
But they can write it in the manual!
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10, Samplitude Suite Pro X4, Wavelab 2010

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

Etc.!

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAF Link to Source Media not working PandaHouse macOS 2 03-02-2013 08:24 AM
Can't choose "Link to Source Media" mrbobb Post - Surround - Video 7 07-25-2012 02:57 PM
OMF Protools 7.3 Cannot link to source media ErockZ Post - Surround - Video 25 05-01-2007 04:12 AM
Link to source media greyed out in digitrans? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 1 09-12-2005 09:48 AM
Export Selected is Greyed Out cheerio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-21-2005 08:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com