Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2006, 05:51 PM
Jsswtpmp182 Jsswtpmp182 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 282
Default Digi002: Optical I/O Question

Hey everyone,

I'm a new user to Digidesign products, and I have a question. Before using Pro Tools, I used (and still continue to use) Cubase SX3, with a Layla 24/96 Soundcard. This is where my question comes in... The Digi002 (rack) supports up to 8 Ins of ADAT Optical; can I link the Digi002 with my Layla 24/96 using Optical cables? If not, what exactly are the optical Ins for, and how can I use them? Thanks a lot!

Jordan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2006, 07:03 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,842
Default Re: Digi002: Optical I/O Question

The Layla MIGHT work IF it can operate without being hooked up to a computer or otherwise, you would need to open some program to control the Layla(PT won't see it). The extra software running to make the layla work, might drag your cpu down to a point where it hurts(try it and let us know). Assuming you can get signal to pass thru the Layla, it might work. In any case, I doubt you could hurt anything so give it a shot. The lightpipe in is a perfect place to patch in any of several 8 channel mic pre's(Presonus Digimax, Focusrite Octopre, M-audio Octane, etc.) which would give you 16 working inputs. If you do patch anything in there, you need to set PT to SYnc to ADAT or you will get clicks and pops. Also remember the DIGI lightpipe only handles 44.1 and 48K so you can't run 96K into it. Most of us LE users are perfectly happy with 44.1 and 48 anyway.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 digi002 racks - optical clicks steveejay_1 Pro Tools 9 4 03-27-2011 02:51 AM
I'm having an optical input Problem on the Digi002 ArtNasty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 11-23-2007 02:18 PM
presonus firestaion via adat optical to digi002 sjefkevandriel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-15-2006 04:58 AM
Digi002 Optical Connection W/ Alternate Soundcard Jsswtpmp182 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-18-2006 11:51 AM
optical out on Digi002 swavek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-20-2004 12:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com