Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2004, 10:32 AM
MUSIKxDRUMR MUSIKxDRUMR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 30
Default Recording via Optical Question

Hello,

I have been triing to record from a Roland VS-1680 track recorder into my PT LE 002 via Optical cables. I basically just want to record the Roland tracks straight into PT for mixing and mastering purposes. BUT for some reason I cannot configure this to work??? So far, I've only been able to get any audio when PT is set to recieve the audio from the S/PDIF, which is only 2 tracks. But I need the Optical setting because I need 8 channels of audio.

I think it was something to do with the I/O setup and/or the clock source. I don't know if I need to set to my internal clock or the source clock? Does anyone know how to configure PT to record via Optical???


*Also, do both, in and out, Optical calbes need to be used? Right now I'm only using 1 cable... from the out of the Roland to the in on the Digi002. Thanks--
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2004, 10:40 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Recording via Optical Question

From what I've read, the optical on the 1680 is S/PDIF only, not 8 channel ADAT. You can only do 2 digital outputs at a time with it.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2004, 10:52 AM
MUSIKxDRUMR MUSIKxDRUMR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 30
Default Re: Recording via Optical Question

Wow, thats interesting. I never even thought about that posibility. I'll try the Roland Forums and see what they have to say about it. Thanks--
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADAT optical recording skirby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-18-2010 05:05 AM
Recording SPDIF and Optical modernart 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-24-2008 10:28 AM
Optical Recording S.L.R 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-06-2007 09:38 AM
recording and monitoring thru optical stickytapenrust 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-26-2004 08:11 AM
jitter in using optical recording Chaasm71 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-08-2003 12:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com