Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2015, 08:20 PM
Alexrkstr Alexrkstr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Default MacBook Pro Mid 2009 + PT 11.3 + Digi 003 - Please Help

I was running PT LE 8 and I just upgraded the following:
- Snow Leopard to Yosemite 10.10.1
- PT 11.3

Running my MacBook Pro Mid 2009 (5,5) 2.53GHz
- 4GB RAM
- Stock Hard Drive
- Recording into OWC's FireWire HD

I tried installing Protools 11.3 this weekend unsuccessfully. I was never able to get the 003 to record enable any inputs.

I am going to wipe the drive and do a fresh install of Yosemite 10.10.1, but I wanted to ask if there would be any issues with this setup since my machine is a Core 2 Duo, and not an i5 or above? Is anyone with a Core 2 Duo and similar specs running PT 11 with 003? (I did a search but I didn't find enough information)


The asks:
- Could someon please walk me through the appropriate installation of PT 11 into my machine (MBP mid 2009) running the Digi 003 console?
- If this system is not sufficient, would I be any better off upgrading the Hard Drive to a SSD and the RAM to 8GB and that solve my issues?
- Is the difference in processing between the Core 2 Duo and an i5 or i7 THAT significant to buy a new Macbook Pro?

EDIT - 6 days after working through the options

I decided to keep my MacBook Pro 5,5 with the Core 2 Duo and upgrade the RAM to 8GB and Hard Drive to an SSD. Both products, I purchased from OWC. Everything is working great on both, Mountain Lion and Snow Leopard. I partitioned my hard drive to be able to run both operating systems.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 9,1 mid-2012 15in 2.6HGz i7, 16GB RAM, OS 10.12.1 | OWC 320GB FW400 7200rpm
Digi 003 | PT 12.4

Last edited by Alexrkstr; 01-18-2015 at 05:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2015, 08:32 PM
Alexrkstr Alexrkstr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Default Digi 003 Console with Retina Macbook Pros?

I can't seem to get the following combination to work:
- MacBook Pro mid 2009 (5,5)
- Digi 003 Console
- Yosemite 10.10.1
- ProTools 11.3

Is there someone here who could please confirm or deny if this is a plausible setup? I realize that Avid has stated that Core 2 Duo machines are not supported or qualified for PT 11, however, if I can save myself from spending an extra $1,300 because my setup is not supported that would be great.

Could anyone please recommend a solution?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 9,1 mid-2012 15in 2.6HGz i7, 16GB RAM, OS 10.12.1 | OWC 320GB FW400 7200rpm
Digi 003 | PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2015, 08:34 PM
rau12oaks rau12oaks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 15
Default Re: MacBook Pro Mid 2009 + PT 11.3 + Digi 003 - Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrkstr View Post
I was running PT LE 8 and I just upgraded the following:
- Snow Leopard to Yosemite 10.10.1
- PT 11.3

Running my MacBook Pro Mid 2009 (5,5) 2.53GHz
- 4GB RAM
- Stock Hard Drive
- Recording into OWC's FireWire HD

I tried installing Protools 11.3 this weekend unsuccessfully. I was never able to get the 003 to record enable any inputs.

I am going to wipe the drive and do a fresh install of Yosemite 10.10.1, but I wanted to ask if there would be any issues with this setup since my machine is a Core 2 Duo, and not an i5 or above? Is anyone with a Core 2 Duo and similar specs running PT 11 with 003? (I did a search but I didn't find enough information)


The asks:
- Could someon please walk me through the appropriate installation of PT 11 into my machine (MBP mid 2009) running the Digi 003 console?
- If this system is not sufficient, would I be any better off upgrading the Hard Drive to a SSD and the RAM to 8GB and that solve my issues?
- Is the difference in processing between the Core 2 Duo and an i5 or i7 THAT significant to buy a new Macbook Pro?
Make sure you download and install the correct driver to your computer for the 003.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...rue&popup=true
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2015, 08:37 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Digi 003 Console with Retina Macbook Pros?

Not working how?

Core 2 Duo CPUs are wimpy

rolling your OS back to 10.8 and running PT 10 would be your best move, short of a new i7 machine
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2015, 08:50 PM
Alexrkstr Alexrkstr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Default Re: MacBook Pro Mid 2009 + PT 11.3 + Digi 003 - Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by rau12oaks View Post
Make sure you download and install the correct driver to your computer for the 003.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...rue&popup=true
Thanks, rau12oaks. I did and it didn't work. Output only, no inputs, and the system was being overloaded and I received a series of alarms saying it ran out of CPU power and something else about native plug ins.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 9,1 mid-2012 15in 2.6HGz i7, 16GB RAM, OS 10.12.1 | OWC 320GB FW400 7200rpm
Digi 003 | PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2015, 08:56 PM
Alexrkstr Alexrkstr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Default Re: Digi 003 Console with Retina Macbook Pros?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
Not working how?

Core 2 Duo CPUs are wimpy

rolling your OS back to 10.8 and running PT 10 would be your best move, short of a new i7 machine
Not working as in the following:
- Running a 3 track session with only one plug-in per track (compressors) the system gave me a CPU overload error, but it wasn't consistent - when I ran it a few times it wouldn't be overloaded in the same section. I shut down all apps running in parallel (e.g., iMessages)
- the first few times PT 11 loaded without a problem, after the 2nd and 3rd try, PT 11 didn't load and I had to restart the machine.

Can you please elaborate on "wimpy"? PT 11 won't run? Is there absolutely no hope that I can make this work? Is there a set of parameters that at a maximum it would run (e.g., 7 tracks with at most 2 plug ins and a bus plug in?)
Can I download PT 10 since I bought PT 11? In that case, I would have to re-install Snow Leopard, correct?

My other option is buying a mid 2012 i7 with firewire so that my 003 actually works, and even so I'm not sure if PT 11 would?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 9,1 mid-2012 15in 2.6HGz i7, 16GB RAM, OS 10.12.1 | OWC 320GB FW400 7200rpm
Digi 003 | PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2015, 10:52 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: MacBook Pro Mid 2009 + PT 11.3 + Digi 003 - Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrkstr View Post
Running my MacBook Pro Mid 2009 (5,5) 2.53GHz
- 4GB RAM
- Stock Hard Drive
- Recording into OWC's FireWire HD
Unfortunately this is really probably not the fitting machine for PT11+Yosemite anymore.
What´s definitely a problem are the 4GB Ram, which are definitely not enough for PT11+
Yosemite as well as the slow original 5400rpm OS hard drive.
The external FW drive should be no problem as long as it is a 7200rpm drive or faster as,
again, a 5400rpm would be too slow for any PT drive.

Finally the Core 2 Duo probably also will not be powerful enough to run a reliable, really
well working PT11 system as even some of the older i5 processor machines got problems
with the all latest stuff.
Unlike more recent i5 computers which obviously do work even if PT11 actually requires
an i7 Quad Core + to run perfectly well.

Fact is what did work well with PTLE8+Snow Leopard will not do the same way with 11+
Yosemite. I know LE8+Snow Leopard+003R quite well and it for sure was no problem with
the set up you had used as it was a 32bit system (which could not use more than 4GB Ram)
and all components were fitting well.

For PT11+Yosemite however you will need more power, more speed and more recent
technical components as a whole.
Even the 003 could become a problem finally just because being too old, kinda legacy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrkstr View Post
I was never able to get the 003 to record enable any inputs.
As to the 003 Avid has released a driver for Yosemite for this unit anyway but actually
there had been many users who could not get it to work with Mavericks anymore.
Anyway you may try it out (as theoretically there is a appropriate driver available) when you
may have made your computer ready power wise, or, better, got another more recent one.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=361983

I personally would really recommend to get a new computer rather than to pour even
more money into your Core 2 Duo. You would need to get 8GB Ram at least, 16GB Ram would
be definitely recommended as well as a faster OS drive.
And even then the processor probably will not work really well with Pro Tools 11+Yosemite.

So
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrkstr View Post
If this system is not sufficient, would I be any better off upgrading the Hard Drive to a SSD and the RAM to 8GB and that solve my issues?
Definitely you would need to upgrade it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrkstr View Post
Is the difference in processing between the Core 2 Duo and an i5 or i7 THAT significant ?
Unfortunately the answer is yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrkstr View Post
...to buy a new Macbook Pro?
IMO this would be the only variant which would make sense finally.

And you better may even prepare yourself for the possibility that you may have to upgrade to
another audio interface as well.
But as mentioned before, when the computer system will be ready once you may try out the
Yosemite driver for the 003 once again. Maybe you will be lucky and you still will be able to
use it for a certain amount of time.
You know, Avid have not released any Yosemite driver for the complete MBox 2/002 series anymore,
probably with the next Mac OS X release they will skip the MBox 3/003 series as well.
Even more because the interfaces of the 3 series have not been working really well with Mavericks
and Yosemite anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrkstr View Post
Output only, no inputs, and the system was being overloaded and I received a series of alarms saying it ran out of CPU power and something else about native plug ins.
There were many users who did have serious issues which couldn´t get solved.
Just for you to know some background.

Finally, I personally think it could make sense to sell your system as a complete, well working Pro Tools
LE8 recording system and get yourself a new more recent computer as well as a modern audio interface.

Just as a suggestion, it´s of course all up to you.

Sorry that I can´t provide you with better news.


Anyway all the best to you,


VRW




Mac Mini i7Quad, 16GB Ram, MBP Mid 2012 2,5GHz i5, 16GB Ram, Mac OSX 10.10.1 Yosemite, Apogee Quartet+Duet 2
Genelec Active, Yamaha NS10, Pro Tools 11.3, Logic 10.0.7, Waves, MCDSP, Duende Native, HOFA, IK Multimedia, NI etc.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2015, 11:35 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Digi 003 Console with Retina Macbook Pros?

if you equate CPU power to car engine power
Xenon = big block V8 6L+
i7 = small block V8 ~5L
i5 = V6 3L
i3 = 4C ~2.2L
Core Duo = 4C <1.3L
now put all those engines in the same 1 Ton truck frame, what's going to work best? the V8s

yes 11 gives you a co-license for 10 and access to download the 10 installer(s)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-2015, 07:26 AM
Alexrkstr Alexrkstr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Default Re: MacBook Pro Mid 2009 + PT 11.3 + Digi 003 - Please Help

VRW, thanks for the thoughtful response. A few questions though.

Sounds like a the Core 2 Duo with my present setup is a definite no. So I will move on to ask about the following alternatives I'm considering:

Option 1: 003 + PT11 + MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo upgraded to SSD and 8GB RAM
By upgrading the speed at which the processor accesses the HDD and the RAM I would get a significant performance. The key question is if this performance gain is enough to run PT 11 with my 003.

Option 2: 003 + PT10 + MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo upgraded to SSD and 8GB RAM
Is there someone here who can confirm that PT10 is 32 bit and that it would work with Snow Leopard (I would have to revert back to the old OS on my Mac).

Option 3: 003 + PT11 + MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 8GB
My biggest question here is whether or not the FireWire interface would be a problem. I see that the current I/O options include USB interfaces which are SLOWER than the FireWire option. These are not USB 3.0 by the way (e.g., Eleven rack). Hence, I ask why would the 003 be outdated if a USB interface is approved and the 003 is a FireWire interface capable of almost twice the speed of a USB.

Bottom line is that it's really hard to let go of the 003 since it's so practical as an interface and a mixer board. If it's allegedly approved, what would be the best setup to make this work?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 9,1 mid-2012 15in 2.6HGz i7, 16GB RAM, OS 10.12.1 | OWC 320GB FW400 7200rpm
Digi 003 | PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-12-2015, 07:31 AM
Alexrkstr Alexrkstr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Default Re: Digi 003 Console with Retina Macbook Pros?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
if you equate CPU power to car engine power
Xenon = big block V8 6L+
i7 = small block V8 ~5L
i5 = V6 3L
i3 = 4C ~2.2L
Core Duo = 4C <1.3L
now put all those engines in the same 1 Ton truck frame, what's going to work best? the V8s

yes 11 gives you a co-license for 10 and access to download the 10 installer(s)
Thanks for the analogy... I realize there is a hierarchy in terms of processors and capabilities. Could you please help with these questions:
1) The question is whether or not I can run PT 11 with my Core 2 Duo if I upgrade to a SSD and 8GB RAM or is this wasting money?
2) My other option is buying a mid 2012 i7 with SSD and 8GB RAM that still has a firewire port so that my 003 actually works, and even so I'm not sure if PT 11 would?
3) If I roll back to OS 10.8 (Snow Leopard), would the Core 2 Duo upgraded to a SSD and 8GB RAM be enough to run flawlessly? Is PT 10 32-bit? And what would be the biggest thing I'd be missing from PT 11?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 9,1 mid-2012 15in 2.6HGz i7, 16GB RAM, OS 10.12.1 | OWC 320GB FW400 7200rpm
Digi 003 | PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox 2 Pro Issue with MacBook Pro Mid 2009 on Mavericks 10.9.3. Bay Araya 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-20-2014 12:09 PM
Pro Tools 11 With MacBook Pro 2009 SoulBlessed macOS 4 11-27-2013 12:34 PM
Squeezing ALL juice of A MacBook, 13" early 2009 Zergei Tips & Tricks 1 08-26-2013 01:19 PM
2009 Quad or 2009 8-Core Nehalem? psmworld Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-08-2010 03:18 AM
Which Macbook - Mid 2009 Macbook 13" or Mid 2009 Macbook Pro 13"? Mattitude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 06-21-2009 07:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com