Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-15-2010, 02:07 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,875
Default Re: Moving to Reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeyBwah View Post
I'm just curious how many PT users have either...

a)switched to Reaper as primary DAW

b)installed Reaper as secondary DAW

c)installed Reaper as a backup plan in case PT goes south

d)are planning to give Reaper a try.

I know a lot of DUCers are running Reaper, but I wanted to get a better idea of just how many people have switched or are packing their things slowly...

This thread might help AVID understand that LOYALTY GOES BOTH WAYS.

But more importantly, I think people would be interested to know there are other options other than proprietary Apple Logic or even high priced DAWs.

For anyone who doesn't know what Reaper is...

http://www.reaper.fm

I'm a "b", until I'm more comfortable and able on Reaper that is.
At this point it's only a "b". I'm still trying to be optimistic about the future of PT.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-15-2010, 02:13 PM
DeyBwah DeyBwah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 560
Default Re: Moving to Reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
At this point it's only a "b". I'm still trying to be optimistic about the future of PT.
Can you imagine your studio using Reaper as it's primary DAW though in an alternate Twilight Zone reality?
__________________
"One should not pursue goals that are easily achieved. One must develop an instinct for what one can just barely achieve through one's greatest efforts."
-Albert Einstein

Windows 7 - Reaper 3 - Lynx Aurora 16 - RME HDSPe AES - DigiMax FS - Eureka - Axiom Pro - Yamaha HS80Ms + HS10W Sub
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-15-2010, 03:04 PM
DanoWpg DanoWpg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 131
Default Re: Moving to Reaper?

I'm at D...sounds and looks interesting and will probably try the demo.

I'm already using Logic 8 for some live to 2 track recording with an Apogee Duet.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-15-2010, 03:12 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,535
Default Re: Moving to Reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
...I'm still trying to be optimistic about the future of PT.
It's probably safe to say most of us are. I do ask myself why at times though.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-15-2010, 03:29 PM
DeyBwah DeyBwah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 560
Default Re: Moving to Reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
It's probably safe to say most of us are. I do ask myself why at times though.

Shane
+1

I don't know about anyone else, but I for one don't like putting "effort" towards being loyal to something. That kind of thing should just happen naturally because it attracts you.

And there is nothing attractive about AVID at this point for too many reasons to list. (they've been listed already a thousand times, probably not exaggerating at this point)
__________________
"One should not pursue goals that are easily achieved. One must develop an instinct for what one can just barely achieve through one's greatest efforts."
-Albert Einstein

Windows 7 - Reaper 3 - Lynx Aurora 16 - RME HDSPe AES - DigiMax FS - Eureka - Axiom Pro - Yamaha HS80Ms + HS10W Sub
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-15-2010, 03:46 PM
jamesjeunes jamesjeunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: Moving to Reaper?

firmly in the a) category. I just made a record using PT 8 LE for the 1st half, and Reaper for the 2nd half. PT got me so pissed I just had to make the change. The first couple of weeks were brutal but now PT seems so sluggish and counter intuitive in comparison.

Listening to the record now I can't tell what was recorded on which DAW. I just remember that working in Reaper took me about half the time because it never crashed - plus I could happily use VIs like Play or anything NI without the sky falling in. Going back and mixing the PTLE tracks after using Reaper absolutely sealed the deal.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-15-2010, 03:50 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Moving to Reaper?

It's not my primary DAW... yet. I'm over the learning curve for basic use and growing more comfortable all the time. Very impressive.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-15-2010, 03:54 PM
MrJoshua MrJoshua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 267
Default Re: Moving to Reaper?

I downloaded it yesterday. Will be installing it tonight and trying it for the first time. Sigh. I'm not looking forward to a learning curve, but I'm asking myself more and more why I'm sticking with a software platform that intentionally limits itself. Even though I rarely run up against those limits, it's still silly to have them.
__________________
Joshua L.
Decatur, AL
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-15-2010, 04:27 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,535
Default Re: Moving to Reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMS40 View Post
I'm over the learning curve for basic use and growing more comfortable all the time. Very impressive.
I've been working on this learning curve issue to make it pretty much effortless with a lot of customization for those long time die hard PT users. Even if one uses both like myself, going back and forth between both apps is a joy when the shortcuts and menus are the same. The UI I'm doing for fun.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-15-2010, 04:47 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Moving to Reaper?

Actually, my primary platform has been Nubase for several years. So I come at Rea from a mixed background. Your Selection FR is very Steiny and I'm all for it. Do you ever sleep?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving audio region without moving automation? tokolosh Post - Surround - Video 6 04-09-2014 06:11 AM
Reaper 4 in Protools Help.. egrideout macOS 7 12-23-2011 07:17 AM
If you're moving to Reaper get on with it! rqstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 32 04-04-2010 03:44 PM
Reaper! thats a bit embarassing! Gravyblue General Discussion 78 10-26-2009 02:12 PM
Reaper and Pro Tools 8? jebwick General Discussion 50 09-23-2009 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com