Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #251  
Old 06-03-2009, 06:48 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,871
Default Re: Protools LE and the fight of its life?

Originally Posted by kbruff
They are a direct response to the lackings of other high inertial (slow changing) DAWS, which completely fail to respond to the ever changing world of music creation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Did someone yell "Iceberg"
Or Glacier.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:21 AM
Filmusic Filmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 516
Default Re: Protools LE and the fight of its life?

Reason (and now Reason version 5 called 'Record'...hum...trickey marketing going on here folks...very trickey indeed) is rather an odd beast.

I find that it handles an amazing number of tracks...so really tons of complex material can be laid down without any real fear of cpu limitaions....certainly not the case with PT LE (I love PT and need it for my video work so I'm not trolloing!!!) but Reason is rather simply incredible at what it does.(a very very quick schetch pad)

Self contained (at the insiration level) says it all..least from my humble opinion...cept for that no audio recording limitation...until now (or rather Sept 9) with Record on the horizon.

everthing I do in reason rewires into PT for audio recording and final mix down...cause PT is still my preferred system for completing a tune...! I bring Reason in as a stero pair, ditch the rex drums and then add strike and velvet (as well as any other VST) then record my vocals and guitar through PT - done.

a perfect companion for PT...most everything of substance has a place...side by side

food for thought

Cheers
S
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 06-04-2009, 05:11 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,217
Default Re: Protools LE and the fight of its life?

^^^^ Filmusic.
I am not familiar with rewiring Reason into Protools, although i was aware that you can bring in the tracks from Reason.
Could you please explain a little more regarding this.
I am trying to understand how you eliminate the Rex drums if you brought it into Protools as a Stereo pair ( i am assuming it is like a stereo sub mix with other instruments Subs, Maelstrom etc)
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 06-06-2009, 08:01 PM
Filmusic Filmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 516
Default Re: Protools LE and the fight of its life?

Hi,

There is a very solid explanation in the PTLE owners manual (I could not explain things with any greater accuracy)...so please give it a read - if you are still having any trouble we can skype and I can walk you through it.)

PTLE comes with Reason adapted...so right from the get-go Digidesign is saying this is a good fit!

Anywho...I compose in Reason (about 30% of the time) cause it's really really fast. I can jam tons of parts together quickly... then I bring Reason into PT by way of rewire - then I go back to reason and mute my drum tracks...then I add Strike (usuall Velvet!) gtr and vocals.

I could mute my drums prior to rewiring into PT...but sometimes if I'm going for a guitar part I like to have a beat going - beats a freaking metronome ...hands down...

It's a strong work flow....I do the same with Reasin into Live as well.

Reason fails with drums (IMHO) as all they give you is a few devices capable of playing back Rex files...while Strike is 'smart' check it out - I swear buy it.

It will be interesting to see if Record offers drag and drop rex files...if so...then using mutiple rex files EASILY will add value ...cause then programs like drumcore (which can export Rex files) will make staying within Props a reality...now onto thay VST issue with Record...ha ha...there's always a something missing from brilliance..

I hope this was of some help.

Cheers
Stephen
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 06-07-2009, 03:52 AM
kelldammit kelldammit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Default Re: Protools LE and the fight of its life?

3.02 is up.
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 06-07-2009, 07:48 AM
kbruff kbruff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 454
Default Re: Protools LE and the fight of its life?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kelldammit View Post
3.02 is up.
wow these guys are good, very detailed bug fixes - man this software is working so nicely!
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 06-07-2009, 08:10 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Protools LE and the fight of its life?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Filmusic View Post
Hi,


Reason fails with drums (IMHO) as all they give you is a few devices capable of playing back Rex files...while Strike is 'smart' check it out - I swear buy it.

It will be interesting to see if Record offers drag and drop rex files...if so...then using mutiple rex files EASILY will add value ...cause then programs like drumcore (which can export Rex files) will make staying within Props a reality...now onto thay VST issue with Record...ha ha...there's always a something missing from brilliance..

Cheers
Stephen
i really would not compare reason rex files and strike in the same sentence. completely different sport propellerhead as being the "inventor" of rex files (for cubase oddly enough) i think did a perfect job for playing back rex files with the rex player. assigning each slice to a keyboard key automatically is genious imo. simple pitch control, very basic. but that is basically all it is, not an actual drum kit player.

the reason drum kits refill i always thought it sounded great and used it TONS until i got heavy into bfd a few years back. sound wise i think drum kits smokes strike hands down but was of course limited to nnxt and your knowledge of manipulating midi.

strike is built for nothing but playing drums. so control of groove, kit pieces, "feel" control of mics, just more drummer oriented things. but strike closing off its sound bank to any "outside" samples is the biggest mistake they made and HUGE mistake at that.

bfd 2 and strike would be a logical comparison, though i am not getting into it here......
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:52 PM
Wayne Dawkins Wayne Dawkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 134
Red face Re: Protools LE and the fight of its life?

People complain so much about Pro tools not being an open platform for all the audio interfaces. I can't see this really taking off like they dreamt. Owners of renown audio plugs will not be able to load them in Record! Big problem. Plus they like to think small and tiny. It doesn't take long to get tired of mousing around that mixer. No endorsement fron SSL. Nice move. If Samplitude did this with their mixer i would see this being a potential competitor for pro tools le. POTENTIAL !!! I see all these other daws always trying to dethrone the King and always seem to miss the very basics. That is what being malicious does. It clouds the mind. Great concept though i give them that. I love how the dongle operate. This reminds me of the fruityloops and reason wars...

http://www.digstation.com/ArtistAlbu...=WayneDawkins2
http://cdbaby.com/cd/..WayneDawkins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 8 Has Changed my Life Here's why: NuBus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 12-10-2009 05:56 PM
ProTools saved my life... Again! Neps General Discussion 0 08-14-2008 04:13 AM
protools 6.4 bugs that make my life hell lafilmsound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-09-2004 12:45 AM
MAC vs PC... FIGHT ! blashol 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 01-09-2003 03:45 PM
Fight for the Pre amps! ixnys Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-25-2002 03:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com