Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2019, 08:47 PM
chadm20@att.net chadm20@att.net is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default 2019.6 freezes every 5 or so seconds

I've been running 2019.6 on an Mbox2 on a new beefed up PC Quad I7-7700 CPU, 16 GB RAM, all SSD drives 1 for the OS another for data and it worked like a charm, was so much faster than ever before but overnight it went down the drain. Worked great last night and today whatever I do it freezes every 5 seconds or so for roughly a second, the counters stop and the scroll line stops, Audio continues usually but sometimes it just stops. It's almost unusable now. No new hardware or software installed in the last couple of months so it's out of the blue. Anyone else seeing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2019, 10:26 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: 2019.6 freezes every 5 or so seconds

What troubleshooting/optimizations have you done so far?
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2019, 06:12 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 238
Default Re: 2019.6 freezes every 5 or so seconds

Quote:
Originally Posted by chadm20@att.net View Post
I've been running 2019.6 on an Mbox2 on a new beefed up PC Quad I7-7700 CPU, 16 GB RAM, all SSD drives 1 for the OS another for data and it worked like a charm, was so much faster than ever before but overnight it went down the drain. Worked great last night and today whatever I do it freezes every 5 seconds or so for roughly a second, the counters stop and the scroll line stops, Audio continues usually but sometimes it just stops. It's almost unusable now. No new hardware or software installed in the last couple of months so it's out of the blue. Anyone else seeing this?
I'm not a PC guy but it sounds like some other PC/OS process is either spiking the CPU or accessing the disk. I get a similar thing on my Mac if I forget to delay the two backup processes I run while using Pro Tools.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2019, 06:35 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,089
Default Re: 2019.6 freezes every 5 or so seconds

Quote:
Originally Posted by chadm20@att.net View Post
I've been running 2019.6 on an Mbox2
Hi, welcome to the community.

You do realise your interface is unsupported on 2019.6, don't you? Its latest Windows drivers are from 2011 and support Windows 7/8 not W10

As said, please tell us what troubleshooting / optimization you have already done, also take a look at the Help Us Help You document linked on the forum header.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2019, 07:24 AM
chadm20@att.net chadm20@att.net is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: 2019.6 freezes every 5 or so seconds

I understand the interface is not supported but it worked fine for 3 months and then this? The drivers are 2013 not 2011 but still old.

I uninstalled PT, reinstalled, no change. I run it with nothing else running, no change.

I did all the optimizations in the online AVID writeup and still the same.

Guess it's time for a new interface unless someone comes up with the magic wand.

Chad McManus
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2019, 10:22 AM
chadm20@att.net chadm20@att.net is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: 2019.6 freezes every 5 or so seconds

Found the issue, thanks for the responses. I said I didn't install anything but I was wrong I had a cassette to USB device for recording tapes to MP3 using Audacity. I don't think Audacity was the issue because it's still installed and all is well but I removed the USB PNP entry in device manage that was created when I plugged the cassette unit in and now all is well. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2019, 07:49 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,958
Default Re: 2019.6 freezes every 5 or so seconds

Quote:
Originally Posted by chadm20@att.net View Post
Found the issue, thanks for the responses. I said I didn't install anything but I was wrong I had a cassette to USB device for recording tapes to MP3 using Audacity. I don't think Audacity was the issue because it's still installed and all is well but I removed the USB PNP entry in device manage that was created when I plugged the cassette unit in and now all is well. Thanks again.
Great. Thanks for coming back and explaining your solution.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 2019.6 HDX Recording freezes but System and Software stay responsive Flo B Windows 0 07-19-2019 08:16 AM
OLEDs only show fader values for 1-2 seconds, then jump back to track names 2019.5 yoerik Pro Tools | S3 3 06-10-2019 10:59 AM
Pro Tools 11 Saving Freezes for 30 seconds JonMiller Windows 43 12-18-2014 01:34 PM
session "freezes" for a few seconds when I hit the record button Reinaldes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-23-2009 08:26 PM
6.1 freezes appx 20 seconds into record mode MrShayne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-03-2003 07:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com