Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2012, 06:14 PM
animas3D animas3D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Default Question about HW Buffer Size

Hello, I got Pro Tools 10 and I am using it with a Lexicon Alpha audio interface.

When I open Playback Engine in the Setup menu, I get a list of different HW Buffer sizes such as 64, 128, 512 and 1,024.

I noticed that the lower sizes give less latency when recording, however when I set it to 512 and clicked Minimize additional I/O latency, that seemed to remove the latency as well (without clicking it, I could hear latency at 512).

I would appreciate any thoughts about the right setting for HW buffer in the Playback setting dialogue. What should I set it at and leave it at, a low latency or a high one with the check box checked?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2012, 06:46 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,787
Default Re: Question about HW Buffer Size

not something you just leave. typically 64-128 to track and 512-1024 to mix. these are variable depending on your computer power. if you can leave your machine at lower buffers do it, but most people will switch back and forth for their needs.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2012, 08:23 PM
animas3D animas3D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Default Re: Question about HW Buffer Size

I see. Thank you very much, that was a big help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Buffer Size Question. philip888 Windows 2 04-11-2011 11:48 AM
H/W Buffer Size question Courvo Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 04-23-2008 09:54 PM
H/W buffer size question NickB2005 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-16-2008 08:25 AM
DAE buffer size question rschweng 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 02-08-2005 02:38 PM
Buffer Size Question... tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-04-2002 08:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com