Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2015, 11:23 AM
pnemanic pnemanic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6
Default Pro Tools Express & Kontakt Player (free) 5.5 problems...

Hi there,

I downloaded the latest version of the free Kontakt (ver 5.5) player from Native Instruments and it won't load from my plug-ins in pro tools express.

The stand-alone player works, but nothing in pro tools.
I did an un-install of Kontakt, but nothing has changed.

I know this is mostly a Native Instruments question, but I wanted to throw it out to the Avid Community in case anyone was having similar problems or had any answers.

Does this version of pro tools express support AAX plugins? Because I think this new version of Kontakt does not support RTAS anymore.


My Setup:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg iMac Specs_JPEG.jpg (42.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Pro Tools Express.jpg (41.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg M-Track_Plus_Hardware_Features.jpg (56.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2015, 11:33 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,911
Default Re: Pro Tools Express & Kontakt Player (free) 5.5 problems...

Hey

Welcome to the Community

Yes ProTools Express can use AAX plugins however ONLY AAX32 bit, Not AAX64 bit versions so make sure that you install Kontakt5 AAX32 bit version and same for any other plugin as it doesn't work with 64bit versions.

Here is a link of compatibility for NI Kontakt5 free player:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_US/faq/en436171

And RTAS works as usual on 10.3.3 of PTE

Best of Luck
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2015, 03:22 PM
pnemanic pnemanic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools Express & Kontakt Player (free) 5.5 problems...

When I open up pro tools I get this (see picture) message.

Any thoughts?

Peter
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pro Tools Plug-ins copy.jpg (36.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2015, 03:53 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,911
Default Re: Pro Tools Express & Kontakt Player (free) 5.5 problems...

Well 3 of them are paid plugins so those wouldn't work with Kontakt but if you have kontakt free player it should comeup when you make a new session and choose Native Instruments and Kontakt. Have you tried putting them in unused folder and start up PT to see if the free version is there?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2015, 04:00 PM
pnemanic pnemanic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools Express & Kontakt Player (free) 5.5 problems...

This (see picture) comes up when I select the unused option.

It's so weird. My NI "Guitar Rig" comes up in Pro Tools, but it's a .dpm plugin. It just doesn't like the AAX or something.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Unused Plugin.jpg (22.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2015, 04:15 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,911
Default Re: Pro Tools Express & Kontakt Player (free) 5.5 problems...

Hmmm Have you deleted preferences and databases as that delete plists and will force PT to reinstantiate all your plugins from start?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2015, 04:37 PM
pnemanic pnemanic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools Express & Kontakt Player (free) 5.5 problems...

No I have not.

Not sure how to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-08-2015, 05:01 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,911
Default Re: Pro Tools Express & Kontakt Player (free) 5.5 problems...

Quote:
Originally Posted by pnemanic View Post
No I have not.

Not sure how to do that.
http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...s-preferences/
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2015, 05:59 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,662
Default Re: Pro Tools Express & Kontakt Player (free) 5.5 problems...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Hey

Welcome to the Community

Yes ProTools Express can use AAX plugins however ONLY AAX32 bit, Not AAX64 bit versions so make sure that you install Kontakt5 AAX32 bit version and same for any other plugin as it doesn't work with 64bit versions.

Here is a link of compatibility for NI Kontakt5 free player:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_US/faq/en436171

And RTAS works as usual on 10.3.3 of PTE

Best of Luck
Good info. However isn't PT Express some version of PT10? If so I'd be concerned with how the op got it installed on Yosemite unless he had it on his machine before and just did an install over the top of an existing OSX install and used Migration Assisstant to move PTE over which is never a good idea.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2015, 11:05 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,911
Default Re: Pro Tools Express & Kontakt Player (free) 5.5 problems...

Thats a good point, it is only supported up to 10.8.3 or 10.8.4 but as he can get PTE to load it might be the plugin version of Kontakt player IMO of course.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using the free Kontakt 4 Player in PT's? WernerF Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-26-2010 01:31 PM
Free NI Instrument Holiday Compilation for Kontakt/Kore Player Benoni Virtual Instruments 2 12-18-2009 06:20 AM
Free NI Instrument Holiday Compilation for Kontakt/Kore Player Benoni 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-17-2009 08:14 PM
FREE NI Kontakt Player audiogeekzine Virtual Instruments 20 08-13-2009 07:54 AM
The use of GT Player Express in Pro Tools? Tomahawk General Discussion 2 11-19-2006 05:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com