Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2013, 02:38 PM
Jwillis_918 Jwillis_918 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1
Default NEED HELP Setting up Mackie Universal PRO

Need help setting up Mackie universal Pro to pro tools mp9. Getting message stating that "Pro Tools is unable to communicate with HUI. Power-cycle HUI and check its connections. Note, if HUI is not in use, update the peripherals dialog to prevent further warning. I'm using a laptop windows 8 with the M-audio Fast Track C400.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2014, 02:02 PM
Tony_Nailz Tony_Nailz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fultondale, Al
Posts: 49
Default Re: NEED HELP Setting up Mackie Universal PRO

Assuming that your unit is usb powered & you are not using any midi ports nor have any midi devices connected to it in Audio Midi Studio Setup (found under Setup>Midi>Midi Studio) try suggestion one. If you have connect your unit to your PT hardware via midi, try suggestion 2.

Suggestion 1:
Try going to Setup>Periphrals

Under midi controllers tab select:

Type: HUI
Receive From: MCU Pro
Send To: MCU Pro

Click OK.

Go to Setup>Midi>Input Devices Make sure the boxes next to your MCU Pro are checked which enable communication between the unit & PT.

Click OK. the unit should then be online and the faders should jump to the location of the faders in your mix window.

If you have the settings in your peripherals setup & your unit is still not responding, then you might need to turn to your user manual to find out how to set the unit in HUI emulation mode or google: "how to put Mackie Control Universal Pro in HUI mode" once you have done this, your unit should work, IF NOT contact Mackie.

Suggestion 2:
With MCU Pro powered off, connect the following midi cables
1. Midi Out from your MCU Pro to Midi In on your PT hardware or compatible midi interface.
2. Midi Out from your PT hardware or midi interface to Midi In on your MCU Pro

Power on the MCU Pro & Open Audio Midi Studio Setup (Setup>Midi>Midi Studio).
*Click & hold your mouse on the down arrow on your PT hardware or midi interface, drag it to the Down arrow on your MCU Pro. At this point, your should see a line connecting the two together (signifying a midi connection), let go of mouse click to complete connection.
*Click & hold your mouse on the up arrow on your MCU Pro & drag it to the up arrow on your PT hardware or midi interface. release mouse click to complete the connection.

Try going to Setup>Periphrals

Under midi controllers tab select:

Type: HUI
Receive From: MCU Pro
Send To: MCU Pro

Click OK.

Go to Setup>Midi>Input Devices Make sure the boxes next to your MCU Pro are checked which enable communication between the unit & PT.

Click OK. the unit should then be online and the faders should jump to the location of the faders in your mix window.

If you have the settings in your peripherals setup & your unit is still not responding, then you might need to turn to your user manual to find out how to set the unit in HUI emulation mode or google: "how to put Mackie Control Universal Pro in HUI mode" once you have done this, your unit should work, IF NOT contact Mackie.
__________________
A. MacPro1,1 Intel Xeon 2.66GHz Quad Core (woodcrest), 8GB ram, OSX 10.6.8 250GB (Pro Tools 8.0.5), Digi 002r, 250GB Hard Drive (system)/ 250GB Hard Drive (recording) / 250GB Hard Drive (audio + sample bank), Mackie Control Universal + MCU XT (HUI mode), MPC 1000 & M-Audio Axiom 25 (primary rig)

B. MacBook4,1 2.1GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB, 150GB HDD+ 200GB EHDD, OSX 10.6.8, Mbox 2, Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 (mobile rig for editing)
*stability 1st*

Last edited by Tony_Nailz; 01-01-2014 at 03:04 PM. Reason: Updated info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2014, 09:51 AM
joninva1 joninva1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: D.C. Metro/NoVA
Posts: 21
Default Re: NEED HELP Setting up Mackie Universal PRO

Turn off MCU Pro. Hold down "Select" Buttons for channels one and two on board, with them held down, turn the MCU Pro back on. The screen will prompt you to select what format you want to use for communication with DAW. Push down on the pan knob for channel 4 (Select HUI). It is supposed to prompt you when you start it up for the first time but mine did not and I had to reset it by holding the two select buttons on power up and then select HUI. Then it worked.
__________________
Mobile:
Macbook Pro (2012)
i7 2.6, 16GB DDR3,
2X 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD's
OSX 10.11.6


Studio:
Mac Pro (5,1 - 2012)
2 X 2.4 ghz 6 core Xeon
32 GB Ram
NVidia GTX 980ti
Samsung SSD @ 500GB
WD drives @ 4TB
WD Raptor @ 600GB (record drive)
UAD2 OCTO
OSX 10.11.6
ADAM A8X

Pro Tools HD 10/11/12 perpetual
Avid HD Native (2013)
Avid HD I/O (2013)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2016, 06:28 AM
Mass1dynamicxprod Mass1dynamicxprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Tunisia
Posts: 4
Default Re: NEED HELP Setting up Mackie Universal PRO

hi guys i work with PT 11 under win 7+universal audio APPOLO TWIN,i think to buy MCU Pro controler ist working good with PT 11!

please let me know thank u.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HDX and Mackie control universal pro Da Boss Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 02-04-2014 06:10 PM
Mackie Control Universal Pro.... KMAN385 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-30-2008 12:56 AM
ANYONE! Mackie Universal Pro!! YES OR NO!! BTGR&P 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-07-2007 02:56 PM
Mackie Control Universal??? kaotikmuzik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-09-2004 03:58 PM
Mackie Control Universal Jose A Lugo ICON & C|24 3 02-04-2004 04:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com