Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2014, 02:32 PM
viaspiaggia viaspiaggia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 396
Default remote recorder

Need a solution for remote recording, preferably under $500. H4n seems to be the way to go, right? Hr-40 gets mixed reviews, Olympus seems hacky, Marantz are pricey and lack some of the quick simplicity of the Zoom.

I know it's not the highest quality available, but it will be serviceable for getting environments, animals, cars, doors, trees, leaves, water, etc, right? This is all for elements to be used in independent features, kids TV, and DVD stuff.

Any cautions, options, or experience most appreciated!
__________________
adamfrick.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2014, 02:50 PM
philper philper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: ALbany CA USA
Posts: 982
Default Re: remote recorder

Or a used Tascam HD-P2. Better sound than any H-recorder, TC, ext sync, lots of other features.

philp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2014, 04:27 PM
viaspiaggia viaspiaggia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 396
Default Re: remote recorder

interesting. for most of what I do I would rather have the 4-track option (a shotgun plus the internal mics) that the time code and such.

Anyone used the Tascam DR-40 (which is what I meant when I said HR-40 in my original post)? Like I said reviews are somewhat mixed, would love some more opinions.

Thanks
__________________
adamfrick.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2014, 04:35 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: remote recorder

Why not hire and use he best gear ?
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2014, 05:10 AM
fmilian's Avatar
fmilian fmilian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bucharest / Romania
Posts: 42
Default Re: remote recorder

I use at work, for live recording, the H4N Zoom.
We are recording 2 lavalier mics, and as boom the internal X/Y mics.
We use for sync the Marker Tablet (or clapping hands when we forgot it) :)
Recording in 24bit / 48KHz on 4 channels.
I set the inputs first, then I use a long stander to put up or wherever I need to, the H4N (as boom), and use the remote (sometimes, yes, the remote cable is a little shorter).
The quality is excelent.
Good dynamics and with the windscreen, it does a good job as boom mic.
The only problem I had, was with some SD Card. Sometimes it didn't see it right. But the card was the problem, not the H4N.
I record live voices for a Car Show, so sometimes I need to let the recorder hidden in the backsit of a car, and it takes a little trumble trouble :)
I found a way to make a clamp, and attach it to the H4N, to make it more stable in the cars. Still, sometimes it jumps and find it laying under the driver chair.
after about a year, I think it is resistent. It gets some little scratches on the surface, but it still doing a good job.
The most usefull thing I appreciate at it, is the level monitoring. It is fast and real. If I see the level as -4dB, -6dB, it IS that level.
I love this device, it makes my job easier.
__________________
Florin Milian
OS X 10.9 / Mac Pro Early 2009 / 12GB Ram / Protools HD 11 with HD Omni/Native Core.
PC Intel Quad Core / Protools LE 8.0.3 / Digi Rack 003+ / Win7-64
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2014, 09:43 AM
signoaudiodesign signoaudiodesign is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 35
Default Re: remote recorder

It's a good temporary solution for recording things with some level but not for ambiances. When your budget permits you, add an SD MixPre-D and a good shotgun. Have a good day.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2014, 03:49 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: remote recorder

the MixPre is not a recorder
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-09-2014, 09:08 AM
signoaudiodesign signoaudiodesign is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 35
Default Re: remote recorder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
the MixPre is not a recorder
of course... add a MixPre to the H4n.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-10-2014, 10:44 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,253
Default Re: remote recorder

Quote:
Originally Posted by signoaudiodesign View Post
of course... add a MixPre to the H4n.
Zoom has better mic pres, than the SOund Devices.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-11-2014, 01:12 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: remote recorder

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Zoom has better mic pres, than the SOund Devices.
hell it does, Zooms are noisy garbage pres
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone had any luck using remote desk top to remote control PT? Fullsound Recording Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 10-14-2008 04:44 PM
Protools LE Remote ... I mean Really Remote ! fifty8th1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-26-2005 05:52 AM
best mp3 recorder that does WAV? sunrise music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 11-26-2004 11:10 PM
DVD Recorder Bastiaan General Discussion 2 06-30-2002 05:58 AM
Sync with an external recorder like a Korg D16 or Roland recorder yoshi68 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-17-2001 09:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com