Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:09 PM
Tennyson Tennyson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: buffalo, ny
Posts: 10
Default Which pro tools to purchase?

Hey all, I am looking to buy pro tools but when I google it comes up with so many different versions and upgrades etc. I need some advice. I used it when i was in school and liked the interface but I have no clue which version of the software they ran.

I want something recent, but I also am looking to stay in the $200-300 range. Is there a pro tools 9 in this price range?

I am looking to do some personal recording, and eventually recording for my band. Mostly this will mean recording only one track at a time, sooo this brings me to my next question:

Which mboxes do you suggest? I would like to stay in the $100-200 range. Thanks in advance guys.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:15 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Which pro tools to purchase?

hardware come with software

your looking at about $250~300 for the cheapest new option (mBox mini w/ v8)

v9 is $600 no Avid hardware required but you need a rather new computer (something that runs Windows 7 or OSX 10.6)

There are a few retailers that have a deal for a mBox2 mini and v9 upgrade for $450ish
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:28 PM
evon evon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Which pro tools to purchase?

Hi guys, I have a question regarding PT 9. Will I be able to open and work with sessions created in pt le version 8.0.4?

dj evon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:32 PM
macmusic9 macmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Branson, MO.
Posts: 50
Default Re: Which pro tools to purchase?

yes, you will be able to open those sessions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:46 PM
Tennyson Tennyson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: buffalo, ny
Posts: 10
Default Re: Which pro tools to purchase?

someone on another forum was trying to recommend Pro Tools 9 LE. I cant find this anywhere online except as a "crossgrade." Can anyone explain this to me? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2010, 10:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: Which pro tools to purchase?

There is no such animal as PT9 LE. It is now PT9(which runs native), PT9 HD(which runs with core and accel cards) and I'm not quite sure how to fit in the new HD/Native system into all this. Its confusing for sure, but with the release of PT9, its actually simpler(no more M-Powered and no more limitations on what IO interface can be used). Meanwhile, for your budget, an Mbox2 with PT8 is close to your number and will be a great start with Pro Tools.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-16-2010, 12:33 PM
Tennyson Tennyson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: buffalo, ny
Posts: 10
Default Re: Which pro tools to purchase?

great, thanks guys. I wanted to max out my I7 processor, but I suppose I should buy what I can afford =P
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2010, 02:49 PM
drasmith drasmith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Thunder Bay,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 86
Default 002 + presonus 8 + PT9 + ??? = happy

My PT9 is ordered. I have a 002, and a presonus 8 ch. giving me 16 channels. With PT9, can I add (1) another way (ie. interface?)to get more live tracks and (2) maybe more routing options for some more sofisticated headphone mixes?
Thanks, you folks are great!
Allen
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2010, 02:55 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: 002 + presonus 8 + PT9 + ??? = happy

Quote:
Originally Posted by drasmith View Post
My PT9 is ordered. I have a 002, and a presonus 8 ch. giving me 16 channels. With PT9, can I add (1) another way (ie. interface?)to get more live tracks and (2) maybe more routing options for some more sofisticated headphone mixes?
Thanks, you folks are great!
Allen
You *can* use multiple interfaces at the same time with PT9... but there are a few conditions:

1) You must be running on a Mac. Aggregate I/O feature is for OSX only.

2) You cannot pair the 002/003 family, or any HD/TDM hardware with other interfaces. All other Avid hardware, including M-Audio, will support this however.

3) The interface must be CoreAudio compatible.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-16-2010, 03:26 PM
drasmith drasmith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Thunder Bay,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 86
Default Re: Which pro tools to purchase?

SO are you saying that I could have a 002 & a 003 together?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where do i purchase pro tools 9? Sting macOS 5 12-03-2012 09:49 AM
Pro Tools 9 purchase help. dougens Pro Tools 9 4 11-24-2010 12:11 PM
pro tools purchase badegg General Discussion 3 12-15-2009 09:36 AM
purchase of pro tools 8 dksellou 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 03-16-2009 06:54 PM
can one purchase just Pro Tools LE by itself jrbanjo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-10-2006 11:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com