Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #141  
Old 09-01-2013, 10:43 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: We need a Thunderbolt HDX system

By the way B&H photo is claiming they'll have the long optical thunderbolt cables available in the middle of September.

Currently I'm running two 10 foot cables with a Belkin thunderbolt dock in between to get my magma into the machine room which has been working perfectly.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 09-02-2013, 07:25 PM
Fooks Fooks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Waterman
Posts: 172
Default Re: We need a Thunderbolt HDX system

Here's the problem with Avid making an all in one thunderbolt solution for the new Mac Pro's. A lot of Avids "pro" customers, Chris Lord Alge, Fab DuPont, like using A/D D/A converters that aren't Avid's. If Avid were to make a HDX thunderbolt version of the 003 there wouldn't be direct connection of the Symphony I/O or Aurora converters to the processor laced pcie cards, it would most likely be connected through...ADAT. Then the people that come on here claiming they spent billions and ca-jillions of dollars on systems that are just in their house (not including the crap-illions they spent on the system where they really make the money) would bitch and moan that Avid didn't make an Aurora thunderbolt interface that is HDX compatible because ADAT is not professional enough for them and the amount of money they've spent since 1845. Cause let's forget about what is practical for awhile (that's what the president does) and look at what "looks" professional.
__________________
That is bunches of crunch!
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 09-02-2013, 08:49 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 555
Default Re: We need a Thunderbolt HDX system

No problem.......two different interfaces just like Avid has presently one with A/D D/A and one without .........

You better move out of your house.......
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 09-02-2013, 09:28 PM
kelco83's Avatar
kelco83 kelco83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: houston
Posts: 140
Default Re: We need a Thunderbolt HDX system

http://www.sonnettech.com/product/thunderbolt/


No biggie, carry on.
__________________
Intel 4770K Hackintosh 16GB 128 SSD 770 GTX PT10 11 rack
Mac mini ivy bridge i5, apogee quartet, PT10, 11 rack
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 09-02-2013, 10:58 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,553
Default Re: We need a Thunderbolt HDX system

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fooks View Post
Here's the problem with Avid making an all in one thunderbolt solution for the new Mac Pro's. A lot of Avids "pro" customers, Chris Lord Alge, Fab DuPont,.
I can't help but laugh my ass off that you just put these two in the same sentence.

One is an engineer with a huge track record and one is.....
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 09-03-2013, 07:06 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,389
Default Re: We need a Thunderbolt HDX system

Ah yes.. the new mac pro and avid in the same sentence a killer as for the two names named, there's a difference of oh say almost 30 years apart so sure one has had more time to mix/produce more records But still for a guy with only 12 years in the biz, he's landed some major name.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 09-03-2013, 04:59 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 555
Default Re: We need a Thunderbolt HDX system

Yeah, Apple and Avid in the same sentence one is making a lot of money and the other........
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 09-03-2013, 07:05 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,389
Default Re: We need a Thunderbolt HDX system

Two completely different market, and one is actually making money not because of their daw or even computers.. but because of their cell phones.. so no comparison there.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 09-03-2013, 07:56 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: We need a Thunderbolt HDX system

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
Two completely different market, and one is actually making money not because of their daw or even computers.. but because of their cell phones.. so no comparison there.
^ That.

Took Apple 4 years to make a new Mac Pro, but they'll give you a new phone to buy every year. Plus, with how proprietary the new Mac Pro is, it might as well be a glorified iPad.

I still prefer OSX for audio production, but I'm probably never going to buy another Mac at this rate. I've had a number of my friends asking me to help them build machines like mine over the last year, because Apple's current direction doesn't show signs of actually caring about the Pro market anymore.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 09-03-2013, 09:40 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 555
Default Re: We need a Thunderbolt HDX system

Typical Windows crap argument against Apple who started with computers and keeps looking forward but I guess you have Windows 8...Lol ....maybe Avid can come out with a Linux version .......Lol

When Apple releases their new MacPro which will show large quantities sold in turn help Avid sales because that's how the food chain works.

Apple knows how to make money and Avid knows how to lose money....

Avid Technology 5.41 and keeps going down.......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slimming down the PT system. Mac Mini & Thunderbolt peripherals cheney5 Post - Surround - Video 15 01-12-2014 04:57 AM
Looking for someone running an HD Native Thunderbolt system and Waves to compare with propower Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 12-14-2013 01:46 AM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 06:49 PM
Until Someone Makes a Thunderbolt Hub, Thunderbolt is a (1/2 Useless) Dead End Street relaxo Pro Tools 10 7 11-12-2012 12:43 PM
Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ Ports Barry Johns Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 08-11-2012 08:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com