Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-17-2014, 03:39 AM
fup4000 fup4000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 5
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Anyone running 10 in Yosemite ?
So is Pro Tools 10 done?
No more support?

Thanks!



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Paine View Post
Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks was released October 22, 2013.
Mavericks was officially qualified with the release of Pro Tools 11.0.3 on November 12, 2013.
__________________
FUP
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-17-2014, 04:01 AM
colourednoise colourednoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 56
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

I've seen two videos up until now of people managing to run 10.. but the menu's are greyed out until you roll over them

I'm still running PT 10.3.7 on Mavericks x.9.5 - there's still a huge amount of bugs; such as having to reload sessions every 20 minutes to regain outputs on certain tracks. There's also the odd few lock ups in sessions, but I've had that on 10 ever since it was released many moons ago.

I guess I'll download the latest copy of 10 tonight, and then do the switch to Yosemite. There's no way hell in high ground that I will be switching to PT 11. All of my favourite plug-ins I rely on for my career haven't bothered to shift to AAX, and after speaking to their developers they're all jumping out of the Avid market.

- I will give you guys an update once I've pulled the trigger tonight.
__________________
Mac: Mavericks, rMBP 15" Late 2013, i7 2.6GHz, 16GB DDR3 mem. PC: W7 Ultimate 64 bit, Intel Core i7-2700K 4.80GHz Processor Count: 8, ASUSTeK P8H77-V, 16GB Vengeance DDR3 mem, x2 XFX Radeon HD 7870 2GB DDR5, x1 Samsung SSD 830 Pro 256GB - x3 Samsung 7,200 1TB HDD's - T.C. Electronic Triple C, Presonus Studio Channel, Behringer T1953 mod, Neumann TLM 103 MT, Beyerdynamic MC840, Tascam M-164UF, Digi 002 C Surface, Asus Essence ST - PT 10, Waves 9, Serato Pitch 'n Time, Speakerphone, FR D2 & D3
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-17-2014, 04:04 AM
fup4000 fup4000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 5
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Thx
__________________
FUP
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-17-2014, 04:18 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,104
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

"All of my favourite plug-ins I rely on for my career haven't bothered to shift to AAX,"

And which plug-ins are these....?

For me 11 has been a real boom for productivity.
--
Re: Yosemite came out today.
Backed up and BU tested.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-17-2014, 05:29 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by colourednoise View Post
I'm still running PT 10.3.7 on Mavericks x.9.5 - there's still a huge amount of bugs; ....... There's also the odd few lock ups in sessions, but I've had that on 10 ever since it was released many moons ago.

I guess I'll download the latest copy of 10 tonight, and then do the switch to Yosemite.

FYI

10.3.7 working awesome and dare I say bug free in 10.8.4
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-17-2014, 05:59 AM
zoff zoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by colourednoise View Post
I've seen two videos up until now of people managing to run 10.. but the menu's are greyed out until you roll over them
I have the same problem.
I've been using Yosemite betas for a few months, the problem went away at one point, I think it was when I installed PT 10 on a Mountain Lion partition, but came back when I update a Yosemite beta. ATM I have PT 10 on a Mountain lion portion and PT 10&11 on Mavericks partition and on a Yosemite partition.
I'll report back when I find a solution.
__________________
macOS High Mojave 10.14.2
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 MacBook Pro Retina, 16 GB RAM
Pro Tools 2018.12
Apogee Duet (Firewire)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-17-2014, 07:31 AM
Ed Douglas's Avatar
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 249
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokinBaldMonkey View Post
I downloaded Yosemite and installed. After install, and on restart, the machine booted and it informed me that Pro Tools was not compatible and would be moved to an "Incompatible software folder". Then came the desktop. Looked great. PTHD11 icon still in the dock where i left it. I clicked. It ran just fine, and I'm mixing tracks on it now.
These items were moved to the "Incompatible Software" folder on the top level of the system drive; "DigidesignFireWireMIDI" and "DigiDioMidiDriver.plugin". Everything else seems intact.

Starting to play with Yosemite and ProToolsHD 11.2.1 after a full backup. So good so far. We'll see what happens when I connect my aging MBox 2 Pro on Monday....
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !

2019 i9 MacBook Pro (15,3), macOSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2019.6, Rx7 Advanced, Ozone 8 Advanced, Kontakt 6.1.1, Soundminer v4.5Pro, Spanner 3.0.5, SoundHack 0.896, EuControl 19.9.1.17, PT|Control 19.9.1.17, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 1, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 3, Apollo 8 Duo tb2, UAD-2 Satellite Quad tb2, Glyph 2TB tb3 NVMe SSD, x2 Glyph 2TB SSDs, x1 Glyph 4TB SSD, OWC tb3 Dock, OWC Thunderbay 4 28TB
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-17-2014, 07:46 AM
BGMusic BGMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 433
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Unless I get a separate machine just for surfing the web and checking email. I’m sticking with Mountain Lion which runs great.
__________________
PT 10.3.10, 12.4, Logic Pro 9.1.8 Logic Pro X 10.1, Ableton Live 9, Studio One 3.x DP 9 Sibelius 8.5 OS 10.8.5 Mac Mini with Lion Server 2.0ghz quad I7 16 gbs ram, UAD Apollo Twin . PT Mix Plus PT 6.4.1 TDM Mac OS 10.3.9 G4 450 mhz 1 gb ram, Digi 882/20. And a bunch of hard drives.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-17-2014, 10:14 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 363
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Douglas View Post
Starting to play with Yosemite and ProToolsHD 11.2.1 after a full backup. So good so far. We'll see what happens when I connect my aging MBox 2 Pro on Monday....
Just curious: if you click the green plus "maximize" button, does PT go full screen? that would make me everso happy.
__________________
my (long-term) travel system
~ Macbook Air 11" / 2gHz dual i7 / 256GB ssd / PT12.5.2 / McDSP+SoundToys / Apogee Duet ~
whole studio (+3 mics) weighs 7 lbs & mixes 24 tracks without a hiccup!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-17-2014, 10:15 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,533
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huzzam View Post
Just curious: if you click the green plus "maximize" button, does PT go full screen? that would make me everso happy.
I would bet Avid needs to write this into PT. Just a guess though.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yosemite and PT10 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 10 27 01-24-2015 02:29 PM
Hey Avid: Apple announced OSX Yosemite today 6/2/2014 Obsidian Dragon macOS 23 10-10-2014 07:20 AM
Yosemite and PT11 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 11 7 09-26-2014 04:10 PM
Project 2 on G4 Yosemite? Songdahl General Discussion 1 10-01-1999 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com