Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-16-2012, 11:23 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,157
Default Re: OSX Mountain Lion? [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep].

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC Music View Post
Actually they announced it will be ready late summer 2012... and said from here on out, a new OS every year
YES. It's now all about the "Human Experience" and not the computer. More idiot lights and less gauges which would actually tell me something:) LOL..

G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.6 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.6

Last edited by gives; 02-16-2012 at 11:24 PM. Reason: added stuff
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-17-2012, 12:19 AM
Franco1967 Franco1967 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kassel,Germany
Posts: 177
Default Re: OSX Mountain Lion? [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep].

What´s the buzz?? Avid broke every record with Pro Tools 10, since it was released only a few weeks after Lion launch. The funny thing is, that these major OS Upgrades are actually minor concerning the OS core, it only changes some peripheric or design features. It´s easier to achieve an update that runs on the new OS. Avid is not keen on putting Pro Tools to the new design thing like fullscreen mode, but only looks that the software is running and not producing more errors than the last one (what an agenda ;-)). With Mountain Lion Apple just wants your data on their servers to gain more control over you and like it is with real clouds, they disappear...:-() The cloud seems fun for non individual data, but none I know AND who has a functioning brain puts critical data in the cloud. I am sitting on my Mac Pro and work 8-10 hours producing music and then I turn it off and go to real life, so that my square yes are becoming round again...;-)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-17-2012, 12:20 AM
Franco1967 Franco1967 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kassel,Germany
Posts: 177
Default Re: OSX Mountain Lion? [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep].

square eyes I mean...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-17-2012, 04:40 AM
umalight umalight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brussels
Posts: 40
Default Re: OSX Mountain Lion? [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep].

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumzalicious View Post
agreed. Snow Leopard is where i'll most likely be staying for quite a while just because there are so many issues with Lion and Pro Tools I can only imagine yet another OS
That's wrong for me. I'm on Lion, and v 10 is v stable. Much more stable than v 9 on Snow L.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-17-2012, 05:11 AM
Franco1967 Franco1967 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kassel,Germany
Posts: 177
Default Re: OSX Mountain Lion? [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep].

Quote:
Originally Posted by umalight View Post
That's wrong for me. I'm on Lion, and v 10 is v stable. Much more stable than v 9 on Snow L.
Agree with you. Lion and PT 10 is more stabler than PT9 and SL.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-17-2012, 06:00 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default

And...considering the absolute ease of the SL to Lion upgrade (it took me 1/2 hour, including cloning my OS drive), I have no fears or worries about Mountain Lion.


Sent from my Droid Charge using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-17-2012, 09:02 AM
jorg jorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London
Posts: 91
Default Re: OSX Mountain Lion? [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep].

Steve is gone and Apple starts mocking about. Haha.
It looks more like an update with iOS features rather than a full blown new OS.
I think the main reason they are making it anew OS is so that they can charge for it. As we all know, Apple needs the cash.....

And by the way......."Mountain Lion"???!!!
Whats next? "Thunder Pussy"?
__________________
Mac Pro Nehalem 8 core 8 GB Ram
OS: 10.6.8
Pro Tools 10.0.1
RME Multiface II with Focusrite Octopre mkII
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-17-2012, 09:03 AM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 917
Default Re: OSX Mountain Lion? [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep].

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumzalicious View Post
I'm kinda upset. Apparently Mountain Lion will not be supported on Mac Pro models earlier than the 2008 model. I just hope that PT11 doesn't require Mountain Lion
So that just means that anything from '07 down won't be supported. Even though I would be included, I'm fine with it. My original MacPro released in '06 will be 6 years old this year and it's rocking running PT10. I'm figuring PT10 with HD cards and Lion will last until next year...making my Mac Pro 7 years old. (hopefully new mac pros will be released by then )

Getting 7 years out of a computer is not bad looking at the bigger picture.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-17-2012, 09:27 AM
jorg jorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London
Posts: 91
Default Re: OSX Mountain Lion? [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep].

Unless they start bring out a new Mac Pro, eventually there wont be a mac pro anymore which supports the latest OS!!!
__________________
Mac Pro Nehalem 8 core 8 GB Ram
OS: 10.6.8
Pro Tools 10.0.1
RME Multiface II with Focusrite Octopre mkII
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-17-2012, 05:33 PM
epiphone epiphone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Default Re: OSX Mountain Lion? [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep].

Hey,

I upgraded to lion and pt10 and have had cpu 170% insufficeint memory with 16 g in my imac and other error message very tedious.

So people have either stayed with leopard and or done all or some of the optimizations?

Also those of you running HD you have the memory cache functioning and native users don't.

Thx for any comments !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION DESVED Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2013 03:18 PM
lion -> mountain lion question grant howarth macOS 3 05-01-2013 01:24 PM
Lion or Mountain Lion for mid-2009 MBP with PT9 miezurecords macOS 0 03-17-2013 12:38 AM
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm macOS 9 01-11-2013 10:55 AM
Downgrade from Mountain Lion to Lion The golfer macOS 7 11-14-2012 05:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com