Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 11-28-2014, 02:43 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steved5514 View Post
Searching forums and online for MBox Pro and Pro Tools 11 with Yosemite compatibility but have not found anything other than potential preset issues. Does anyone know of MBox driver or plug in updates that are required?



Thanks!



Steve

MbP2 or MbP3?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 12-01-2014, 06:58 PM
steved5514 steved5514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: boston ma
Posts: 15
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Mbox Pro 3 with v1.3.0 drivers
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 01-01-2015, 12:11 PM
alvarogribel79@gmail.com alvarogribel79@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Hi guys, i just installed the OS Yosemite and now my pro tools 8.0.4 does not install anymore. I formated the cpu before installing the Yosemite.

Can anyone help me to resolve this problem or i will have to upgrade protools? That would be unbelievable, i would lose my investiment.

Thanks,

Alvaro
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 01-01-2015, 12:23 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvarogribel79@gmail.com View Post
Hi guys, i just installed the OS Yosemite and now my pro tools 8.0.4 does not install anymore. I formated the cpu before installing the Yosemite.

Can anyone help me to resolve this problem or i will have to upgrade protools? That would be unbelievable, i would lose my investiment.

Thanks,

Alvaro
8 will not work it's to old, your best move is to upgrade to 11
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 01-01-2015, 12:36 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvarogribel79@gmail.com View Post
I formated the cpu before installing the Yosemite.
You really can't format a CPU, that I know of anyway


Quote:
Originally Posted by alvarogribel79@gmail.com View Post
Can anyone help me to resolve this problem or i will have to upgrade protools? That would be unbelievable, i would lose my investiment.

Yep, your investment has paid for itself already, PT8 came out in 2008 or so...

8.0.4 wasn't a full installer anyway. 8.0.5 was the full installer, that an 8.0.3 iirc

Upgrade to 11 it's your best bet
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 01-01-2015, 10:02 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvarogribel79@gmail.com View Post
Hi guys, i just installed the OS Yosemite and now my pro tools 8.0.4 does not install anymore.
I really donīt wanna sound arrogant in a way but if Pro Tools is really important for you,
you should have informed yourself before upgrading the Mac OS.
Just because Pro Tools is a really sensitive software which has itīs very specific requirements
and everyone who has been using it for a while already knows that even small changes with the
OS or even the hardware, whatever, can cause issues, at least until there will be an officially
supported version released by Avid which will be made to solve such issues.

The last Mac OS Pro Tools LE8 was supported with was Mac OS 10.6.8!
You may check this out there (need to scroll down a bit)
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ility/en353149
This is what Avid writes
"Pro Tools 8.0.4 and 8.0.5 support the following Mac OS X versions, on Intel-based Macs only:
Mac OS X 10.6.1 – 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
Note: Pro Tools 8.0.4 not tested with 10.6.7 and higher
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
Not Tested: 10.5.5 - 10.5.7"

So, if you really have used it with Snow Leopard 10.6.8 until now and the actual recent Mac OS
version now is 10.10 you would have had to double check this before upgrading the OS if your old
version of Pro Tools would still work with a so much younger, later Mac OS.

If on the other hand you had been one of those very rare, lucky guys who were able to use LE8
with later versions of Mac OS successfully (later than 10.6.8), even up to Mavericks maybe (you
donīt write about it actually), then your Pro Tools investment really has paid for itself (like YYR123
already has mentioned).

Right because it actually has not been officially supported since the last version of Mac OS Snow Leopard!
You canīt blame Avid for this in that case. If you take yourself time to check the actual compatibility
of your version of Pro Tools, you always will find the dedicated info on the Avid site.
Avid always tends to be quite conservative as to the compatibility, you never will find any kinda risky
recommendation by Avid.

So, guys, if you are using Pro Tools and you intent to change anything regarding Pro Tools itself,
your Mac/Windows OS or even anything of your hardware, go to the Avid site before and check
the compatibility!


If it will work anyway without having double checked this, ok, congratulation, you are one of the lucky ones,
but if it will not, donīt blame Avid for it!

You may blame them for not working officially released/recommended stuff for sure but you canīt do it for
stuff which even isnīt meant to be working by the manufacturer themselves.

And, yes, like the others already have mentioned now thereīs only one thing you can do if you want to use
Pro Tools further on which is to upgrade to the version of Pro Tools which will be compatible with this latest
version of Mac OS (Yosemite).
Itīs still available for -$200.-, so this is actually a good time to upgrade.
http://www.sweetwater.com/feature/protools11/

But be aware of that also your audio interface you may have used with LE8 might not be compatible with Yosemite
anymore. Please, double check this too.
Avid have provided Yosemite ready drivers for the following old Avid interfaces:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=361983
As to 3rd party interfaces you may check the manufacturerīs website for itīs compatibility with Mac OS Yosemite
and to get the latest drivers.


Anyway the best of success to you,


cheers, VRW




Mac Mini i7Quad, 16GB Ram, MBP Mid 2012 2,5GHz i5, 16GB Ram, MacOS 10.10.1 Yosemite, Apogee Quartet+Duet 2
Genelec Active, Yamaha NS10, Pro Tools 11.3, Logic 10.0.7, Waves, MCDSP, Duende Native, HOFA, IK Multimedia, NI etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yosemite and PT10 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 10 27 01-24-2015 02:29 PM
Hey Avid: Apple announced OSX Yosemite today 6/2/2014 Obsidian Dragon macOS 23 10-10-2014 07:20 AM
Yosemite and PT11 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 11 7 09-26-2014 04:10 PM
Project 2 on G4 Yosemite? Songdahl General Discussion 1 10-01-1999 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com