Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-16-2006, 10:57 AM
Bodie Bodie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Thanks Nikki, I printed out the 4 basics in the Quadzilla thread and did some research at Frys (we have it here in Washington).

I've got the HD Core card, will probably add an Accel and also have the 192. So as soon as I can assemble my new PC, I'm operational...meanwhile I still cook with my Digi002r.

Suggestions and caveats appreciated. I saw Shan's list and think that's a winner. Little bit about me, I retired from Microsoft after 13 years and now work for Walt Disney for fun ;-). My studio (Make Some Noize aka MSN) is dedicated to at risk youth and teens.

Thanks gang,

Reid
__________________
i7 950, 12Gb, 3 Tb, Win7-64 and 32bit
PTHD 12.7 HDCore 1 & w/002r
Macbook Pro 4Gb, 500G, OSX 10.6.2
iMac 3.06ghz, 16Gb, 2Tb, OSX 10.6.2
Minimoog Voyager, Liberation, Taurus, Phatty
Korgs, Nords and more
Arp 2600s & Ody
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-16-2006, 11:42 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,452
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
As Shan has listed, that is a "mega power" machine, but you might find a limit on the number of HD cards you can fit. If you do not plan on expanding anytime soon (year or so), I would give that one a shot.
This board of mine was made for PT. Tons of PCI slots. It will hold a core card and two accel cards. And probably even the PCIe accel card but I dont have one to try yet.

Just to be 100% certain, I will put my demo Accel card in all the slots tonight and report back.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-16-2006, 11:55 AM
Bodie Bodie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Thanks Shane, so if I read things correctly, your system was the detail here...let me know if anything changed...I'm going down to Fry's after work tonight and will be buying parts. I tell you guys, this takes me back to 1982...buidling early PC's and PCXT's...I've built boxes over the years, but none since about 6 years ago...this is very sweet ;-).

What was your total outlay? $$$

-Tyan Tiger K8WE (S2877ANRF) Motherboard - Detailed specs here.
(Purchased from Antares Digital)
-Two Opteron 265 Dual-Core CPUs
-4G of Corsair CM72SD1024RLP-3200 (1024MB Registered DDR400, 2 Ranks)
-Two ASUS EN6600/TD/256 Video card(I needed two for some post work)
-Western Digital SATA 36G Raptor hard drive
-Western Digital SATA 74G Raptor hard drive
-Lite-On DVDRW SHW-1635S
-OCZ Powerstream 520W Power supply
-A very well ventilated generic case(I have a machine room so noise is not a problem)
__________________
i7 950, 12Gb, 3 Tb, Win7-64 and 32bit
PTHD 12.7 HDCore 1 & w/002r
Macbook Pro 4Gb, 500G, OSX 10.6.2
iMac 3.06ghz, 16Gb, 2Tb, OSX 10.6.2
Minimoog Voyager, Liberation, Taurus, Phatty
Korgs, Nords and more
Arp 2600s & Ody
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-16-2006, 12:48 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,452
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
Thanks Shane, so if I read things correctly, your system was the detail here...let me know if anything changed...I'm going down to Fry's after work tonight and will be buying parts. I tell you guys, this takes me back to 1982...buidling early PC's and PCXT's...I've built boxes over the years, but none since about 6 years ago...this is very sweet ;-).

What was your total outlay? $$$

-Tyan Tiger K8WE (S2877ANRF) Motherboard - Detailed specs here.
(Purchased from Antares Digital)
-Two Opteron 265 Dual-Core CPUs
-4G of Corsair CM72SD1024RLP-3200 (1024MB Registered DDR400, 2 Ranks)
-Two ASUS EN6600/TD/256 Video card(I needed two for some post work)
-Western Digital SATA 36G Raptor hard drive
-Western Digital SATA 74G Raptor hard drive
-Lite-On DVDRW SHW-1635S
-OCZ Powerstream 520W Power supply
-A very well ventilated generic case(I have a machine room so noise is not a problem)
Yes. That is what I have. Keep in mind that the core card is very long. I had to get a new case inwhich I could take out the bottom drive bay chassis. I got some adapters to put them in the top part of the computer where the CD/DVD burner goes. I actually prefer that now because there is alot more air flow around the drives.

Also read my first post on the quad forum regarding the addendum for plugging in the firewire cable.

Shoot me an email and I'll give you a hand with assenmbly. But I cannot help if you alter the parts list. The above system is stable and works. Bottom line.

I have had a few people bring me altered parts from the list I gave them to build their systems. I no longer do that. Many nightmares.

This is my current case.

Also keep in mind that the stock CPU fans are VERY noisy. You can grab some Zalman fans posted on the first post of my Quadzilla thread.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-16-2006, 01:05 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,452
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Also forgot to mention that this system is so new with HD that I wont really be able to torture it until another week with some huge productions. (And I'm talkin' huge)

So far, so good though.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-16-2006, 01:45 PM
Bodie Bodie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Can't email you (won't allow PM) and I don't know your email addy.

I'm reid at rlowery dot org

I'll be sticking as close as I can to your specs.

I'm struggling finding the Tyan Tiger in stock, what's the turn around from the mail order? (how long)

I'll be picking up the rest tonight at Fry's as soon as the MB shows up, I'll be ready. I note the mail order place is out of 265's as well. Is there any constraint or can I go with any Opteron that's 940 socket?

Thanks,

Bodie aka Reid
__________________
i7 950, 12Gb, 3 Tb, Win7-64 and 32bit
PTHD 12.7 HDCore 1 & w/002r
Macbook Pro 4Gb, 500G, OSX 10.6.2
iMac 3.06ghz, 16Gb, 2Tb, OSX 10.6.2
Minimoog Voyager, Liberation, Taurus, Phatty
Korgs, Nords and more
Arp 2600s & Ody
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-16-2006, 02:02 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,452
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
Can't email you (won't allow PM) and I don't know your email addy.
Click on my name for profile info.

Quote:
I'm struggling finding the Tyan Tiger in stock, what's the turn around from the mail order?

Buy it from here.


Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-16-2006, 08:14 PM
thebigshow thebigshow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 53
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

hey niki is this the ram you are talking about?? I that is the biggest problem slowing my computer down cause i bought crappy 512(20 bucks) just to get it running...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144141

A little confused in this area.............
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-16-2006, 09:26 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,359
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
hey niki is this the ram you are talking about?? I that is the biggest problem slowing my computer down cause i bought crappy 512(20 bucks) just to get it running...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144141

A little confused in this area.............
Basically, yes, that is it.
I need to correct my site, because I actually swapped that memory out to my other system, and got 2GB (4- 512M sticks) Kingston HyperX PC3200 2-2-2-5 timing RAM instead. I would only recommend it for tweakers looking to eek out some extra performance though.

It is a tough call on RAM, but not tough at the same time: simplified? Kingston HyperX PC3200 or PC3500 will perform the same. Only when one tweaks BIOS settings for RAM will anything "better" show any improvement. Therefore, IMO, not worth ANY extra cost.

Bottom line then? Buy whichever is cheaper, cause it is basically the SAME RAM. Yep, the SAME. So if Kingston HyperX PC3200 is cheaper today per stick, buy it. If PC3500 is cheaper, buy it instead. Just buy matched pairs, so as to use dual channel bussing (technobabble that means "better ).

Lastly, 1GB (2- 512M sticks) is great for a system doing mostly TDM plugs, and/or not using RTAS or VST instruments; If one were planning to use lots of RTAS plugs, and/or virtual instruments, I would suggest 2GB, 4-512M sticks.
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-16-2006, 10:07 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,452
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
...If one were planning to use lots of RTAS plugs, and/or virtual instruments, I would suggest 2GB, 4-512M sticks.
I would actually suggest 4G for that purpose after some of the things we recently discovered on my Quad thread. It applies to HD also. 2G more ram will give one a ton of more RTAS power.(If you need it of course, like us hybrid users and heavy softsynth users)

Great work Nikki. This thread will be very valuable to many.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are these pc components ok? chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 08-13-2010 12:20 PM
need help with HD components FMR_Crisis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-17-2010 06:07 PM
What components lie in the most POWERFUL native PTLE Systems? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-28-2008 08:18 AM
Will these PC components do the job hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-06-2007 09:22 PM
components rems 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-19-2001 10:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com