Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2014, 01:28 PM
Mikebender13 Mikebender13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 10
Default PTE & OS X Yosemite

Yosemite is out today... will PTE work on Yosemite? I know there is no support for Mavericks but I was able to use PTE on Mavericks.

Please let me know if anyone knows.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2014, 05:12 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

no one knows
then it may work
if you're going to live dangerously and install the new version please make a backup clone of your current system drive
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2014, 05:13 AM
Mikebender13 Mikebender13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 10
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

anyone try it yet?

I didn't take the plunge...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2014, 06:14 AM
zoff zoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 170
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikebender13 View Post
anyone try it yet?

I didn't take the plunge...
Why not install Yosemite on a separate partition and give it a try. If it doesn't work wipe the partition and move on.
__________________
macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 MacBook Pro Retina, 16 GB RAM
Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2014, 01:30 PM
lindenkillam lindenkillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

PTE is not recognizing my hardware on Yosemite. It will not start up.

Last edited by lindenkillam; 10-29-2014 at 01:33 PM. Reason: Clarify
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2014, 01:34 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,804
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by lindenkillam View Post
PTE is not recognizing my hardware on Yosemite.
Got your pre-update image backup or worse case time-machine backup handy?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2014, 02:03 PM
lindenkillam lindenkillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Got your pre-update image backup or worse case time-machine backup handy?
I do not. However, I think it has more to do with my hardware driver than Pro Tools itself, so... Hopefully they'll release a driver update for Yosemite.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-29-2014, 02:06 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,804
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

Hopefully, but don't hold your breath. And there are other PT bugs being reported on Yosemite.

And you do know that Mbox driver incompatibility was a known issue folks have been reporting.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-29-2014, 02:30 PM
lindenkillam lindenkillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Hopefully, but don't hold your breath. And there are other PT bugs being reported on Yosemite.

And you do know that Mbox driver incompatibility was a known issue folks have been reporting.
Yeah, well, it didn't occur to me that I might have problems. I upgraded through several OS X versions and merrily kept using PTE.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-13-2014, 11:19 AM
bourbeaue bourbeaue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 1
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

I saw in other posts that PT 11 works with Yosemite. Is there a series 11 version of PT Express I can upgrade to ?

thxs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro and Yosemite? joelrockstar19 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 17 03-05-2015 06:58 PM
Yosemite and PT10 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 10 27 01-24-2015 02:29 PM
Yosemite and PT11 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 11 7 09-26-2014 04:10 PM
Project 2 on G4 Yosemite? Songdahl General Discussion 1 10-01-1999 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com