Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2003, 11:39 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,768
Default MBox and Powerbook...how many tracks and plugs...

hey guys,

i have a client that wants to build a mobile system...

either PTLE and MBox or Logic and EMI...

she does composing and mixing...

will need to use softsynths...

anyone have this setup or know someone that i can call or better see it working in Los Angeles...

thanks john
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2003, 11:58 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: MBox and Powerbook...how many tracks and plugs...

I've got a 1ghz TiBook, Mbox as well as Logic w/828mkII (or sometimes I Mbox w/logic too).

I can comfortably do 16 or so track mixes with a decent amount of plugs in PT - I'm sure I could push up to 32 tracks, but proabably wouldn't get many plug-ins going. Logic runs great, haven't really pushed that to too many tracks yet, but you can't beat the soft synth integration.

What other questions have you got? I live in LA, but don't really have time to show off my rig - if you've got anything more specific, post it up here and I'll try and aswer it for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2003, 07:33 PM
Andy Caretti Andy Caretti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 72
Default Re: MBox and Powerbook...how many tracks and plugs...

I pushed a Tibook 867 to 32 track and 4 Dverb ( on PT HD 2 a single Dverb takes half a dsp slot so i think it's quite big) and QT movie on a second monitor! Great!
__________________
www.ProToolers.com
Italian Protools Users Forum
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2003, 06:40 AM
MrPT MrPT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 32
Default Re: MBox and Powerbook...how many tracks and plugs...

I running a Ti 17"1024mb , external ibm80gig firewire drive. ( 002R+ Mackie control)
I getting 32 audiotracks with 2 dverbs+2 delays on aux busses, 10-12 waves ren eqs, ren comps, with no problems.
I also use lexicon mpx1 on the spdif in/out for better reverbs and it saves CPU power for other pluggs .
Same with the M-Box .( without the LEXICON ) [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2003, 10:23 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: MBox and Powerbook...how many tracks and plugs...

thanks...anyone else...

this is for a composer...

she will have nothing but laptop, headphones, and mbox or other usb powered interface...

john
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2003, 09:15 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: MBox and Powerbook...how many tracks and plugs...

There is no comparrision to performance between Logic 6 and Protools 6. Logic vastly out performs Protools.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6086 error powerbook 1.6 2gb ram. ONE trk, 0 plugs briangibson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-31-2006 08:56 PM
How many tracks w/002/1ghz powerbook/firewire HD? jessemeyer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-05-2004 01:00 PM
how many tracks can I get with 002 and powerbook? mixtery 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-15-2004 02:27 PM
Powerbook 1.33MHZ with MBOX. How many Tracks? Ragpicker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-23-2004 02:37 AM
g4/350 how many tracks and plugs? toadman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-21-2000 07:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com