Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2003, 08:33 PM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Can someone please verify this...Midi crash

Open up a new session. Add a New Midi Track. Open the "Midi Event List" window. Under the Midi window, select Change Velocity, change the value in Subtract, then press Apply. Does your program "QUIT".

I need to know, so if someone has a minute, I'd apprecaite knowing I'm not the only one with this problem.

Thanks
Imagine
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2003, 03:04 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,387
Default Re: Can someone please verify this...Midi crash

The problem is you can’t click "apply" after entering a subtract value because you haven’t selected any midi notes! I tried - nothing happened.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2003, 03:31 AM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Can someone please verify this...Midi crash

Hi Ben,

It happens when using the Add function as well.
If I highlight the midi notes in the Track window, everything's ok, but if I highlight the notes in the Midi Event Window, and use a function (Add/Subtract/whatever else is there, and press the Return key, or if you try to close the window (little Red dot on top of window) the program will automatically quit.

When I try to restart PT after that happens, I get this message: DAE was unable to communicate with the audio hardware. Please save your session and restart your computer (-6004). I have a 001.

Imagine
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2003, 04:38 AM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Can someone please verify this...Midi crash

Please remember, this only happens when I press on the "Return" key to Apply the function, or when I close the window (red dot). The program closes, and I'm back on my desktop. No "expectedly quit" messages!

I've tried getting rid of the Digidesign Databases, the Prefs, etc..., using DiskWarrior to rebuild the desktop, Norton to Defrag, and PRAMing the system.

Still no go.... I give up. I've been trying to figure this program out for 2 weeks, and I still can't get it working. [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img]
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2003, 08:42 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,387
Default Re: Can someone please verify this...Midi crash

The first thing I ask myself when I experience problems like this is: What has changed since I last used PT? Any new system extentions, new plugins, different system or PT setups, new hardware, newly installed applications and so on. Most of the times this is where I locate the problem.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2003, 12:55 PM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Can someone please verify this...Midi crash

All I did was run Norton Utilities, but that shouldn't damge a function in a program, or should it!

Nothing new was added to my setup, or any other programs installed.

If anyone has any suggestions, I'm all ears.

Thanks
Imagine
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2003, 11:21 PM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Can someone please verify this...Midi crash

Bump
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2003, 01:08 AM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Can someone please verify this...Midi crash

Quote:
Originally posted by Imagine:
All I did was run Norton Utilities
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">In '98, all I did was run Norton Utilities on my new (at the time) HFS+ formatted beige G3 desktop. All Norton Utilities did was destroy my G3.
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-22-2003, 01:15 AM
DesertDude DesertDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,669
Default Re: Can someone please verify this...Midi crash

With Apples OSX disk utlitiy there is no need for Norton.


[img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
DesertDude

1.25 Alu/1.5 ram/10.3.4
PTLE 6.4-002R-Live-Reason
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-22-2003, 01:16 AM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Can someone please verify this...Midi crash

I also ran DiskWarrior without any success. I didn't know Norton could screw things up so badly.

If you have a moment, could you Open up a new session. Add a New Midi Track. Open the "Midi Event List" window. Select All. Under the Midi window, select Change Velocity, change the value in Add or Subtract, then press the Return key. Does your program "QUIT".

Thanks again
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Verify / reproduce Bug (Crash) KingFish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-09-2009 02:12 PM
I need your help to verify this bug! BrianJG Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 12-22-2005 08:05 AM
I need your help to verify this bug! Peterjk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-21-2005 03:53 PM
Rewire.dll verify error Pt 6.4 crash Karel B? Freeheel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-11-2004 10:55 PM
Verify MTC Out LJE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-08-2000 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com